We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Gaertnerplatz
Ranked #19 of 67 Munich B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2012

we are in this pension now. Our room is immaculate. Large room, very adequate bath, excellent breakfast. Andrea could not be nicer or more helpful. Free wi fi via the cafe pini next door. Altogether an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midcarol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were looking for somewhere more personal than standard low-cost hotel chains and really struck gold when we found this place - each room has its own individual style, the owner is really friendly and helpful, breakfast was very tasty with a personal touch, the location is very central with a subway station across the road and the Viktualienmarkt a five minute walk away. We could only stay one night, but will certainly return next time we visit München.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristopherRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Good position, nice staff, clean and very nice rooms, quiet area very close to Viktualienmarket and line No. 1 of the Underground.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have enjoyed two stays here while in Munich, in 2008 and 2010, and have booked a return for this fall. Our room was large with lovely furnishings, the breakfast was excellent, and our hostess was most congenial and helpful. The Pension is located in an area with many interesting shops and within easy walking distance of the downtown Munich area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This B&B's in such a great location. A very pleasant relaxed area full of trendy cafes/bars/shops, almost opposite a U-Bahn stop & a short walk to Marienplatz/centre. We thought it was very good value. The lady who runs it was very pleasant & the breakfast was superb. The room (i can't remember which number) was quite small with en- suite shower room. The room had good quality bed & furniture. The carpet/curtain/linens, however, were a little tired. Bizarrely we only had one pillow & single duvet between us (it was a Sunday & there was no one around to ask for another - Cafe Plini below where we picked up the keys didn't know about it) & during our stay there was an occasional offputting smell of smoke which crept in from a bar or apartment nearby? (we couldn't figure it out - maybe just from the street & it wasn't constant, but as non-smokers it wasn't great either). So our experience here was a bit mixed, but i'd give it the benefit of the doubt & would probably stay here if in Munich again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinkyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The Pension has such an unbeatable location.. it was diagonally opposite 1 of the exits of the subway station... so getting to anywhere in Munich city was really easy. Rooms were clean and the decor was quaint and charming. Our room had a small balcony where we could sit out and chill over drinks in the night. The area around the Pension was a great neighbourhood to be in too.. many cafes and eating establishments that open late, as well as art and photo galleries and little boutiques.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanaJaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed at this lovely unique B&B for 2 nights in early December to enjoy Munich, the festivities and the glorious (although expensive) Christmas markets. Our room was warm, cosy, clean and very peaceful, it even had a little balcony although in the freezing weather we didn't use it! The hostess was lovely, most helpful and happy to hold onto our bags until we left later on the last day. The breakfast spread is superb, eggs, breads, cereals, meats, cheese, fruits and more - all good quality and beautifully displayed. The B&B is situated in a great location, peaceful but near the city within a 10 minute walk, lots of lovely shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysidekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#16 of 385 in Munich
943 reviews
0.5 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#49 of 385 in Munich
2,682 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gaertnerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gaertnerplatz

Address: Klenzestr. 45, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range: $138 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Gaertnerplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Gaertnerplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing