We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable..and Quirky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
Ranked #125 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Cocoon Hotel is fashionably quirky, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. A few minutes walk from UBahn stations Sendlinger Tor or Goetheplatz, this hotel has friendly staff, and is a clean and modern hotel. SOME may be put off by the shower cubile in the middle of the bedroom and the small toilet, but to me it just added to the charm of the place. l would certainly stay here again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teebee1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear teebee1984,

thank you very much for your great review.
We are really looking forward to customers like you, who love the Cocoon style with its innovative ideas (raindance shower, glas cubile in the middle of the bedroom).

We would love to see you again.
Keep Cocooning!
Your Hotel Cocoon Team in Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 548 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The location is very good (15 minutes walk to central station or downtown Munich). The Hotel is very stylish and is not in a typical German style.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the price for one night was very competitive.
The room was very nice, but the lavatory is very small.

For one or two night a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear AufDerFlucht,

thank you very much for your great review.
It is a pleasure to hear, that you like our individual Cocoon style
and were absolutely satisfied with the hotel staff.

The Cocoon Team would love to welcome you back in the future.
Keep Cocooning!
Your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor Team Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Centrally located between the Seldlingertor and Goetheplatz stations on the U-bahn, this hotel was comfortable with average size rooms and good mattress. Free wi-fi in rooms. I did not feel breakfast was worth 9 euro per person and there were several pastry shops nearby and McDonald's at Goetheplatz(300 meters). There were many restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back were quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kagatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear kagatlin,

thank you very much for your review.
It is great to hear that you are satisfied with our mattress and the free wi-fi.

I hope you had a nice stay at the pastry shops.

The Cocoon Team would love to welcome you back in the future.
Keep Cocooning!
Your Hotel Cocoon Stachus Team Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel cocoon offers a unique atmosphere. Thw location was a 5 minte walk drom the underground and easy to find. The beds were quite comfortableand the rooms were quiet. Free wifi was available. Would stay again for the overall value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Brian J.,

We hope you had a safe journey back home.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is a great that you felt completely comfortable at our hotel.
The Cocoon Team would love to welcome you back in the future.

Keep Cocooning!
Your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Team Munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for only a night of a business trip. The interior is very retro-futuristic (think of colorful 60s future someone from Don Draper's crew would come up with) and "stylish". But the room was nice, the bathroom small but clean and equipped with everything needed. They also had free wi-fi so I was able to get some work done as well. The breakfast was good to. The usual buffet selection but with quite tasty coffee and orange juice.
The location is perfect, so you can easily walk into the center and to the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qwerty567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear qwerty567,

thank you for your positive comment, I am looking forward to welcoming you again at the Cocoon Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Cocoon Sendlinger Tor for one night of a business trip. It was a recommendation from a colleague who stayed there before and liked the place. It is located a five minute walk from the subway station, so easy to reach.

The hotel is decorated unconventionally, giving it a fresh and young vibe (the IKEA cushions in the lobby adding to) - definitely not catering for the older crowd. I had to wait a bit for check out, as the girl at the check in desk was talking on the phone and no one else was there - once she finished the call, she was very friendly though. I asked for an iron which got brought up to me room immediately.

The room was nice and cozy, making the best use of the limited space. The sink, toilet and shower were placed in a row, separated by a moving door, that would alternatively close either the shower or the toilet - as the space in the toilet compartment is very limited, closing the door to that might be tricky, so maybe not the best room for more than one person.

The breakfast buffet was nice to look at, but with only a limited choice of international breakfast options (no bacon, strange sausages). The flies circling the breakfast room, especially as it was winter and cold outside didn't convince me of the cleanliness of the kitchen area.

All in all a nice hotel if you're under 40 and want something different.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmilitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear kmilitzer,

thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are putting great emphasis on service and friendly staff so it is definately a pleasure to read that you felt good taken care of.

The Cocoon concept is exactly what you experienced, to make our guests fell nice & cosy and to make the best out of the limited space. We are especially proud of our solution for the toilet and shower.

We offer different warm meals on our breakfast buffet changing from day to day. I´m sorry to hear that you missed the bacon. I can absolutely assure you that we have very high hygiene standards concerning our kitchen area and we would be more than proud to convience you of that during a next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I travel to Munich for work about twice a year and last December, they put me in this hotel. It definitely lives up to its "funky" reputation - the decor is cute (although I really didn't appreciate the hipster cow decal on my shower that stared at me all night long) and I definitely have to give them props on fitting a TON of stuff into a very tiny room (I live in NYC, so I can appreciate efficiency in design). The service, however, was terrible. I didn't have towels in my room, and the girl didn't want to believe me, so instead of bringing me towels, she walked up 45 minutes AFTER I called to request them just to prove me wrong and was very disappointed to see that, in fact, there were no towels and she couldn't call me a name in German that I wouldn't understand. About 15 minutes later, I received towels. This experience was common - for whenever I asked for anything, no matter how basic, I felt like I was just RUINING the day of that staff member. When trying to get a front counter attendant, we were told by the other uniformed staffer that "he doesn't work in that section" and therefore couldn't help us. I had a German friend with me who could luckily ask in German because despite how the hotel advertises itself, the staff does NOT speak English very well at all. I would not expect them to speak English except that they clearly communicated everyone was fluent when our company asked. I'm happy to crack out that phrase book - but all the other hotels I've stayed at in Munich (G Hotel, Hotel Bavaria) didn't set up my expectations improperly. Overall, I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#53 of 385 in Munich
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#146 of 385 in Munich
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#67 of 385 in Munich
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#108 of 385 in Munich
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#130 of 385 in Munich
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Address: Lindwurmstr. 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $93 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing