We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something you might consider if for a night or two, but depens what you need” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlas Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Residence
Ranked #373 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Switzerland
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Something you might consider if for a night or two, but depens what you need”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are travelling to Munich for a couple of days, do not plan to spend much time in your room, and prefer to spend money on things other than accommodation, it is not a such bad option. Location is very good - close to the heart of the city (would not say about the neighbourhood - which is similar to areas around main train stations in many European cities, but in Munich the area near the station appears pretty safe, even late at night). Rooms are of decent size and acceptably clean. A bit noisy. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception desk. Make sure you bring your soap and shampoo – there was none in the bathroom, which was rather shocking. Note that the hotel appears to be oriented towards the needs of guests from the Middle East (e.g. line up of channels on satellite TV). But Munich has so much to offer to a visitor, so watching TV is perhaps the last thing to think about. The bottom line – it is a reasobably priced, well located 2 star hotel .
If you travel in a car, ask the reception desk with which underground parking the hotel has a special arrangement. These is one 5 minutes walking distance and the hotel gives you a good discount - you pay 10 Euros a day, instead of normal 25. But make sure you get to the right parting as there are several nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    15
    15
    51
See reviews for
14
20
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unless you

1)Have not done your research
2)Read reviews from only one source (booking.com)
3)Cannot live too far away from the train station
4)Living on a budget, attracted the deals from booking.com

then do not stay in this hotel. I have no qualms with living beside a noisy road, or living with Arab tourists, but other issues like broken bathroom tiles, a strange smell (medicated oil?) loose parquet floors really take the cake of being one of Munich's worst hotels. Basic amenities like a hot water boiler, English channels and breakfast are not available. Oh yes did I mention that there was NO TELEPHONE in my room?

Room Tip: Get another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Dear all,

after arriving at the hotel (which happened only to be because I was looking for Pension Tillo that was at that place before), I read the previous postings - and I thought that some of the posters might be racists because they said there were a lot of Arab guests etc. I like Islamic culture a lot, I have been to many Arabic countries, and I met some very nice and cultivated people. So I decided to stay at Atlas Residence. That was a big mistake.
In fact, I found out the posts were right. They were not complaining about Arabs but about this horrible hotel inhabited by the noisiest guests I have ever met.
I did not get almost any sleep during that night. People were shouting, singing and listening to loud music throughout the whole place, throughout the whole night. They smoked everywhere they could, and a lot of them were obviously drunk or stoned or whatever. These people even knocked at my own door two times. They did not seem to speak any English and they did not care about me and some other hotels asking them to be more quiet.
When I tried to call the hotel reception I found out the hotel does not have any staff at night - so the party went on.
In the morning, I asked the hotel staff to get my money back (I had to prepay that night, guess why). Of course, they refused to do so.
If you are interested in smoking, drinking, shouting and doing whatever else you always wanted to do with young Egyptian men, go there. If not, avoid this place by all means.

Room Tip: There is probably no quiet room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WonderfulWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although the Atlas apartments offers amenities catering to extended stays, I wouldn’t want to spend more than a night there. The reception was friendly and had good information about getting to the airport, but it was a little strange that they require full payment upfront when checking in. Their luggage storage is completely nonsecure, it's in an open room where staff/friends of staff hang out and watch tv. The neighborhood is primarily Arab and the hotel seems to cater primarily to this clientelle. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station so you have to walk through the red light district and a sketchy part of town to get there. While the rooms were clean, they showed a lot of wear and tear. For instance, the shower fixtures were nearly falling out of the wall and the kitchen cabinets were badly stained as if entire families were living there for long periods of time. There was no soap or sponge provided for washing any dishes. For two people, we really didn’t need 4 beds and a kitchen. The hotel offers a lot of space for the money. But I think I would have paid more for something much smaller in a more tourist-friendly neighborhood if I could go back and do it over. Although we didn’t spend much time in the room, the hotel didn’t add anything positive to our experience while vacationing in Munich. I chose it for it’s low price and proximity to the central train station, but the public transportation is so good in Munich that any other neighborhood would have been just as convenient.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel near another transit stop. It's not that necessary to be near the central s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarafdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed here for two nights for the Munich marathon. We had a large room, it was clean and but more like a students studio flat with dodgy decor. Yes there is a small kitchen area, but I wouldn't rely on using it to cook.

Breakfast was ok, it's in the hotel across the road. The hotel is a short walk from the main train station and about 10 mins from the city centre.

Overall it's not a bad place but nothing fancy. Some friends stayed in a nearby hostel for a third of the price, by all accounts just as good and there was a bar there open to 3am, no such thing at the Atlas.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked an apartment in the hotel so that we could cook for ourselves and unwind after a very long flight. The apartment was nothing like the photographs as shown on bookings.com. It was small, dirty and totally lacking in useable cooking equipment, utensils, crockery, glasses etc. When we complained they did offer us a larger apartment but it was in the same state!!

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellers9351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

I needed a hotel for the night in Munich as we were to pick up a car here for a trip across Europe. I needed something close to the Hauptbahnhof (Main) since we were arriving by train and I needed to pick up the car at the airport. Plus, we were arriving in Munich on the last day of Oktoberfest. Because of that, rooms were slim pickins in Munchen.

The location is close to the train station, if you exit the station on the proper side (Bayerstrasse side). A short 2 or 3 block walk and you're there. The lobby is small and there is really no amenities like a bar or lounge. Reception was friendly and spoke English. I don't believe the hotel offers parking so you'll most likely have to park in a public garage, but there are a few close by.

The hotel is on a busy street corner, so sleeping with the windows open really isnt a possibility. The windows work well when close though to keep the noise out. We had to suffer a bit since the previous occupant of our room was a smoker, so we chose to keep them open. The rooms themselves are spacious and decent, in a minimalist sort of way. Everything seemed new, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a highlight, with a nice stand up shower-tub, and other modern touches.

There are many little coffee shops and restuarants in this area, so finding food shouldnt be an issue. Be aware that its more of a fast foody area, so to find a decent restaurant with a proper atmosphere you may have to wander into town. A walk down to the Marienplatz area will take you maybe 20 minutes.

All in all we found the hotel worth the price, and a pleasant enough place to stay for a night. If you're looking for atmosphere or romance, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlas City Hotel
Atlas City Hotel
#345 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#339 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adagio Muenchen City
Adagio Muenchen City
#76 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#249 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#231 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#354 of 381 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Residence

Property: Hotel Atlas Residence
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 63, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlas Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlas Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing