We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good - too many Austrian wines”
Review of Broeding

Broeding
Ranked #2 of 3,793 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $83 - $91
Cuisines: Diner, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No freedom of choice - and that's a good thing. Manuel Reheis offers a wonderful menu every evening at the Broeding. As a gourmet all you have to do is to decide whether you want to go for the five or six course meal. Why not try out the vegetarian menu which is offered the first Wednesday of every month? There is a great selection of wine which comes manly from Austria and is offered from one of the three sommeliers. The dining area has simple white tables, a green tiled bar, wooden furniture, warm lighting and bottles used as decor. In the summer it is possible to dine outside at the leafy courtyard.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Loved the food - really one Michelin star level, for a fair price. One thing somewhat bothersome - mostly Austrian wines. No problem in white, but not my highlight in the red area. Overall it is great though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear bobbylion,
thank you for rating our restaurant and the big compliments.
It is great to hear that you had a good time and you liked our dishes.
You are right, we have indeed a focus on Austrian wines which we import to Germany since 1990. The spectrum of Austrian reds nowadays is enormous and so I am sure that we will find a "exemplar" you will enjoy after discovering your individual preferences.
Just in case I am sure to find something "out of Austria" in our wine cellar... ;-)

Have a good time and best regards.
Andreas Röhrich (Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Broeding
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 773 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a foodies heaven. They have a 5 or 7 course price-fixed meal that changes daily. Wines are paired for each dish. We were totally surprised that our reservation was during "truffle week" - every dish we had included truffles. If I make it back to Munich, this is the first restaurant I'll go to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hello Mark,

thanks a lot for your positive and praising rating!
Feedback is always helpful for us and we are proud hearing that we
were able to give our guests a warm welcome and a appreciative evening with
joy and relaxation.

Hope to see you again in our restaurant if you come back to Munich some day.

Best wishes to Texas
Andreas Röhrich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

When our taxi dropped us off at the end of the road, we wondered if he had got the right address, as there were little if any business shop lights lighting up the street but we soon found it.
When we arrived the welcome the staff gave us was warming and friendly.
Each course that came had amazing flavors which is a great tribute to the chefs as I was told that the menu changes every day!
I would definitely recommend you make a trip to this restaurant if you visit Munich, but make sure you book in advance as there is only one sitting per night.
I have eaten in many Michelin star restaurants and even though It hasn't got a star rating to my knowledge, value for money, service and friendliness, it was up there with my best enjoyment factor meals.
All the best to your business and success. :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TazBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Deat TazBow,

I would like to thank you sincerely for your rating and the wishes!
It was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant - it is always a
great pleasure for us, having open minded, interested and relaxed guests like you.

The special location of our restaurant you mentioned sometimes is even advantageous:
we don't have got accidentally visitors...all our guests know exactly what
to expect ;-)

Best regards to Manchester from the whole team

Hope to see you again sometime
Andreas Röhrich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

While the management names the restaurant after a kind of fish. For us, it is the place where great service meets great food resulting in exceptional experience.

At first we made the reservation at 19:15 on the day that we had to travel from Salzburg to Munich. Unfortunately, there's some traffic accident on the road and we had to ask the restaurant to move our time to 20:00. The response from the team was more than welcome with a kind thought mentioning no need for us to hurry and please drive slowly.

Once we entered the restaurant, the atmosphere was very welcoming. As we traveled from another half of the world and the rest of guests seemed to be local people, none of us felt intimidated.

Now back to the main subject, the food. Recognizing that Broeding is ranked no. 1 from Tripadvisor, I definitely went there with high expectation. However, by the end of our meal, the team has managed to deliver beyond what we expect.

Menu of that day was composed of 5 dishes (since we opt out the cheese menu) Green papaya salad with baked tofu, Cream cheese ravioli, Tuna with mango, Tenderloin, and Nut parfait with persimmon.

Just right before the first dish, the team surprised us with walnut soup with truffle. Light sweet flavour of the soup combined with the aroma of truffle is very unique and interesting. Green papaya salad with baked tofu could also deliver very good balance of Asian flavour given that we come from Thailand where Papaya salad is one of our national dish. Cream cheese ravioli is quite ok as we are not a big fan of cheese. Tuna was perfectly cooked at the right temperature and with special pepper the chef put on top, it could increase the flavour by a notch. The main dish for us is tenderloin, it went so well with the sauce. For those who don't eat beef, fish is also an option. As some of us selected fish, we could also witness that it's both fresh and well cooked. Before the dessert, there came the second surprise, chocolate cake. A good blend of bitter and sweet. Finally, a nut parfait with persimmon is such a great treat to end our day.

While I have to say that my family is quite selective in dining especially when travelling abroad in Europe, Broeding has provided everyone a new dimension of food from the West. We all had a great time by the end of that day.

Although it's the meal that we spent most money per head, it's also well worth every euro for such a great experience. I have no reservations in recommending Broeding for anyone that wish to have a good dining experience in Munich.

Only one drawback I have found is the parking space. Despite the fact that the restaurant is located out of the city center, it's not easy to find parking spot if you manage to arrive by 20:00.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Woodizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broeding, Sommelier at Broeding, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Woodizz,

wow - your assessment about our restaurant is a great praise and affirmation of our work.
Thanks a lot for this extensive and detailed appraisal.

It is always a pleasure for us to host guests from other parts of the world (beyond Munich ;-))
and discuss about their opinion about our food, beverages and the bavarian hospitality.

You are right with the parking space, we are located in a predominantly residential area.
But we recommend to visit us with the public transport anyway - so you are able to enjoy our beverages without qualms...

It would be nice to see you once again in our restaurant
Best regards and greetings to Bankok from Munich

Andreas Röhrich (Sommelier)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I went to Broeding having been to Michelin starred restaurants in Vienna and Salzburg on this holiday. Broeding was the best all round in our opinion. The food was amazing, a set menu that's different each day and wonderful flavours throughout. My wife doesn't eat meat and they easily accommodated her with a fish replacement. The restaurant and service is more casual than the Michelin places but no less efficient and pleasant. The waiters wear jeans so do the clientele, albeit most put a shirt on as well. If you are looking for a relaxed dining experience whilst enjoying Michelin quality food then this is the place for you.

Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broeding also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Broeding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing