We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite old rooms but cheap and very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Residence
Ranked #376 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here with a couple of friends in March 2013. Hotel is located just next to train station (Hauptbahnhof). There is a garage with a special price for hotel guests (we got a discount voucher). Hotel room was quite old and in need of renovation. Bathroom was very small with a shower cabin. It was cheap and central and very good for us for just one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

They could improve easily, specially if they pay attention to the cleaning. Also the equipment was quite destroyed. The environment was noisy, specially a night in which we had a party lasting the whole night in the bedroom next to us. However, the next day they changed us to a better room keeping the same price. I can say the best fact is the location, right next to the main train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayshhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are travelling to Munich for a couple of days, do not plan to spend much time in your room, and prefer to spend money on things other than accommodation, it is not a such bad option. Location is very good - close to the heart of the city (would not say about the neighbourhood - which is similar to areas around main train stations in many European cities, but in Munich the area near the station appears pretty safe, even late at night). Rooms are of decent size and acceptably clean. A bit noisy. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception desk. Make sure you bring your soap and shampoo – there was none in the bathroom, which was rather shocking. Note that the hotel appears to be oriented towards the needs of guests from the Middle East (e.g. line up of channels on satellite TV). But Munich has so much to offer to a visitor, so watching TV is perhaps the last thing to think about. The bottom line – it is a reasobably priced, well located 2 star hotel .
If you travel in a car, ask the reception desk with which underground parking the hotel has a special arrangement. These is one 5 minutes walking distance and the hotel gives you a good discount - you pay 10 Euros a day, instead of normal 25. But make sure you get to the right parting as there are several nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unless you

1)Have not done your research
2)Read reviews from only one source (booking.com)
3)Cannot live too far away from the train station
4)Living on a budget, attracted the deals from booking.com

then do not stay in this hotel. I have no qualms with living beside a noisy road, or living with Arab tourists, but other issues like broken bathroom tiles, a strange smell (medicated oil?) loose parquet floors really take the cake of being one of Munich's worst hotels. Basic amenities like a hot water boiler, English channels and breakfast are not available. Oh yes did I mention that there was NO TELEPHONE in my room?

Room Tip: Get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Dear all,

after arriving at the hotel (which happened only to be because I was looking for Pension Tillo that was at that place before), I read the previous postings - and I thought that some of the posters might be racists because they said there were a lot of Arab guests etc. I like Islamic culture a lot, I have been to many Arabic countries, and I met some very nice and cultivated people. So I decided to stay at Atlas Residence. That was a big mistake.
In fact, I found out the posts were right. They were not complaining about Arabs but about this horrible hotel inhabited by the noisiest guests I have ever met.
I did not get almost any sleep during that night. People were shouting, singing and listening to loud music throughout the whole place, throughout the whole night. They smoked everywhere they could, and a lot of them were obviously drunk or stoned or whatever. These people even knocked at my own door two times. They did not seem to speak any English and they did not care about me and some other hotels asking them to be more quiet.
When I tried to call the hotel reception I found out the hotel does not have any staff at night - so the party went on.
In the morning, I asked the hotel staff to get my money back (I had to prepay that night, guess why). Of course, they refused to do so.
If you are interested in smoking, drinking, shouting and doing whatever else you always wanted to do with young Egyptian men, go there. If not, avoid this place by all means.

Room Tip: There is probably no quiet room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WonderfulWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although the Atlas apartments offers amenities catering to extended stays, I wouldn’t want to spend more than a night there. The reception was friendly and had good information about getting to the airport, but it was a little strange that they require full payment upfront when checking in. Their luggage storage is completely nonsecure, it's in an open room where staff/friends of staff hang out and watch tv. The neighborhood is primarily Arab and the hotel seems to cater primarily to this clientelle. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station so you have to walk through the red light district and a sketchy part of town to get there. While the rooms were clean, they showed a lot of wear and tear. For instance, the shower fixtures were nearly falling out of the wall and the kitchen cabinets were badly stained as if entire families were living there for long periods of time. There was no soap or sponge provided for washing any dishes. For two people, we really didn’t need 4 beds and a kitchen. The hotel offers a lot of space for the money. But I think I would have paid more for something much smaller in a more tourist-friendly neighborhood if I could go back and do it over. Although we didn’t spend much time in the room, the hotel didn’t add anything positive to our experience while vacationing in Munich. I chose it for it’s low price and proximity to the central train station, but the public transportation is so good in Munich that any other neighborhood would have been just as convenient.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel near another transit stop. It's not that necessary to be near the central s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarafdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here for two nights for the Munich marathon. We had a large room, it was clean and but more like a students studio flat with dodgy decor. Yes there is a small kitchen area, but I wouldn't rely on using it to cook.

Breakfast was ok, it's in the hotel across the road. The hotel is a short walk from the main train station and about 10 mins from the city centre.

Overall it's not a bad place but nothing fancy. Some friends stayed in a nearby hostel for a third of the price, by all accounts just as good and there was a bar there open to 3am, no such thing at the Atlas.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmy123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#350 of 385 in Munich
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#352 of 385 in Munich
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#278 of 385 in Munich
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adagio Muenchen City
Adagio Muenchen City
#72 of 385 in Munich
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#267 of 385 in Munich
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel S16
Hotel S16
#349 of 385 in Munich
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Residence

Address: Schwanthalerstr. 63, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $68 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlas Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Atlas Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing