We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Gaertnerplatz
Ranked #16 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“we'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have enjoyed two stays here while in Munich, in 2008 and 2010, and have booked a return for this fall. Our room was large with lovely furnishings, the breakfast was excellent, and our hostess was most congenial and helpful. The Pension is located in an area with many interesting shops and within easy walking distance of the downtown Munich area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This B&B's in such a great location. A very pleasant relaxed area full of trendy cafes/bars/shops, almost opposite a U-Bahn stop & a short walk to Marienplatz/centre. We thought it was very good value. The lady who runs it was very pleasant & the breakfast was superb. The room (i can't remember which number) was quite small with en- suite shower room. The room had good quality bed & furniture. The carpet/curtain/linens, however, were a little tired. Bizarrely we only had one pillow & single duvet between us (it was a Sunday & there was no one around to ask for another - Cafe Plini below where we picked up the keys didn't know about it) & during our stay there was an occasional offputting smell of smoke which crept in from a bar or apartment nearby? (we couldn't figure it out - maybe just from the street & it wasn't constant, but as non-smokers it wasn't great either). So our experience here was a bit mixed, but i'd give it the benefit of the doubt & would probably stay here if in Munich again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinkyfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

The Pension has such an unbeatable location.. it was diagonally opposite 1 of the exits of the subway station... so getting to anywhere in Munich city was really easy. Rooms were clean and the decor was quaint and charming. Our room had a small balcony where we could sit out and chill over drinks in the night. The area around the Pension was a great neighbourhood to be in too.. many cafes and eating establishments that open late, as well as art and photo galleries and little boutiques.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaJaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed at this lovely unique B&B for 2 nights in early December to enjoy Munich, the festivities and the glorious (although expensive) Christmas markets. Our room was warm, cosy, clean and very peaceful, it even had a little balcony although in the freezing weather we didn't use it! The hostess was lovely, most helpful and happy to hold onto our bags until we left later on the last day. The breakfast spread is superb, eggs, breads, cereals, meats, cheese, fruits and more - all good quality and beautifully displayed. The B&B is situated in a great location, peaceful but near the city within a 10 minute walk, lots of lovely shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysidekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

My family recently spent four nights at the Pension Gaertnerplatz. We had rooms 7 and 9. Room 9 just had a sink and was sparsely furnished, but it was just used for sleeping so that was okay. Room 7 was en suite and was beautifully furnished with an ornate bed and matching furniture, including a huge wardrobe/closet for all your things. Munich was the last stop of our multi-country trip and we couldn't have ended it on a better note than at the Pension Gaertnerplatz. Every morning we had a delicious, filling breakfast of bread, buns, meat, cheese, yogurt, eggs and fruit. For drinks they had orange and apple juice as well as coffee or tea. If you want something else, there is a very nice pastry shop just a few doors down across the street. In fact, anything you need seems to be just around the corner. The neighborhood is full of boutiques and shops that are fun to poke around in and I highly recommend that you do that.

Many things are walking distance. The Viktualienmarket and Marienplatz are about four scenic blocks away. The Deutsches Museum is also walkable. On the way there you will pass the 1972 Olympic cafe where they serve killer home-made gnocchi with creamy curry sauce. For things further away, the U-Bahn is at the end of the block and the trams are nearby.

It was wonderful to end each day at the Cafe Pini downstairs with our various drinks and unwind from our long day of seeing the sights, the museums and shopping. Yes, there are stairs and there's no lift, so that would be a concern for someone with physical infirmity. Otherwise, Pension Gaertnerplatz is a wonderful place to stay with a very agreeable and kind hostess. I made a huge snafoo as only I could make and she was very nice about fixing my problem and not making me feel a fool.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ilovemyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Spent two nights at this Pension. Breakfasts were really not great, hotel hard to access , on second floor of apt bldg. room very small. Stay at many B @ B's , did not enjoy this one. very sterile. Very costly for what it was but it was Octoberfest so cost was higher. DId not find anyone particularly helpful. Very strange place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucidickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Located above a cafe within walking distance of the city centre (and Oktoberfest) and very close to a U bahn station. Our compact room was decorated with folk art furniture - and a madonna on the wall. Being at the back of the building the room was quiet - the street at the front was busy during the day but seemed quiet at night. Breakfast was very good with freshly sliced meats, cereal, breads and plunger coffee. There was no problem leaving our bags in the reception area on the day of departure for evening collection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Zeevat
1.6 mi away
Pension Belo Sono
Pension Belo Sono
#14 of 65 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gaertnerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gaertnerplatz

Property: Pension Gaertnerplatz
Address: Klenzestr. 45, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Gaertnerplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing