We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for a quiet lunch”
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Ranked #11 of 3,725 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dieses Weinrestaurant und Weinbar im Herzen Munchens teilt mit seinen Gasten eine grosse Leidenschaft: die Begeisterung fur gutes Essen und ausgezeichnete Weine. Bis zu 20 Rebsorten im offenen Ausschank und rund 700 Flaschenweine aus aller Welt bieten eine Auswahl, bei der kein Wunsch unerfullt bleibt. Das gilt auch fur die Kulinarik: In Geisel's Vinothek weiss man mit hausgemachten Pasta, frisch geschnittenem San Daniele Schinken und den besten Gerichten aus der mediterran angehauchten, bayerischen Kuche zu uberzeugen. Gastgeber der Vinothek in Munchen Robert Zeller ist ubrigens dafur bekannt, unter den offenen Weinen stets eine Auswahl sehr hochkaratiger Tropfen bereit zu halten.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great spot for a quiet lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stopped by this restaurant for lunch because of its proximity to our hotel. We found it a great place and had delicious food and nice atmosphere. The ravioli and bruschetta were just right size for lunch. Great wine list as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear blondagain,
It is wonderful that besides our Hotel Excelsior you also wrote this lovely review on our restaurant Vinothek. How nice to hear that we could delight you with our culinary and wine selection.
We hope to seeing you again soon.
With best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    105
    31
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mersin, Turkey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“vine lovers”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

you can have have huge range of vines from all of the world. if you are vine lover i think it satisfies you. but they need to improve their food menu and portions. because the choices were limited and the portions were small. we tried ravioli, and see bass for main dish. They were good. The prices are normal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatih d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear faith,
Many thanks for your nice review.
How great, we could delight you with our wine selection. I regret if we could not fulfill your expectation on our menu entirely. It is great that you find some dishes which satisfied you at your visit.
We hope to seeing you again soon and remain with best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the Hotel Excelsior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another brilliant risotto!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had lunch here after a sightseeing trip had returned us to the main station. I had found this restaurant prior to travel as it was close to our hotel and I was attracted by its cuisine and wine list. There were not many people in there as it was near the end of the lunch period and we felt it would be a superb atmospheric venue for a large party in the evening. The disappointment was the relatively limited menu. However we found two dishes that we both particularly like and I have to say the food was superb. Friendly and helpful staff. Great wine list too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear DavidP59,
Thank you for your nice review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your lunch in our restaurant and that we could inspire you with our wine list and the quality of our dishes. I regret if we could not fulfill your expectation on the size of our menu entirely. A lot of great events had already taken place in our restaurant. Please feel free to contact us if you plan something accordingly.
The next time you are in town, we hope to seeing you again and maybe you would like to try the hotel of our restaurant, Hotel Excelsior, as well.
With best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
198 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great service. Very nice food. ”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Small cosy place inside the hotel. Very good service. Had 3 course menu 42 eur. The starter halibut canniloni and the octopus risotto were superb and innovative. The main dish (OX tongue was just ok). Desert tartlet again exquisite .,
My wife had ravioli with figs that was excellent. I feel they need better variety in the main dish. Enjoyed the service and atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear HatOrth,
Thank you for choosing or restaurant for your visit. It is a pleasure to hear that we could delight you and your wife with our service and that you enjoyed the different courses of your menu as well as the atmosphere in our restaurant.
We hope to welcoming you back in the near future and remain with best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Real Fine Dining in Munich”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

fantastic food, real quality cuisine. When you want more than Schnitzels or Lumps of Beef/Pork this is the place to go.
We had Rabbit and it was delicate, cooked to perfection with great accompaniments.
Our second trip this month and we we delighted both times.
Wine is a little expensive but it is all quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramjet459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Geisel's Vinothek, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear rogerd459,
Thank you for lauding words.
How nice that you visited our restaurant even twice this month! I am very pleased that we could delight you with our culinary selection.
We hope to seeing you again soon and remain until then with warmest regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of Geisel´s Vinothek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing