We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful and perfect Hotel”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The Charles hotel is probably the best hotel in Munich. The service, rooms, restaurant, spa and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LengK1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

I also have had the pleasure of staying at The Charles Hotel Munich. After 30 hours of travel and a short walk (10 minutes) from the central Airport bus shuttle, to be greeted with a cold towel (it was 36degrees) and my room already some hours before normal check in set the standard. The rooms are functional and stylish, and nothing appears to be any trouble for the excellent staff.

The bar is a quiet area, but the staff engaging and professional. Be warned about the nibbles with the drinks, they have the best potato chips ever! One of the barmen (Nick) makes a mean Dirty Martini and pours an excellent beer.

The restaurant is excellent for both dinner and breakfast. I would recommend it without hesitation. The breakfast selection is varied and fresh, and also has a wide variety of teas, coffee, eggs pancakes etc, all freshly prepared.

The one let down from my experience is the limited English selection of television channels (BBC, CNN, Skynews only).

The Charles is about excellent and friendly service, which is complimented by very good rooms, restaurant and Spa facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontagueMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We loved this hotel! So modern and trendy with class and elegance. The room was great, the view was relaxing and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. There was such a large variety of people, and everyone was treated the same. As a younger traveler in an upscale hotel, sometimes you are treated so differently. That was not the case and the Charles hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeCecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed in this hotel with our son (2 yrs) in a junior suite for three nights. The service was possibly the best we have ever experienced. Courteous, professional, friendly - but not familiar. Nothing was a problem. It was almost as if the staff were not there, things were done so discreetly - yet at the same time it was not clinical. Sublime. the property was beautiful. Location was good - a little further out than some of the other 5 stars, but not more than a 10 minute walk into town. Would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theryanscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

the hotel is great especially for a European hotel, the rate i paid was about
$750 so it was no bargain, if you can get the hotel when they run specials $400 to $500 it's a good value. great view, great location, great service and
great beds & linens.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourseasonslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I believe the Charles Hotel is by far the most luxurious in Munich.

* I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. *

The Charles was an impressive property, very modern and new (recently opened I believe as well). Service was top-notch, very friendly and responsive staff. The concierge was very helpful in recommending and booking local restaurants.

The lobby bar was a bit of a hotspot and had a drew a decent crowd each night (mostly people from the hotel).

The location was great as well. It was about 3 blocks to the main Hauptbahnhof and only two metro stops (or about 5 mins) away from the main square on Marienplatz. I'd even argue that you could walk from the Charles to Marienplatz if the weather was nice as there are plenty of shops to be seen along the way.

* Overall, I had a great stay at the Charles and would most certainly recommend this property. *

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulmates33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This hotel is in a phenomenal location- a stones throw away from the train station, overlooking the Botanical Gardens, and a 5-minute walk into the Marienplatz. The rooms were beautiful! Refreshing and oversized by European standards, our room overlooking the gardens was about 430 square feet. The rooms are well-designed and maximize space effectively, and the amenities were perfect and synonymous with the standard of any Rocco Forte hotel. The bed was so comfortable! Everything from the lobby bar to breakfast and dining was unbelievable!
The spa was wonderful! A large indoor pool, large fitness center, sauna, steam room... a full-service health and fitness center that such a treat! Most impressive was the outstanding service we received from everyone we came into contact with. From the ladies in the breakfast restaurant to the front desk and in-room dining, the gentlemen at the bar and most of all the very knowledgeable and eager-to-serve concierge (especially Christian!). Very much a five-star property, this hotel is a wonderful addition to the Rocco Forte collection.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $324 - $1,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing