We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic food service and view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Glockenspiel

Cafe Glockenspiel
Marienplatz 28, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-264256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 3,430 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Gluten Free, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food service and view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have been to this restaurant for the last 2 years when I was at the Christmas markets. And went on both occasions!! I would recommend booking in advance so you don't have to que, just sent them an email and booked. Our table by the window was ready and our waiter could not have been more helpful even bringing us an English menu!!

Would recommend this restaurant in a heartbeat for its food and location. Nice to take a break and enjoy the view, food and service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 677janinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    200
    65
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great view of Rathaus and Manienplatz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had been recommended the place and it did not disappoint, We had both lunch and dinner at the café both times we enjoyed the food, the service and the view. The café is located on the fifth floor accessed via a lane at the back of the building. If you a claustrophobic you may want to avoid the very small access lift. We also recommend the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good to have a cup of coffee and eat some cake with a good view of Marienplatz and the beautiful clock tower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good to have a cup of coffee and eat some cake with a good view of Marienplatz and the beautiful clock tower. There are plenty of cake choices, everyone can find one that they will like. Other than that it is very touristic, not the best place to taste local food, I guess.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImgeKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service - Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great, healthy food in a clean, warm environment. The service was excellent. Best for breakfast. It is located on the 5th floor and is accessible by an elevator (on the south end of the Glockenspiel Square).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bigjoe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have been there a couple of times for breakfast with friends. It's on the 5th floor opposite the Rathaus in Marienplatz, so it's a great central location. If you sit on the patio they also retract the roof so that you are sitting al fresco... lovely in spring and summer! The breakfast selection is great, with the choice from pre-selected menus to individual items (the French toast with bacon, maple syrup and fresh fruit is highly recommended!).

Unfortunately the view from the patio area is poor (just the back of some buildings) and the drinks are on the expensive side at 3 or 4€ for a coffee and orange juice... although this is pretty standard in Munich!

Advisable to book ahead, which is possible online through the website.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexinMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Glockenspiel also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cafe Glockenspiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing