We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best in life hotel experience so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“best in life hotel experience so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is new and built for purpose. As a family of 5, we had two inter-connecting junior suite rooms at 6th floor.

Service was outstanding, room cleaning 2-3 times a day and they do it very quick and professional - they come in by crews of 4-5 people at once.

Service was good, professional and friendly. Kids were receiving all kinds of positive attention - from toys and drawing-books to special kids' bathrobes, slippers and toothpaste/toothbrush - exactly 3 sets, which means they paid attention to what I wrote to them in my reservation request (I mentioned 3 kids). First page of hotel's drawing book for kids had a picture of kids having a pillow fight - which immediately inspired my younger kids to do just the same. Pillows for fighting (sofa-type pillows) were abundant (about 2 dozens for both rooms total).

Nice breakfast and dinner, very tasty deserts. Warm chokolate cake was acknowledged by entire family as best ever desert we ate outside home. The restaurant downstairs is italian-style, and I think they could still include bavarian style menue. Lunch was cheap but not really plentiful, neither size-wise, nor selection-wise - six selections for main course and they did not change it for three days we were there.

Hotel is located 0,5 from main rail station and ~1 km from the main old square (Marienplatz). Which, on one hand, is an advantage - not close and not very far. However, for families with small kids like us, it poses a dilemma - it's not really easy to walk but it is also too short a distance to justify a taxi. So, what we did when going to city historic center - we took a taxi there and returned back on foot.

There's a very nice view from hotel, at least from our rooms. An old botanical garden is right in front, and it has a large playing ground for kids.

Overall, I should say it was the best hotel experience for us as family and I also say that it was one of the best for me personally.

I still have to agree with other commenters - the base room rate (though not low by itself) does not truly reflect your expenses - because you have to pay extra for almost everything, including things that normally are included in rate - in our case it was breakfast (I think it was 30 euro per person per preakfast, can't remember exactly what it was for the kids) and internet (paid 60 euro for three days).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view onto botanical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingKindergarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your lengthy feedback concerning your stay at
The Charles Hotel in Munich. We do appreciate your honest and warm words and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family at our hotel.

Our team is very proud that you consider The Charles Hotel to be the “best in life experience so far“. We have set ourselves demanding standards and our main aim is to fulfil every wish of our guests and provide them with the best possible services. Of course we forwarded your nice feedback to our employees. Furthermore, we are very happy that you visited our Restaurant DAVVERO not only for breakfast but also for lunch and dinner and that we could delight your taste buds with our chocolate cake.

In regards to the free Internet access, we are working on some future alterations as the Internet usage is under discussion within the Rocco Forte Hotels and a companywide decision. By now the use of Internet is included in the suite experiences.

Again, thank you for staying at the Charles Hotel and we are looking forward to hosting you and your entire family soon again.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    214
    59
    20
    17
See reviews for
372
510
88
292
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice place, very good location, friendly staff. Negative point is that you pay for everything and this is expensive: ie 1 hour of internet for 10 euros! 2 days parking in the hotel garage is 24 euros! Breakfast 30 euros for american buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Charles Hotel in Munich. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and provide you with the best possible services.

From time to time we have special offers, which include some of our services. Please visit our homepage for further information.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Munich and remain

with best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The excellent points
- professional, polite, quick check in
- nicely designed and practical room (turn down service turns on the TV showing a flickering fire)
- great staff at the bar (they offered other guests to take their coats to the room), good food for a late night dinner, nice drinks. The bar itself is a mix between the lobby going into a bar area.
- nice room to enjoy breakfast (did not feel crowded although all tables were taken). beautiful selection of food. and again great service
- walking distance to the SBahn (takes you to airport and to the center of the city)
- walking distance to terrific museums

The disappointment:
1) The spa area was not to our liking; and somehow did not fit to the rest of the hotel. 3 swimmers doing their laps in the pool made it impossible to take a dip. Some of the chairs around the pool have the gym in their back (so people on crosstrainer look through the window right onto the chairs).
Unfortunately, it is not indicated which part of the sauna area is a nude zone. this led to some embarassing moments. you cannot take a shower before going into the sauna without having people look at you. No hooks to hang up the towels near the shower, so there is really no privacy. One shower was broken (could not adapt temperature). Small things left the impression that the planner of this facility has never been to the sauna (nude). It would have been clearer if they would have just marked - this is an NON-nude zone.
2) inspite of being member at LHW there was no possibility of shifting our checkout from 12 to 13.30 on a Sunday (we asked the evening before). The lady at the reception didn't even look into the system. Although the hotel may have been booked out; it seemed like she didn't even want to consider this option.
We would go back, but this time we would not plan any wellness activities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel with other travellers.

Of course the satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. Therefore, we are very pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay in one of our fantastic Executive Suites after some inconveniences at the beginning, which we deeply regret.

It is great to hear that you will definitely be back! Please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

With warm regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The staff, whether doorman (or should that be doorperson), reception, concierge, or restaurant, could not be more helpful, friendly or attentive. The room and bathroom were of outstanding quality. The artwork is fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel, it is sure to please the most discerning traveller.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback while spending some time at The Charles Hotel in Munich, part of Rocco Forte Hotels.

Your words make us very proud and of course we forwarded it to all our employees!

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com and we would be happy to fulfil you every wish.

With best regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The tiles in the bathroom are heated..so thoughtful, right? There is also both a shower and a bath.

Great location - two blocks away from the hauptbahnhof and within walking distance to the heart of altstadt. Courteous staff and helpful concierge (if clubbing is your thing, they have passes). They are very prompt with the shoe shining as well. We were too busy romping around the city, so didn't get a chance to make it to the spa, which is supposed to be quite nice.

Also, I was stupid enough to leave my flat keys at the hotel, and they were very helpful in having it couriered to Frankfurt immediately.

Oddly, they have more Arabic TV channels than even German ones. And they do room cleaning at night, I believe between 7-10 pm.

One major downside: no wifi and I believe you have to pay for the wired connection.

But aside from that, great place to stay. And seriously..you'll love the heated floors.

Room Tip: overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evanescentecstasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Traveller,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest at The Charles Hotel in Munich!

Thank you for your personal comments, which are much appreciated. We are glad that you had some time to discover the wonderful surrounding of our hotel.

The TV channels are already in progress to be changed soon to offer our guest a wide range of different languages. Wifi is available at The Charles Hotels in all areas and we also do offer some important facilities at our Business Center, which can be used by our guests.

Please feel free to contact me at anytime to make your next stay even more enjoyable and hopefully you find some time to have a look at our relaxing spa area.

With warmest regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Was offered really good price and decided why not to try this experience. There are only good things to say about this hotel. Excellent location close to main station, spacious rooms and bathrooms, beautiful interiors and one of the reachest breakfasts I've ever seen, very nice lobby bar. Staff are all very helpful, all processes like check-in or check-out run smoothly. Stayed in The Charles for just 2 nights, but even this was enough to understand what does Rocco Forte mean. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal impressions while staying at The Charles Hotel.
Your feedback makes us very proud and we would like to say thank you for staying with us.

It is wonderful to read that you liked the interior design, which reflects the idea of Rocco Forte Hotels to equip the hotels with very special materials and objects.

The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon in Munich and to indulge you with our services.

With best wishes,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
296 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked our room through Leading Hotels of the World promotion Stay 4 nights, get the 5th night free. Since we are members we also anticipated a room upgrade. We arrived at the hotel which is designed in a beautiful neoclassic style overlooking the Botanical garden. We were greeted at reception by staff bearing hot towels to refresh ourselves after our journey--which we felt was a little pretentious. Check-in was smooth and we were escorted to our junior suite upgrade. We were disappointed with the view of an adjacent office building located across a pretty courtyard and shocked when night fell exposing our room to view. Our choice was to keep the draperies closed or ask for another room. We then discovered that the airconditioning didn't work and notified the front desk. An engineer was promptly dispatched but he was unable to fix the problem. The following day we were moved to a beautiful large suite, with two balconies, overlooking the garden. A lovely floral arrangement and bottle of wine were gifts from management due to our problems with the first room. The balance of our stay was perfect in every way. Since there were only 4 suites on our floor, with only one other suite occupied for one night only, it was very quiet. The staff was extremely helpful. We had friends in the city living on a very short obscure street cab drivers had difficulty finding. The concierge printed a map and came with us to the taxi giving directions to the driver. The breakfast buffet, which was included in our rate, displayed food choices for every ethnicity plus eggs, pancakes could be made to order. We will definitely stay at The Charles again or any other property owned by Rocco Forte.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the botanical garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Charles Hotel with other travellers.

Of course the satisfaction of our guests is our main aim and we all do our very best to provide our guests with the best possible services as we have set ourselves demanding standards. Therefore, we are very pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay in one of our fantastic Executive Suites after some inconveniences at the beginning, which we deeply regret.

It is great to hear that you will definitely be back! Please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

With warm regards from Munich,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Property: The Charles Hotel
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy modern botanical bistronomy in the Sophia's Restaurant & Bar with sun terrace. Our The Charles Spa with pool, sauna, steam bath and fitness room is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing