We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Munich
Post
Inbox
Search

“An annual favorite”
Review of Vinothek by Geisel

Vinothek by Geisel
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 10/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #41 of 4,406 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Vinothek by Geisel is our charming wine bar in Munich between Karlsplatz (Stachus) and the central train station. We share a great passion with our guests: our love of good food and excellent wines. Up to 20 varieties of wine in the open bar, some 800 bottles of wine from all over the world create a selection that is unrivalled in Munich. The Vinotheke by Geisel is not just a wine bar, but also one of the most enjoyable wine restaurants in Munich city centre. Enjoy homemade pasta, freshly sliced San Daniele ham and alternating dishes from the Bavarian cuisine with a Mediterranean twist.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Every year we go to Oktoberfest. Every year we go to Vinothek. This year we forgot to make reservations. No worries, we arrived pre-dinner and enjoyed the beautiful and delicious appetizer menu. No matter when you go be sure to order the prosciutto. Exquisite. The salmon with dill is always an annual favorite. The wine list is quite nice, and I always start with their family wines. Can't wait until next year!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ljsw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_GPH, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ljsw05,

many thanks for your lovely comment. It was our pleasure having you with us again.
We are happy that you experienced again a wonderful evening at our Vinothek and that we could regale you with your favourite dishes.

We take you at your words and look forward to your next visit, next year. Kind regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 696 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

It was late, and most restaurants were closed we did not expect much for a wine bar and we were gladly surprised by how EXCELLENT the food was. HIGHLY Recommended

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank cheng_cesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear cheng_cesar,

what a great feedback! Thank you. With pleasure I will share your lauding words with our staff and especially with head chef Thomas Karl and his team.

We hope to seeing you again soon and remain with best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

The food was outstanding but didn’t make up for the sour waitress we were unfortunately assigned. Other staff seemed very pleasant just not the one we had. Wouldn’t risk it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Regen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2019

Dear Regen2017,

thank you for your honest feedback.
With pleasure I read your praise on our culinary offer and I will certainly let our head chef, Thomas Kahl know.
The more, I regret that you had not been satisfied in the same way with your waiter this time and please accept my apologies. Of course I will also forward this feedback to our restaurant manager. I would like to assure you that our entire team always tries to delight our guests with courteous, professional and friendly service.

Although we could not convince you entirely this time, we hope you will give us another chance and we can see you again in the future. Kind regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

Food was wonderful. The wild boar ravioli was simply amazing. Very good wine selection. When we first arrived the woman who seated us was very friendly and accommodating especially since we did not have a reservation. From there the service went downhill really fast. The waitress who assisted us was particularly unfriendly. She seemed annoyed she was serving us. This went on throughout our evening. She seemed friendly with other customers which gave us the impression we offended her somehow but cannot imagine how. We did not complain in any way or about anything. Despite the service we had a super meal. Would recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RKVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Dear RKVictoria,

thank you for your nice feedback.
With pleasure I will forward your praising words on our meal to our head chef Thomas Kahl and his team.
The more I regret that you had not entirely satisfied with our service. Normally as you can see also from many reviews we receive a lot of praise especially for our courteous, professional and friendly service. It is sad if you received a different impression this time and I will certainly forward your comment to our team.

Nevertheless, it is great that the positive experience of your visit prevail and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Went in the bar to have a drink. Had to wait a while to be served at the bar.

It seemed staff were only interested if you were having a meal!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank josieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Vinothek by Geisel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear josieKent,
thank you for your feedback, although we are certainly sad about your low grading.
Normally, our team receives a lot of praise especially on its courteous, professional and friendly service. I regret if you received a different impression this time.
We wish you all the best. Kind regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Vinothek by Geisel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinothek by Geisel also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Vinothek by Geisel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing