We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhere between hip and cheap...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
Ranked #108 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Somewhere between hip and cheap...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We chose the Cocoon because it was one of Munich's affordable "design hotels", and opted for a junior suite on the 6th floor.

Concerning the "design" designation: the first impression is indeed stylish, the lobby has a friendly retro style and the room has a cool couch with a tray, rotating mirror/TV element opposite the bed and a nice retro 'sphere chair'. But on the second look, there were quite a few elements in the room that ruined the design feeling: the old-fashioned dark-brown carpeting of the room (granted, I find carpets in hotel rooms a bit dated and unhygienic in general), no decorations whatsoever in the room which made it l look a bit barren, a bath tab in the room that looked very old and really didn't fit in...

Apart from the design, the room was very spacious. The bed itself was comfortable, unfortunately it had two mattresses with a huge gap (maybe 5+ cm) between them which I found not very couples-friendly and actually quite annoying. Our room had a balcony, which was very convenient - but it would have been even nicer if there had been any kind of furniture there, because if you wanted to sit down for a rest in the sun you could do so only by sitting on the floor.

We had room 61, which is oriented towards a quite busy street, making it noisy when you try to sleep with an open window (when closed, though, the noise is well kept out).

There is no mini-bar in the room - we really missed that, because we had no chance to shop for drinks or snacks in a supermarket which require cooling (thus, if we wanted e.g. a cold beer, we always had to get it from the bar).

The bathroom and shower are nice, though the drainage is not very efficient - and since there is no door, you either have to take care not to use too much water or risk causing a flooding of the room.

The hotel is not really central (requiring about a 10-15 minutes walk before you reach the beginning of the old town), but not too far off either. The reception staff was always very friendly an accommodating. We didn't try the breakfast, so I can't say anything about its quality.

All in all, the hotel was OK - nothing more, but also nothing less...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    245
    90
    19
    19
See reviews for
76
197
64
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have arrived in Munich early in the morning after a long overseas flight from New York. The receptionist was very friendly. I had a very delicious breakfast and was impressed by the huge selection and the freshness of the fruits.
I really liked the design of the lobby and the room was very nice.
Everything was very clean and I enjoyed my stay. The hotel has a lot to offer and the location is unbeatable, right in the center and close to everything.
I have already booked my next stay there and hope to see the friendly staff again.
I higly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nk_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel has potential. The location is good and it must have been renovated recently.

The hotel management should however teach their receptionist some basics in customer service, as their lady receptionist gave us the worst service ever.

We arrived in the hotel and got to to our room only to find out that it was a smoking room. The cigarette smell in the room was very bad.

We made a complaint about this to the receptionist and asked for another room. The receptionist couldn't give us another room, as the hotel was fully booked. We asked her to cancel our room. She said that it couldn't been done, as our we have arrived after 6 p.m.

The receptionist also blaimed us, because according to her, we should have told in advance that we want a non-smoking room. In the hotel's reservation page, it is not even possible to choose a non-smoking room. Here is a newsflash for the hotel receptionst: In year 2011 the default should be a non-smoking room and it really isn't a "special request". I can't even understand that in an EU country there still can be smoking rooms.

The receptionist said that she is very sorry, but that is all she did. No compensation to price, no free breakfast, no nothing.

Her "sorries" didn't either help us or improve the situation. It would have been okay, if the receptionist had even tried to do something to improve the situation, but she chosed to do nothing. This is the worst level of customer service.

This episode was really pity, as the hotel itself has potential. Good location, nice rooms and nice lobby. Unfortunately, the service is not in the same level.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rontti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

we stayed at Cocoon for one night in july and thought it was great. The lobby/reception area has a great vibe and some loungy music was played when we got there, setting the mood.

The room is the size you expect from a city hotel. Not too big, but certainly not cramped. We loved the little alcove in the window, where you can sit and relax. Bring your own iPod and plug it in. Free wifi! The toilet, shower and wash bassin are next to each other, with one sliding door so that two of them are always open. The shower has glass on the side, so maybe not the best place to go with your parents. ;-) But it's too cool for them anyway.

We slept great. The Lindwurmstrass is quite noisy though, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back.

Now, the breakfast the next morning...Wow! We really didn't expect it to be this good. Everything you want, even sparkling wine. And the best part was that it was sunny and we could enjoy our breakfast outside on the patio. I'm sure this place is also very alive at night.

The Lindwurmstrasse is quite crappy, but the area behind it is great. Make sure to go to the Glockenbachviertel, where there are a lot of great cafés and restaurants. It's not in the centre of Munich, but it's not far either and hey, when you pay about a hundred euro's for a hotel this great, who's complaing about walking a bit?

Anyway, we loved Munich and are definately coming back someday and we'll stay at Cocoon for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirAndriesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The location is fantastic, just 5 min from the tube in a very nice area which brings you in the right mood for a Munich trip. At arrival at the hotel my mood sank though, the staff was unconcentrated, it was chaotic at the front desk, not friendly enough for my taste...

the room: the bench, the integrated bathroom etc. all very cool design IF YOU ARE ALONE! I enjoyed it but THERE IS NO WAY I would want to stay there with another person, there is no privacy at all as the shower and toilet are practically in the room.

Also: for my taste a little noisy from the street and you can hear the closing doors of the other rooms quite well at night, but the bed has a hard mattrass which makes up for it!

Something in my room did not work but it was not exchanged nor mentioned ever again though I complained about it... hm, disappointing service.

Breakfast: good, sufficient, prepared with love!

I'd come back... maybe...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room26London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

It was pretty good as you've read in other reviews. I found it perhaps a bit noisy in the back - it seems that it shares some sort of courtyard with other residential flats across the way, and I often heard people talking and construction noises at all hours (it could be a pub around the corner with outside cafe). But it was a good clean place, sort of a novel design with 1 door that slides and serves as shower curtain, sink, and toilet door. It's a very short walk (250m or so) to the centre of Munich and of course the Sendlinger Tor tube stop.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were here before in 2010. We arrived at night and were completely lost. We phoned Cocoon and a friendly nightporter led us by phone to the Hotel and poured us a cold beer. That's when we were sure that we would come again someday. And we did, this year, as München is a nice place to overstay when you travel from Italy to Holland by car.
The hotel is a great place, smartly decorated and situated in a friendly neighbourhood close to the touristic centre. The nightporter still worked there and smiled when we told him we managed to get there on our own this time. The beer was as good as we remembered. But you expect nothing less in Germany.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#46 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#145 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#127 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
Cocoon Hauptbahnhof
#113 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Property: Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
Address: Lindwurmstr. 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing