We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, service, and food”
Review of Broeding

Broeding
Ranked #2 of 3,836 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $81 - $90
Cuisines: Diner, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No freedom of choice - and that's a good thing. Manuel Reheis offers a wonderful menu every evening at the Broeding. As a gourmet all you have to do is to decide whether you want to go for the five or six course meal. Why not try out the vegetarian menu which is offered the first Wednesday of every month? There is a great selection of wine which comes manly from Austria and is offered from one of the three sommeliers. The dining area has simple white tables, a green tiled bar, wooden furniture, warm lighting and bottles used as decor. In the summer it is possible to dine outside at the leafy courtyard.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Made a last minute reservation for an after work dinner, which is a three course meal for 36 EUR. We also ordered the wine pairings with the food. We have been living in Munich now for over a year and it was the best meal and experience we have had since moving from the USA. The service was great and we really enjoyed the wine introductions with each course. The restaurant specializes in Austria wines, and without the pairings I would have not known what to order. each wine was amazing and really turned around my perception of Austrian wines. The dessert red was our favorite and we took a bottle home with us.

For the food we had a Salmon appetizer and for the main course venison, Each course was superb and the desert with red desert wine was a great ending. We will be back to try the full 6 course menu, but if you want to do dinner and a movie, like we did I suggest the after work menu and then going to the English movie theater down the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elfmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear elfmagic, i
t is great to hear from you, that our latest improvement (the 3 course menu called "after-work-dinner) went down well with you.
So you can get a foretaste what you can expect when you will visit us the next time to the "big menu".

Have a good time, take care and see you soon.
Andreas Röhrich
(Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 223 of 796 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

In no way a criticism, there is only one set menu, the only choice you are invited to make (apart from the drinks) is whether to have the cheese course after the five previous courses and amuse bouches.The menu changes every night so you won't know what you're getting until you arrive, but you won't be disappointed.
The setting is clean, relaxed, initimate (around 15 tables), and modern, and not at all pretentious.
My German is dreadful and the staff went out of their way to present me with an English version of the menu beforehand. They were all very gracious and incredibly modest when l told them their restaurant was number one on Tripadvisor and deservedly so.
Location is easy to get to albeit not quite in the main city centre, but certainly a nice, trendy part of town: a short walk from Rotkreuzplatz station.
Book in advance! Well worth the price, well worth the visit.

1  Thank 1975Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear 1975Londoner (I really ove this town), thanks for choosen the Broeding in order to make a experience in food during your visit in Munich!
The biggest advantage of beeing well placed at this community of Tripadvisor, is the internationality of our guests.
And this has a gorgeous effect on the atmosphere in the restaurant and - the language skills of our staff I hope... ;-)
We love the cosmopolitan and liberal minded mood when having guests from around the world and discuss with them all about their experiences with food, wine and anything else what makes live fascinating.

Hope to meet you once again and best regards
Andreas Röhrich
(Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I had the 5-course dinner with wine pairing. Every single dish was excellent but in particular, the marinated char starter and the creamy beet soup with sweet (homemade) black walnut was outstanding. The creativity, flavorful and freshness were a joy to behold. Staff were friendly and professional. Go for the wine pairing too, the sommelier will ensure that you get a great, on-the-spot education in lovely Austrian wines. Definitely will visit again should I return to Munich.

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Amanda, thanks a lot for the great review.
I hope to meet you again in our restaurant and will providently reposit some of the pickeled walnuts for you ;-)
Best regards. Andreas Röhrich (Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Boyfriend and I opted for the 6-course meal and found ourselves faced with wonderful food and hospitality! The food was super fresh and delicious -- I particularly loved the stuffed zucchini blossom. The sommelier was very friendly and was very informative about their wine selection (of which many are from Austria). Would definitely return!

Online reservations were a breeze to use and very convenient for overseas visitors. The restaurant is nowhere near downtown Munich, but very accessible by train. From the train station, it's a 10-15 minute walk to the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aiyataibao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hello to Hongkong,
thanx for choosen the Broeding to gain some experiences about Bavaria ;-)
I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our restaurant.
Many greetings and best regards to China.
Andreas Röhrich (Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Munich in December 2013 and chose to treat ourselves to dinner at Broeding our first evening after flying over from the U.S. We set a reservation online about 36 hours before we were to eat, and received a phone call shortly after to make sure we would be ok with sitting in the smaller room, closer to the kitchen. This only occurred because we reserved so late and the other tables were filled for the night. While this is no problem for us, it showed us right away that Broeding focuses on the customer's experience and strives to make it as great as possible.

Andreas was our server and could not have been more helpful or friendly. He also spoke near-perfect English, which was very helpful on our first day in Munich. We let him pick some wines for us throughout the evening and each selection was spot-on perfect.

The food could not have been better. They served classics that were familiar like perfectly-prepared lamb. They also surprised us with an octopus salad to start and sweet chestnut soup that was truly amazing. Overall, we could not have been happier with our experience at Brodeing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear namesake ;-) ,
thank you for deciding to start your journey to Munich in our restaurant. I hope your following vacation in our city had been delightful and eventful. It is always a pleasure for us to wait on open minded and receptive guests like you are. I will carry further your commendation to the whole team and offer you the Broeding as your "foreign lounge room" when you will visit Munich once again.
Best regards and please say hello to your wife.
Andreas Röhrich (Sommelier) - thx for praising may language ability although I know that they are not more than sufficiently dimensioned ... ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broeding also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Broeding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing