We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spacious room overlooking the park at the front of the hotel, truly impressive bathroom, very helpful staff. I don't need to travel to Munich in the foreseeable future but seriously considering a weekend break just so I can stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear lian B,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction, especially the bathroom. Our deluxe rooms offer a nice view to the Old Botanical Garden, our reservation department is delighted to assist you.

Dear guest, we are looking forward to welcome you for a weekend-trip to The Charles Hotel again soon.

If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

The staff is the most unprofessional I've seen in this kind of establishment. Including restaurant and reception. Just ruined the entire experience.
On the positive side, the valet staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank sc175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear sunc175,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Regrettably, we had to read that we couldn't meet your expectations and would like to deeply apologize for the inconveniences caused. The experience you had at The Charles Hotel is absolutely unacceptable for us and we would be delighted for the opportunity to talk to you directly. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the Executive Office, we would be pleased if you take the time to give us your feedback in detail.

Dear guest, please accept our sincere apology.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was suspicious with the comments on tripadvisor at first (can a hotel really be that great?!) and hesitated to book this hotel, but I decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did it. We booked the deluxe room, and everything was great. The room was well furnished and designed. Everything was so new. We were suspecting that the air ventilator was not working because the room was too quiet but then it proves that it was working! (bad smell can be gone within seconds) I really regretted that I did not have time to enjoy a bath in my room and the spa. Everything was clean and nice, and the view was gorgeous, facing the botanical garden and the church. The breaking dawn was especially amazing.

Regarding the service, it was definitely perfect. Everyone recognizes you and addresses you by your last name. I suspect that the staffs have to pass down the names of the guests through some mechanism because sometimes we even have staffs we have not met knowing our names. It is a small detail but I think it really makes us feel like VIP. The bell captains always walk all the way (at least about 500 meters from their entrance) to welcome us back to the hotel. The concierge was definitely nice and helpful, and the reception is always nice and efficient. The room did not come with the coffee machine, but one day we were really craving for coffee and we made a call to the reception. 20 minutes later a coffee machine with coffee cups, fresh milk, and sugar were brought to our room. Also, the breakfast was great, if you can get the breakfast special deal, GET IT.

Some people mentioned that the location was not centrally located. It is not true. Within about 5-10 min walk you can get to one of the major shopping district. Because the hotel is right next to Hbf, everything that is reachable by metro is definitely easily accessible.

The only downside about living in this hotel is that it is way too comfortable that it always takes us a long time to leave the hotel and we are always eager to come back early every day, so the hotel becomes the majority of our highlight in Munich.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast package, you will LOVE it. Also, at first, you might feel that the room does not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ka41993ka4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear ka41993ka4,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

Your review makes us very proud and it is great to hear that you had an unforgettable stay with us. Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and your personal remarks that you didn't want to leave the hotel anymore made us very glad. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated.

As you mentioned, The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance, as well as many other highlights, our Concierge team is delighted to be by our guest's side.

Dear guest, we hope we get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make your next stay even more enjoyable, the entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Overall, it was a great stay. The room was really spacious. I was really happy to find out our room faced the botanical garden.
The location of the hotel is close to the train station, which was really convenient for us. We took the bus from the airport to the train station and it only took about 5 minutes walk to get to the hotel. The hotel is also close to a major shopping area, so my husband was able to get the supplies he needed to bring back to Hong Kong.
I also like the heated floor in the bathroom. As we traveled to Germany in the winter time from Asia, it was really nice to have this kind of floor. When I walked out of the shower room, I would not feel that cold!
There was one confusion regarding our check-out arrangement. The attitude from the reception manager really upset me but she quickly fixed it and apologized. So, I felt better later.
After we checked out, as we had to wait for a late night flight back to Hong Kong, the hotel kindly arranged us stay at another smaller room for a half day without charge. For this part, I am really grateful as I could do some work in the room.
Don't try the Gluhwein in the hotel in the winter time. It really did not taste good and it was really expensive (10 euro)!! Just go to the Christmas market nearby and you can get a really good one!!

Room Tip: Choosing a room facing the botanical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margarita_red2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear margarita-´_read2006,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your words.

Your feedback is always important for us as we try to improve our standards continuously. Therefore we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the accomodation in our nice guest rooms with the heated floors in the bathrooms.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

For your personal remarks regarding the Gluehwein and the confusion during your check-out we would like to apologize deeply. Please be sure that we already had a meeting with our Heads of Department to discuss the matters you mentioned and to keep an eye on the extended training in the departments affected.

Dear guest, we hope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel again. The entire team is looking forward to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The service at this hotel pushed my rating to "Excellent". The staff earns top honors during our 4 night stay over New Years in Munich. Overall, this was a rather difficult hotel for me to rate. In terms of location, the hotel is about a 10 minute stroll from the main square, but it is just a block from the train station.

In terms of amenities, the plain decor of the lobby does not give the impression that this is a high end hotel until you get into the room. Our room had ample space, but my favorite room was the bathroom. It had heated floors!!! I could have slept on the bathroom floor. Oh, an the bathroom was also a nice size with a cool shower. My only complaint is about the furniture in the room. It is maybe meant to be modern and minimal but I don't care for the cheap looking desk, tables and that desk lamp that reminded me of my college dorm room. They don't compliment the level of luxury this hotel was meant to be. Still, the staff alone pushed my rating for this property to "excellent" and I highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Carrie L,

Thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich on New Year's Eve.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that you loved the bathroom, especially the heated floors.

Besides, we had to read that not the whole stay was to your entire satisfaction and we would like to apologize deeply that we couldn't meet your expectation in some matters. Thank you very much for your personal remarks regarding the furnitures in the room. We take your comments very serious and would like to thank you for your honest words. We will discuss the matters you mentioned and keep them in mind for the next renovation part.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home and it is nice to hear that they made your stay "excellent".

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

There are five star hotels, and there are real five star hotels. This one is definitely the latter. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet and for us, they were exactly what we want of a hotel room. The spa is good for a city hotel, especially the steam room. The pool is also nice, and is actually swimmable – not a bath tub hotels sometimes try to sell you for a pool.
The location... you can’t ask for more, The Charles is in the city centre, convenient both for travellers with cars, but also if you’re catching a train from the airport or travelling by train, since Munich’s main railway station is just round the corner.
The service is one of the biggest bonuses of this hotel. The staff are welcoming, friendly and at your service all the time, but not in your face and irritating as they can be in five star hotels. They made reservations in restaurants for us – just follow their advice and you won’t go wrong.
And last but not least, Munich... the city has beautiful parks, good shopping, stunning museums, great restaurants; it is very easy to navigate. If you haven’t visited the city before, just go for it. Three days was not enough, so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Kreni,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in our beautiful bavarian capital.

The entire team was proud to read your review "a five-star-hotel with six-star-service" - wow! Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and it is great to hear that your stay with us was unforgettable. We are delighted that you enjoyed the recommendations you received and that you found the time to discover Munich and fell in love with it.

We are looking forward to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again soon. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime, it is our pleasure to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've traveled all over the world, but the Charles Hotel was memorable for its very high level of service, friendly atmosphere, and terrific rooms. The Charles is a 7-10 minute walk to the pedestrian area; we visited in the days leading up to Christmas. A very memorable way to prepare for Christmas. We've stayed many times in the Hotel Amigo in Brussels (always clean and freshly painted, new looking, quiet, etc.); glad we trusted the Rocco Forte chain in Munich. A very memorable, and peaceful stay.

Being slightly outside the pedestrian area and 3-5 minutes from the train station has certain advantages. The airline lost one of our bags so we could go to a department store (Karstadt). The train station has shops open 24 hours so basics, tourist items, German bakeries, Starbucks, etc. are a short hop away.

At each stage of our trip, the Concierge Desk saved us. We didn't have time to properly plan the trip, so we relied constantly on the concierge. Heidi was terrific in arranging travel from the airport and tour guides to the old art museum and the city center (two hours each -- totally memorable and top notch guides arranged on short notice through the hotel). Joachim (sp?) fielded probably 8 different questions. He always got us pointed in the right direction: restaurants, the dept. store for the clothing crisis, and mass (St. Bonifaz on Karlstrasse; and then Asamkirche for Christmas Eve mass -- hint: arrive very early).

We had one scenic room on the 7th floor and two rooms on the 3rd floor. The view from the 7th floor is great of the old city, but the third floor rooms were great. Great sleep quality, bathrooms, etc.

We liked the downstairs lounge area for hot chocolate, beer or a late night drink. Good service.

Overall, I am missing the hotel just writing this. We hope to get back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear FredTravel VA,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel during the last days leading up for christmas. We habe been delighted to read your warm words, especially that you already miss The Charles Hotel while writing your comment.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

We are pleased to hear that our Concierge team around Heidi and Jochen made your stay unforgettable and helped you by making the most out of your journey. Of course we forwarded your warm words to them immediately and the entire team was glad to hear your positive review.

It is nice to hear that you already had the time to visit the Hotel Amigo in Brussel as well and we are looking forward to welcome you to any other Rocco Forte Hotel as well. If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us personally.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again soon. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to inform us.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $322 - $1,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing