We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Gaertnerplatz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Gaertnerplatz
Ranked #16 of 65 Munich B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

The Pension has such an unbeatable location.. it was diagonally opposite 1 of the exits of the subway station... so getting to anywhere in Munich city was really easy. Rooms were clean and the decor was quaint and charming. Our room had a small balcony where we could sit out and chill over drinks in the night. The area around the Pension was a great neighbourhood to be in too.. many cafes and eating establishments that open late, as well as art and photo galleries and little boutiques.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanaJaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed at this lovely unique B&B for 2 nights in early December to enjoy Munich, the festivities and the glorious (although expensive) Christmas markets. Our room was warm, cosy, clean and very peaceful, it even had a little balcony although in the freezing weather we didn't use it! The hostess was lovely, most helpful and happy to hold onto our bags until we left later on the last day. The breakfast spread is superb, eggs, breads, cereals, meats, cheese, fruits and more - all good quality and beautifully displayed. The B&B is situated in a great location, peaceful but near the city within a 10 minute walk, lots of lovely shops, cafes, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysidekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

My family recently spent four nights at the Pension Gaertnerplatz. We had rooms 7 and 9. Room 9 just had a sink and was sparsely furnished, but it was just used for sleeping so that was okay. Room 7 was en suite and was beautifully furnished with an ornate bed and matching furniture, including a huge wardrobe/closet for all your things. Munich was the last stop of our multi-country trip and we couldn't have ended it on a better note than at the Pension Gaertnerplatz. Every morning we had a delicious, filling breakfast of bread, buns, meat, cheese, yogurt, eggs and fruit. For drinks they had orange and apple juice as well as coffee or tea. If you want something else, there is a very nice pastry shop just a few doors down across the street. In fact, anything you need seems to be just around the corner. The neighborhood is full of boutiques and shops that are fun to poke around in and I highly recommend that you do that.

Many things are walking distance. The Viktualienmarket and Marienplatz are about four scenic blocks away. The Deutsches Museum is also walkable. On the way there you will pass the 1972 Olympic cafe where they serve killer home-made gnocchi with creamy curry sauce. For things further away, the U-Bahn is at the end of the block and the trams are nearby.

It was wonderful to end each day at the Cafe Pini downstairs with our various drinks and unwind from our long day of seeing the sights, the museums and shopping. Yes, there are stairs and there's no lift, so that would be a concern for someone with physical infirmity. Otherwise, Pension Gaertnerplatz is a wonderful place to stay with a very agreeable and kind hostess. I made a huge snafoo as only I could make and she was very nice about fixing my problem and not making me feel a fool.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ilovemyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Spent two nights at this Pension. Breakfasts were really not great, hotel hard to access , on second floor of apt bldg. room very small. Stay at many B @ B's , did not enjoy this one. very sterile. Very costly for what it was but it was Octoberfest so cost was higher. DId not find anyone particularly helpful. Very strange place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucidickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Located above a cafe within walking distance of the city centre (and Oktoberfest) and very close to a U bahn station. Our compact room was decorated with folk art furniture - and a madonna on the wall. Being at the back of the building the room was quiet - the street at the front was busy during the day but seemed quiet at night. Breakfast was very good with freshly sliced meats, cereal, breads and plunger coffee. There was no problem leaving our bags in the reception area on the day of departure for evening collection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is a very clean pension in a great location. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the Marienplatz. We stayed there over Christmas for the wonderful Christmas market and had a wonderful time. Breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful--the best coffee ever! It's on a quiet and safe street in a very nice area. We would definitely return!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ellenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed in Pension am Gaertnerplatz for two nights in June 2010 and absolutely loved it. The location is wonderful, in walking distance to the beautiful Viktualienmarkt and city hall and center of Munich and the immediately surrounding neighbourhood of Pension am Gaertnerplatz is simply delightful. There is a trendy and very good cafe in the same building downstairs with lovely 60/70 furniture, very good coffee, drinks and nice sandwiches, salads and other dishes. There is a theatre close by and the Gaertnerplatz itself is surrounded by wonderful shops and cafes. We loved the neighbourhood as much as Pension Gaertnerplatz. Our room was towards the back yard and very clean and quiet. It was not massive in size but absolutely perfect for two nights. Pension am Gaertnerplatz is not a hotel so does not offer hot food but the owners and staff will give you wonderful tips tailored to what you fancy eating if you ask them. Breakfast was really good, abundant and very relaxed and the owners and staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We loved the friendly and uncomplicated atmosphere and would go back any time. There is also safe parking for your car in the back yard for an overnight fee. There is no lift in the building but we did not mind at all. We just had a really good time and got lots of good tips from the owners and staff where to hire bikes, eat, go for a drink etc. Can't recommend it highly enough! If you go, take some time to wonder round the quirky little shops around the Gaertnerplatz and its side streets.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanilondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#11 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Pension am Jakobsplatz
#1 of 65 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pension Belo Sono
Pension Belo Sono
#14 of 65 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gaertnerplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gaertnerplatz

Property: Pension Gaertnerplatz
Address: Klenzestr. 45, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Gaertnerplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing