We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisel's Vinothek

Geisel's Vinothek
Ranked #16 of 3,509 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, German, European, Wine Bar, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dieses Weinrestaurant und Weinbar im Herzen Munchens teilt mit seinen Gasten eine grosse Leidenschaft: die Begeisterung fur gutes Essen und ausgezeichnete Weine. Bis zu 20 Rebsorten im offenen Ausschank und rund 700 Flaschenweine aus aller Welt bieten eine Auswahl, bei der kein Wunsch unerfullt bleibt. Das gilt auch fur die Kulinarik: In Geisel's Vinothek weiss man mit hausgemachten Pasta, frisch geschnittenem San Daniele Schinken und den besten Gerichten aus der mediterran angehauchten, bayerischen Kuche zu uberzeugen. Gastgeber der Vinothek in Munchen Robert Zeller ist ubrigens dafur bekannt, unter den offenen Weinen stets eine Auswahl sehr hochkaratiger Tropfen bereit zu halten.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant not knowing the area very well. Unfortunately all the tables were booked but the waiter suggested that we could sit and even eat in the lobby area of the hotel. They quickly transformed the a few of the lobby tables of the Excelsior Hotel in to a dining area. The staff are ever so friendly and speak excellent english. The food was beautiful and well cooked, full of flavour and coed to order. Would definitely return, but would recommend booking in advance! lovely welcoming decor, a real treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JadeyNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    78
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
munich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a place for an intimate dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Picked this place based on the good reviews in trip advisor and the great pictures on the website from Geisel's . Neither the website pictures or the reviews lived up to my expectations. The restaurant is relatively small and hence only ONE corner table in the place for two which was on this night occupied. We were seated in the middle of the room at a table (similar to the Hofbrauhaus) which could seat up to 14 people. Intimate conversation was out of the question as I could hear word for word the conversation between the couple seated beside us :-(
Due to this "fast food" atmosphere we declined the 3 course menu. We opted just for a main course which was good even if I was suprised the roast beef consisted of cold cuts. We skipped desert as were eager to leave and enjoy a glass of wine in a nearby more relaxed atmosphere.
All in all this could be a fun place to go in a large group maybe as after work ..but I for one have NO desire to return and would not recommend it. Munich has got a lot better to offer!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jwall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New World Island, Canada
Level Contributor
993 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
“Surprised on all criteria / do not get shocked by location visavis Karstadt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is obviously not for beertrinkers, but while I expected top flight wine, and YES, the selection is huge!! I was really surprised by the quality of the food.

Enjoyed a great night out

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellence in an unlikely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is part of the Excelsior Hotel, but open to anyone. It is small and the decor is certainly not fancy. But the food is truly excellent - down-to-earth, almost homely dishes but so well executed you immediately want to come back. The menu is not long and wisely achieves quality through focus, but the wine list is extensive and advice on it - as all service - is attentive and friendly. The place tends to be booked so do make a reservation before you go. Only drawback is the drab neighbourhood close to the main station.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small and Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If one stands with the DB tracks at one's back, Schutzenstr is directly ahead and the Hotel Excelsior is a few doors down on the right. Geisel's Vinothek is on the ground floor of the Hotel.

It is a small room with a short menu, but what they offer they prepare and serve flawlessly. They have an English menu in addition to the German and might well have other languages also.

One of us had the lunch menu: Proscuito with olives followed by Pork shoulder and the other a simple pasta dish, penne all' arbiata. The penne was perfectly al dente and he sauce was hot in both senses. Both meals were quite good.

The bread had both a proper crust, chewy texture, and bits of olive. On request butter came and, without need of request, was replenished. The recommended Reisling was excellent and our only mistake was not getting more of it.

The service was with good humor, careful attention, and discretion. We were taken care of well, but our server was not intrusive. We were pleased and recommend the Vinothek.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Recumbent_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisel's Vinothek also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Geisel's Vinothek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing