We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavarian Christkindlemarkts”
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose to visit Bavaria at Christmas time and Munich was one of our destinations during early Advent.The charming and very sweet staff were always professional and enhanced our trip with their suggestions. Upon their recommendation, we took the ICE to Nurnberg's Christmas market for the day and it was a fantastic and easy side trip!


I must say that the spacious, modern room was very cozy after a chilly night on the Marionplatz, the heart of the city center, and the sight of the Christkindlemarkt. Another plus was that the bathroom had a large soaking tub, much needed after a full day of exploring the beautiful Churches, colorful market stalls and the lively beer halls of Munich.

The Charles is an easy walk to the museum cluster and we did enjoy spending a day at the Alte Pinakothek and the Pinakothek der Moderne. Every late afternoon, upon our return, the Charles would spoil us with a beautifully presented and very delicious treat served lovingly in our room.What a generous touch to restore us as we prepared our night out!

Though we chose a cold time of year to visit Munich, we were warmed by the Christmas spirit displayed at the markets with its' delightful people and the very welcoming and comfortable Charles Hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirloin_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear guests,

we really appreciate your warm words and compliments for the entire team of The Charles Hotel in Munich. Thank you.

Especially the winter time in Munich is very popular due to the many Christmas markets also in the surroundings of Munich! Great to hear that you spent a good time in Nürnberg – very famous for its Christmas market as well!

There is no better way to return to the hotel and being spoilt by high quality services in a wonderful atmosphere! Your feedback reflects exactly the philosophy of Rocco Forte Hotels and we are proud that you were our guests.

Should your passion to travel bring you back to Munich in the future, please let us know. We would be delighted to assist with a booking and to welcoming you back – maybe in the summer months!

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We Stayed at the Rocco Forte my family and I for a week during the month of October for a recreational trip and I must say overall I was impressed with Rocco Forte Hotel.

Location: When it comes to location Rocco Forte is Ideally located to marine platz (15 minute walk), various restaurants and a beautiful the botanical garden which is perfect to wake up to every morning.

Service: The hotel staff were welcoming and accommodating, although their concierge compared to our previous hotel stay in germany were inexperienced, we had visited germany several times over the years so restaurants and their knowledge were quite limited, to the extent that one of the concierge staffs told us not many restaurants open on a Sunday night which from our experience was never the case.
Advise: Look for some good restaurants here on trip advisor and the locals for some good places to dine and visit :)

Rooms: The Rooms are modern in design, spacious, clean and fully equipped with a great number of amenities, to some travelers its worth noting they provide free water bottels to the guest every night. I suggest to take rooms with a balcony view its worth the additional pay.

Breakfast: The breakfast Menu boasted a good selection for various types of picky food eaters out there ranging from your international, European and bavarian breakfasts.

It was a great stay with a few and minor tweaks that would be needed but overall it did not ruin our experience.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with other travellers on the online portal Tripadvisor.

Your honest feedback is from utmost importance for us as our General Manager, Mr. Frank Heller, takes care of each guest comment personally.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to The Charles Hotel, part of Rocco Forte Hotels, for the first time. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay – in one of our beautiful Deluxe Rooms, overlooking the Old Botanical Garden and the city of Munich.

Hopefully you had the chance to visit our Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO also for dinner as we have a great selection of first class dishes from our Chef, Giovanni Russo and his team. It would be a pleasure to create also an individual menu for you upon your next stay!

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the recommendations of our Concierge team as usually they have a huge knowledge of the city and many special insider tips. Our concierge team is working at The Charles Hotel from the beginning on and Heidi, Head Concierge, would be more than pleased to be by your side upon your next stay.

If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com)

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff here are welcoming and made us feel at home. I loved the breakfast buffet with cava on ice. I also liked that there was a family breakfast so no kids underfoot. There was a good selection of pastries and cold meats on the breakfast bar and a varied selection of juices and teas.

The rooms were spacious and loved the pillow menu I always have problems with hotel pillows but found the perfect one for me. Nice chocolates welcome gift and good turn down service every night.

It is good that they do not admit children to the pool during certain times as it gave us grown ups some peace. The spa was good but the mixed spa is not a great idea as too many men were parading about naked in the showers of the mixed area (maybe i am just a prude Brit).

The only downside is the location while it is easy to get about it just felt a bit of an industrial area and maybe a bit close to rough areas where i would not want to go after dark.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_Tempete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to enjoy some of our hotel facilities as our The Charles SPA . Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guests.

Another big advantage of The Charles Hotel is that it is perfectly located near the Munich Central Station with connection to underground and suburban trains. So our guests can discover Munich and its surroundings in a really comfortable way.

Hopefully you will visit the most beautiful city of Bavaria and The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (muin-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were greeted with hot towels when arriving at the front desk. The hotel focuses on attentive service -- everyone greets you and tries to be friendly. Somehow this creates an artificial impression, more fuss than substance.
Our room was spacious, bright, overlooking the garden. The hotel is not very close to the main shopping street -- about 15-20 minutes to walk.

The kingsize bed was big and good for sleep. They offer a pillows menu. Room was cleaned efficiently. Overall, very clean hotel with nice rooms and equipment. Breakfasts are fantastic -- excellent choice of everything, fresh juices, nice pastry, cheeses, bavarian sausages, salmon, champagne, a selection of leaf teas, even honeycomb.
I was visiting with my wife and a 5-year old, and did not look up the hotel's site which says that children can only use the pool from 11 am to 4 pm. Booking.com did not mention this. Unfortunately, this made it impossible for us to use the pool and the spa facilities, when we wanted. For me this spoiled the entire stay, and taught me to check websites of hotels more attentively before booking.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank your for your feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that our spacious rooms met your expectations. We are very proud of our standard rooms - as they are due to their size of 43 m2 unique in Munich - and this exceptional design of Ms. Olga Polizzi – the sister of Sir Rocco Forte.
Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm, courteous and cordial services. Therefore we deeply regret that this created an artificial impression from your point of view and that we did not meet your expectations.

Part of our philosophy is that children are also VIP guests at The Charles Hotel. It is very important to us that even the youngest guests enjoy their stay at our property. Therefore we offer special amenities as well as our kids’ club on Sundays and holidays. Furthermore we have those special kids’ hours in the spa so that all children have the chance to play in the pool to their heart’s delight. On the other hand we have to take care of those guests who want to recover and indulge. So we hope for your understanding in this point.

Nevertheless we would be delighted to welcome you and your family at The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas and enjoyed it very much. Our room was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The young woman who check us in even walked us to our room and showed us how everything worked and the doorman recognized us and said "welcome back" when we returned from a walk. There were just a couple of discordant notes. We were really surprised that the carpet in front of the elevator was stained. It was not something we expected in a topnotch hotel. Also, when we first checked into our room, I noticed a smell but didn't pay attention to it. After sitting in the room for a while, I realized that the smell was of smoke. Though the hotel is a non-smoking establishment, someone had clearly smoked in our room before we took occupancy. When I called about the smell, housekeeping acted right away and made it better, though the smell still lingered somewhat. Again, I 'm surprised that in an establishment of this level that the housekeeping staff hadn't picked up on the smell while cleaning the room. Still, aside from these minor things, we had a good stay with a lovely Christmas dinner and a fantastic breakfast buffet the next morning.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gogogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Above all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers here on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that our cordial and individual service truly met your expectations. Of course we forwarded your kind words immediately to our employees, which is much appreciated. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed our luxurious breakfast buffet as well as the fine selected meals at our Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO.

On the other hand we deeply regret the discordant notes you mentioned and we would like to apologize for the caused inconvenience. Please be informed that we are offering smoking rooms as well on a certain floor. Nevertheless, unfortunately we cannot avoid that non-smoking rooms are used as smoking rooms. For this reason our housekeeping team arranges a special cleaning for those rooms. Therefore we feel very sorry that you did not get an odor-free room.

We would be very delighted to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).
We wish you a pleasant year 2013!

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived around 1PM... we had to wait until 3PM to check-in: "The suite is not ready"... We entered the room we noticed that mosquitos have chosen the same room. At 9PM, the door rang twice: "Do you need something?" asked the room service. The room service personnel should know that we have 2 kids sleeping in our room. They shouldn't disturb us for no reason. Laundry was sent back twice since clothes were not clean. Internet is very expensive. We have used on the first day the swimming pool, it was OK. The second day, the girl told us that kids are not allowed to access the swimming pool: this was not mentioned before and besides, a german kid was playing inside with a ball: racists!!! Picnic basket is too heavy: glasses, plates and cuttlery should be made of plastic! We had in the basket the remaining cheese of the breakfast, 5 apples and a blanket... I will never come back to this hotel...

Room Tip: Bruyant de tout les cotes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emile A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on the online portal Tripadvisor.
We are glad that we had the possibility to clear the mentioned points at your stay in August 2012 as we are taking each feedback very seriously.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime if there are still some points, which are causing a bad taste in regards to your recent stay. Mr. Heller, our General Manager, would appreciate to get in contact with you again.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

first of all this hotel is really gorgeous, loved the heated bath room floor, products and the breakfast buffet with silver cuttlery etc. however, some staff members are really snotty or extremely artificial and more polite to men since they seem to hold the check book, so that was annoying. charging € 20 for internet per day - also annoying, so was the poor mattress and a water kettle from china that was a real safety hazard. good location, beautiful spa but not very functional. if you look for a place that makes you feel posh this is the place to be, otherwise you could do better

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViennaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your honest feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to hear that you loved our focus on high quality design and products as well as our fine selected variety of our breakfast buffet. We are also glad, that you could enjoy some of our hotel facilities such as our 800 m² The Charles SPA with its 5 treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, 15 meter pool and well-equipped gym. However it is a pity that our individual and cordial service did not meet your expectations. Usually we provide the same attention to detail, exceptional levels of comfort and personal service for which the Rocco Forte Hotels and “the art of simple luxury” have become so well known. We would be more than delighted to convince you at future stays!

We understand your wish to have free internet access, but currently we are working with a very good external company, which guarantees us a safe and quick internet and a 24 hours support for all our guests. Please be ensured that we are trying to find a solution for the future and in the meanwhile I really do hope for your understanding in this point.

We wish you a pleasant year 2013 and we would be very delighted to welcome you to
The Charles Hotel soon again.


If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Spa Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $315 - $1,789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing