We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Ranked #12 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
ORMOND BEACH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice but not downtown”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This boutique hotel has been renovated and the rooms are very stylish and all different. Nice spacious bathroom. No fridge in the room but a small selection of drinks and snacks by the reception desk. Very friendly receptionist. Very nice breakfast area. No valet parking but there's a garage close by.
The hotel is not downtown but the train station is few yards away.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SABRINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    163
    30
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
178
43
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A nice hotel by the Ost Bahnhof. Our room was very clean and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was delicious. Wi-Fi didn't work properly. It was very hot when we came, so it was nice that a free bottle of water was waiting in the room. Big bath room was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annukka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStadtRosenheim, Geschäftsführer at Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear annukka2013,
thank you for your comments on our hotel. We apologise that the Wi-Fi did not work properly. Unforunately we had a problem with the German Telekom on that day and we could not do anything about it. It is all up and running now and of course still free of charge.
We arel looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With kind regars, Wolfgang Schlicht, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The spirit oft he place is powerful, the lightness of the reconstruction of the old building is make you feeling natural. Except for the noise of the mainstreet, which I am personally used to, there is nothing to reproach, I wish there were more similar concepts in every city!

Room Tip: with the windows to the orleansplatz, not to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mladoboleslavska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

As numerous reviewers have noted, the location is top rate for the international air traveler, Off the plane, take the S Bahn into the city, get off at the central station and walk across the street. This is quick and easy. To my surprise the area around this central station has many fine restaurants, cafes, shops -- clearly on the upmarket side. A wonderful area to walk around and an easy walk into the center. The room was fine, clean and pleasant. The staff is of very high quality. As a side note, we had not been in Munich for over 20 years -- immense improvement.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStadtRosenheim, Geschäftsführer at Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Baywanderer,
welcome back to Munich. We are glad that we could do our part to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
With kind regards, Wolfgang Schlicht, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staff were most friendly & welcoming.
Location is great subway, tram & buses right outside the door; supermarkets very close by, super gelato across the square.
Room was comfortable, very high ceilings so room stayed cool even during the heat way, no A/C none needed.
Breakfast was super, tea selection was outstanding, eggs perfectly cooked.
Wifi worked well

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Hotel Stadt Rosenheim has a very good staff. English conversant, they were very helpful with directions and transit passes. And public transit from trains to buses and trolley cars are out front. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of items and eggs and coffee made to order. Dinning room personnel were very nice. Bottled water, fruit and soft drinks were available all day in the lobby. Street noise at night was significant until midnight. Scaffolding outside our window with workers going up and down meant we could not open our curtain or window. Very clean room and bath were very good size, but pink, rose wallpaper was garish.

Room Tip: Around the corner is an excellent restaurant, Gaststatte Zum Brunnstein, frequented by locals with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93MartinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

As a travel agent myself, I am perhaps a little more critical when I visit hotels, as I really want to find out if I can reccommend hotels to my clients. This hotel in Munich will certainly get my tick of approval. Direct links to the airport and city centre by train is brilliant- the station entrace is right outside the hotel door, about 5 steps. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, without having too many wizz bang features. The breakfast room was quaint and the service and food selection was good. The free minibar at reception was super- great value right there! The reception staff were very helpful during our 3 night stay. I would certainly stay here again, as it represents great value and service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanSmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
2.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Property: Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Address: Orleansplatz 6a, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing