We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Voyage”

The Thirsty Historian
Ranked #2 of 30 Food & Drink in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Thirsty Historian strives to provide the highest quality customized, private tours that combine the best cultural experiences possible in Munich and Bavaria with your requests and interests in mind. We take our guests to Munich's best locations and some of the world's oldest breweries, beer halls and biergartens producing what we think are some of the best beers, cuisine, and charming hospitality one can find. Come join us For the Intro To Munich, The Munich Experience or The Ultimate Munich Expereince for a real, genuine feel of Bavaria's atmosphere (gemutlichkeit)! We offer historical tours of Munich City, 3rd Reich History, Dachau Memorial, Viktualienmarkt, and multiple Beer Tours and Excursions in Munich and Bavaria.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

What can we say? After reading all of the glowing reviews, we thought for sure the averages were being messed with by shills or the too-easily pleased...I mean, this guy CAN'T be this skilled, his tours that great, right?

Color us embarrassed...We were wrong. Embarrassingly wrong.

Levi (The Thirsty Historian himself) did right by us, and more. We did 2 Day Tours (The Oldest Brewery In The World Tour and The Beer Hike) and we learned so much about the history, culture and beer of Bavaria that our brains felt as full as our stomachs were at the end of each day. And yet all in the mellow, Wisconsinian (is that a word? We're making it one for Levi) tones of our guide, so we didn't even realize we were being filled full of cool and useful facts.

Also, he listens, and acts on it to the benefit of his customers. When we mentioned our interest in Schnapps (not really expecting anything, just in conversation), he went out of his way to find a Distillery, and took us there! This was not a place we ever would have found, as it was German speaking only and really only did tastings one day a week at a certain time. Also only in German. And yet he got us there, got us tastings and translated along the way.

Levi, we raise a tiny Schnapps glass to you and your '+5 Tours Of Awesomeness'!

When we come back to Munich, we WILL be contacting you again!

Date of experience: April 2016
4  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brewery tour"
in 15 reviews
"private tour"
in 16 reviews
"customized tour"
in 3 reviews
"third reich"
in 12 reviews
"beer brewing"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"munich experience"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 12 reviews
"visiting germany"
in 2 reviews
"german history"
in 6 reviews
"quick tour"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"group tour"
in 2 reviews
"great beer"
in 5 reviews
"during oktoberfest"
in 3 reviews
"eagles nest"
in 2 reviews
"interesting information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

86 - 90 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2016

We spent 4 days with Levi in Munich and Bavaria and cannot wait to go back and do it again. We have been lucky enough to do some travelling in Europe and have had private tours in London, Venice, Florence, Siena and some other places. None of those tours come close to the experience we had with Levi. Other tours have a plan or an itinerary that you sign up for. So you end up visiting whatever it is the guide likes or is on the agenda. Levi listens and gets to know you and ends up taking you to just the right places for you and your travelling companions.

We spent Sunday wandering around Munich on our own and had a nice time. But we toured some of the same areas with Levi on Tuesday and couldn't believe the difference. It's Europe, so something amazing has happened on almost every street at one point in time and Levi knows all of it. What seems like a nice town becomes magical as Levi points out all the little details. Ask him to tell you about the gold bricks near the Odeonsplatz.

If you possibly can, book Levi or one of his guides for a multi-day trip in Bavaria. Munich is incredible but Bavaria is a wonder. We were able to see Salzburg, Hallstatt, and many other beautiful places in Bavaria, each of which took our breath away. How many times are you going to be in Bavaria? Make it an experience you will never forget by letting Levi be your guide.

Date of experience: March 2016
4  Thank ParisintheFall09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

A great tour by Levi for a group of 12 friends. Tour was personalised for our groups interests - a very interesting walking Third Reich tour around the city followed by a brewery visit and entry in to a local beer festival. Would definitely recommend for both big and small groups - Levi is an excellent guide and I'm sure he would create just the right tour for your needs! Very highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016

My husband and I toured the city with Levi on the day of our arrival in Munich and had a wonderful day. He was able to provide us with a great introduction so that we could find our way around during the rest of our trip, and we learned a ton from him along the way. We ended our tour with a private brewery tour and beer tasting with snacks, and that was the perfect way to cap our first day in Munich. Levi was super enthusiastic about the city and was a great source of information about its past and present, and he also gave us great recommendations for restaurants and beers to try. I definitely recommend him as a reliable, knowledgeable and fun tour guide.

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank travelgirlEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Me and a few of my friends were in Munich for Oktoberfest so we signed up for the Weihenstephan and Munich brewery tours and had an amazing time! We had both John and Levi for our tours and it was unlike any other tour I had been a part of before. They both had laid back personalities while also being informative. I learned so much about the history of Bavaria, its beer, and the city of Munich while also getting a good buzz and good food. Even after the Weihenstephan tour was over John took us to some of his favorite bars and restaurants for drinks. I can't recommend this tour enough to anyone visiting Munich!

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Historian also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to The Thirsty Historian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing