We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days well-spent”

The Thirsty Historian
Ranked #2 of 29 Food & Drink in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Thirsty Historian strives to provide the highest quality customized, private tours that combine the best cultural experiences possible in Munich and Bavaria with your requests and interests in mind. We take our guests to Munich's best locations and some of the world's oldest breweries, beer halls and biergartens producing what we think are some of the best beers, cuisine, and charming hospitality one can find. Come join us For the Intro To Munich, The Munich Experience or The Ultimate Munich Expereince for a real, genuine feel of Bavaria's atmosphere (gemutlichkeit)! We offer historical tours of Munich City, 3rd Reich History, Dachau Memorial, Viktualienmarkt, and multiple Beer Tours and Excursions in Munich and Bavaria.
Reviewed June 8, 2016

My husband and I spent three days with Levi on tours in Bavaria. Each excursion was tailored perfectly to the subject at hand, varying from a tour of Dachau that was both informative and sobering to days spent hiking, stopping for well-timed beer breaks, and playing mini golf in the shadows of Neuschwanstein Castle. The continuous string of perfect TA reviews caught my eye when I was planning the Munich part of our vacation. After our time with The Thirsty Historian, I understand completely. Levi's passion for his job, knowledge of German history and culture, easygoing personality and kindness deserves each glowing post-tour review. Thank you for a great trip, see you next year!

Date of experience: June 2016
3  Thank Bethanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brewery tour"
in 15 reviews
"private tour"
in 16 reviews
"customized tour"
in 3 reviews
"walking encyclopedia"
in 2 reviews
"third reich"
in 12 reviews
"beer brewing"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"beer halls"
in 9 reviews
"munich experience"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 12 reviews
"visiting germany"
in 2 reviews
"german history"
in 6 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"quick tour"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"group tour"
in 2 reviews
"great beer"
in 5 reviews
Filter

79 - 83 of 178 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

We loved every minute of our time with Levi! We cannot say enough amazing things about him! He was extremely personable, knowledgeable, organized, and he was able to translate everything for us clearly not leaving out any details. Levi's plans for us always worked out without a hitch regardless of the unpredictable weather we were given...it was beautiful, rain or shine. He was a lot of fun!! He showed us the rich culture, amazing food and of course...the mind-blowingly-delicious BEER that we could not seem to get enough of!! His level of history knowledge also blew our minds and he showed us the significance of areas, buildings, etc. He made us feel very comfortable and made sure we were well cared for wherever he took us. We are sooo happy to have had the few private tours with Levi, our "Thirsty Historian" tour guide, because not only did it make our trip that much more epic...but now we have a new good friend in Munich! We will definitely be booking more tours with Levi and would highly recommend him to anyone wanting a more intimate private tour with a more unique German experience!

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Our tour guide was Levi. He is clearly passionate and extremely knowledgable about the history of Munich. We focussed on Hitler's birth, parents, his reasons for coming to Munich and the fascinating and frightening years of his reign. During the 3 1/2 hour walking tour, Levi took us to many buildings and plaques, historical venues and monuments which you wouldn't normally see on a regular tour. A definite must do if you are visiting Munich. Fantastic private tour and highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank vbaker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Levi gave us a great walking tour of the city of Munich. He showed us an extensive overview of the main sites in Munich, especially relating to its history and World War II. Then, we received a great tour of one of the famous breweries in Munich. We got a behind the scenes look at how the beer is made, and even received a variety of samples at the end of the tour. He also provided us with great ideas for thing to do in our last night in Munich. He was a great guide and I would recommend him anyone! Very knowledgable and relatable! So glad we found The Thirsty Historian!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Great tour by Sabri. Interesting, fun and easy-going guide. Would definitely recommend doing a tour with these guys while in Munich!

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Nijmegenjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Historian also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to The Thirsty Historian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing