We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprise find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandl

Gandl
Ranked #655 of 3,435 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Italian, French, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spotted this place while wandering past and decided to give it a go. Both inside and outside had a great old world feel - more like Paris than Munich (no offence Munich), we arrived early on Thursday evening and it was quite quiet yet by the time we left it was full capacity. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere and we felt comfortable taking a leisurely couple of hours over dinner. Staff were very friendly and professional. Great menu and good wine list. Food was of a very good standard and portion size was very good, starters were around £12-15 with mains up to £28 so not exactly inexpensive but compared to other restaurants with same prices in the Alt Stadt this was much better food, value and atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SashaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unassuming, but top nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant needs to upgrade its appearance from the outside as looks more like a shop. Even inside many unusual features for a restaurant. However the service and food were excellent. Not the cheapest. For 2 of us, 130 euros for 3 courses with one bottle of wine. I'd certainly eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grit0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The photo says it all. Had to ask for some sauce because it was so dry. Had to ask for salad which came eventually. Very disappointing evening in what should have been a beautiful family treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabanana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I went to Gandl because it was recommended by my hotel, and it was only 100 metres away, so I thought I wanted to try it.
However, due to Easter, it was closed most of the time. That was a bit impractical, but fortunately there are other restaurants in Munich.
I was there once where I had a sort of spaghetti bolognese which was very delicious - after that I had a coffee which I enjoyed also. All in all a very good meal, I liked the atmosphere, and service was in top.
I would like to go there another time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpskoubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went there recently with family for breakfast... very nice and welcoming atmosphere, delicous food and coffee. Everyone was more than happy... highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandl also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gandl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing