We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Broeding

Broeding
Ranked #2 of 3,791 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $83 - $91
Cuisines: Diner, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No freedom of choice - and that's a good thing. Manuel Reheis offers a wonderful menu every evening at the Broeding. As a gourmet all you have to do is to decide whether you want to go for the five or six course meal. Why not try out the vegetarian menu which is offered the first Wednesday of every month? There is a great selection of wine which comes manly from Austria and is offered from one of the three sommeliers. The dining area has simple white tables, a green tiled bar, wooden furniture, warm lighting and bottles used as decor. In the summer it is possible to dine outside at the leafy courtyard.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We went there following previous review and we're not disappointed! We had the 6 course meal with wine pairing and would highly recommend this.
Each course tasted great and the portions were perfect to finish the meal full yet not stuffed. Each wine was explained by one of the chaps doing the service.
The service was laid back yet very attentive. The meal was the highlight of my weekend in
Munich. Will definitely return next time I travel to Munich

1  Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Broeding
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 208 of 773 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I ate here with 11 friends on a business trip to Munich after reading previous TA reviews. We went for the 6 course menu and and the recommended Austrian wine and it was all fantastic, but cost us well over €120 each with drinks.

The service was impeccable and if there was anything that people did not eat the chef would happily make something else (my friend who does not like fish was made sautéd rabits liver which was delicious!). This is great as it is a set menu which can put people off.

Overall it was one of the best meals I have ever had but even with over 6 courses (there were a couple of mini courses thrown in for free) I was not completely full and still not sure it was worth the price. I would recommend for a special occasion and for the overall experience but dont think I would go back.

1  Thank Tonys_Top_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We ate here last night to make up for a dire birthday meal at a Munich "institution" - and this more than made up for it... The food was of such high quality, and dishes were not only put together exquisitely but they were original too. The wine pairings were beautiful and well thought out - and we loved the tales behind them that are delivered by friendly enthusiastic staff! Well worth a visit if you are in town (reservations essential!)...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmmaRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had the six course set menu with the corresponding wine menu. Each wine was explained in detail, in a very interesting way, which we appreciated. And all the wines were lovely! We did miss a bit of the same attention to the food which wasn't that well described. However, the food was really nice, and we had nothing to complain about - but we did get the feeling that the wine was more important than the food. Definitely a place to go for wine lovers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OutandaboutNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear OutandaboutNorway,

first of all thanks a lot for your review.

In our opinon food and wine are a liaison d'amour.
This is the reason why we are quite thorough in bringing together these two lovers
and try to convey this to our guests.

Please be free to ask our staff if you have any particular questions about e.g. the origin or a special preparation on what you've got onto your plate the next time.
It will be a pleasure for us to ask the guys in the kitchen and bring it in experience for you.

Hope to see you again someday.

Best wishes to Oslo from Munich

Andreas Röhrich
Sommelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I don't always agree with these Tripadvisor ratings but in this case it is correct, Broeding is very good.

In a world with so much choice, it is nice to be presented with a set menu of seasonal correct food. Much better than menu that goes for pages, and Broading's approach meanscthey can concentrate on the food. The pork in a hollandaise with asparagas and roast onion was simple and delicious - the hallmaks of Broading food.

We had an outstanding Sauvignon blanc from Austria that had a lot of depth without the astringency of the NZ ones, and a nice break from Gruner.

I would recommend this place and will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thanks Peter for your commending review.
I am glad that you had a good time with us at the Broeding.

We would love to welcome you again when you stay in Munich the next time
Best regards

Andreas Röhrich
Sommelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broeding also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Broeding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing