We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, just awesome!”

The Thirsty Historian
Ranked #2 of 30 Food & Drink in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Thirsty Historian strives to provide the highest quality customized, private tours that combine the best cultural experiences possible in Munich and Bavaria with your requests and interests in mind. We take our guests to Munich's best locations and some of the world's oldest breweries, beer halls and biergartens producing what we think are some of the best beers, cuisine, and charming hospitality one can find. Come join us For the Intro To Munich, The Munich Experience or The Ultimate Munich Expereince for a real, genuine feel of Bavaria's atmosphere (gemutlichkeit)! We offer historical tours of Munich City, 3rd Reich History, Dachau Memorial, Viktualienmarkt, and multiple Beer Tours and Excursions in Munich and Bavaria.
Reviewed September 13, 2015

I've been to Munich a couple of times, I know a little about the city, and definitely love the beer. But wanted to know more...

First off Levi and John are very knowledgeable, professional, and friendly guys. Booking the tours was super easy and communication before and after was great.

Took a city highlight and beer tour with Levi. This guy is like a walking encyclopedia, but way cooler to hang out with. His knowledge of Munich is amazing, had no idea there was so many historical events that happen in Munich. Then there was the beer...... soooo goood.

Took a Summer Beergardens and Breweries of Bavaria with John. From train to hotels, food and beer to sightseeing, everything was awesome. All i can say is, smoked beer......... whaaat..... AWESOME!

I hear they have Oktoberfest tours too, i might be heading back to Munich soon.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank CaptGoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brewery tour"
in 15 reviews
"private tour"
in 16 reviews
"customized tour"
in 3 reviews
"third reich"
in 12 reviews
"beer brewing"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 9 reviews
"munich experience"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 12 reviews
"visiting germany"
in 2 reviews
"german history"
in 6 reviews
"quick tour"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"group tour"
in 2 reviews
"great beer"
in 5 reviews
"during oktoberfest"
in 3 reviews
"eagles nest"
in 2 reviews
"interesting information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

108 - 112 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

Our tours with Levi were really what made our experience in Germany go above and beyond what we expected. We had the best time! Levi is not only incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, but also very fun to spend time with. Very personable, and it felt like hanging out with a friend you've known for years. But you're in Germany learning about beer and history, so what could be cooler than that?! Levi helped us get around the city and gave us a great tips for places to go for the most authentic German experience. It's perfectly customized to what you want to do and see, so it will easily take the prize for best tour experience hands down. I highly recommend contacting The Thirsty Historian to take your time in Germany to the next and best level!!

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Sydneyeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2015

Levi was awesome and the tour insightful and most of all, FUN! We learned a lot about the real birthplace of so many tasty brews and their processes. Levi also gave us hints as to where to travel on our next day and he was 100% right! Great tour guide & great guy overall -- hey, he's from Wisconsin, so he's got to be good!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank tommyDFTL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked 2 separate tours with The Thirsty Historian.....a tour of Weihenstephan and the Tegernsee hike. These two tours were the highlight of our trip and we can't decide which one was our favorite! Our guide was Levi and he was just a wealth of knowledge on both the history and culture.
For the Weihenstephan tour we walked around the town of Freising, visited a beautiful church and then headed to up Weihenstephan. Our tour was in the afternoon so we had time for beer and food before the tour. Our tour guide for the brewery was named Lucas. He is in a 5 year brewery/engineering program at the university and was close to graduating.
We have been on many brewery tours in the U.S. and don't think we will ever have (or had) a more comprehensive tour. Plus the tasting was so relaxed and such a good time!
The Tegernsee hike was so beautiful. The hike was approximately 1 hour uphill. At the top of the mountain was beautiful views and a beer garden! We then walked on a mostly flat path to a 2nd beer garden. The rest of the hike was downhill to Tegernsee lake were we were able to go for a refreshing swim. After the swim we grabbed dinner at another great beer garden/restaurant.
We enjoyed these tours so much we are seriously considering booking a trip next year to see what other excursions The Thirsty Historian will be offering.

Date of experience: August 2015
4  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2015

Just did a 16 day trip in Munich in conjunction with the Thirsty Historian and it was worth every dollar. Tall about the trip of a lifetime. Let me start of by saying they are not just a tour company. They are fixers. You know when Anthony Bourdain goes to visit different countries on his show and meets the local hosts aka “fixers” that’s what this trip felt like. They took care of us like none other. We toured every beer garden, every restaurant, and every sight worth seeing. We hired them to plan it all out for us and show us around. By the end of the trip we were experts at Munich. From riding the trains to where to have the best beer. They took us on the ICE (the really fast train) to some cool towns just outside of Munich. We had this smokey beer. Saw some amazing churches and castles. Did a bike ride around a lake and even got to jump in the water. It was not some lame tour guide again it was like having your own personal ‘fixer’. I even got to tap a real wooden keg and had some of the freshest beer ever. We were going places even the locals were ooo-ing and awwww-ing over. They also have very cool down to earth personalities which makes it seem like your just hanging out with old buddies vs a borig tour guide. Do yourself a favor and if your planning a trip to Munich, hire them. a

Date of experience: July 2015
3  Thank Miina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Historian also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to The Thirsty Historian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing