We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
Ranked #122 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were on a driving vacation of Germany, when we were looking for a place to stay near Munich. The location was very convenient to the train, so taking the train into Munich was a real pleasant trip. The hotel was tired, expensive, not all that clean, but it was quiet. The location is fairly remote, but the train service made up for the location, providing you were going into Munich. We found a great restaurant across the street from the train station that made our stay there a real adventure. The Poseidon Restaurant is Greek, seafood, it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We hope the facility is upgraded before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Philip B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    185
    103
    31
    12
See reviews for
190
69
23
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice cozy hotel , complimentary breakfast not a big range but nothing to complain about.
As it was very cold(snowing) , tea and coffee was avialable throughtout the day....very helpful staff. Only the bar / snack menu is very limited but they had catalogues of pizza shops etc that you could order from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Cavash R,

vielen Dank für Ihren positiven Kommentar und dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit gennomen haben, unser Haus zu bewerten!

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie auch zukünftig in unserem Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen.

Beste Grüße aus München
Ihr Team von Holiday Inn Express München Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here on the way to somewhere else. It isnt located near a lot of touristy places but it is right next to the autobahn so getting to and from the hotel is very easy if you are driving. We arrived late in the evening and the front desk person was helpful in getting us checked in and giving me information on where to park. The hotel has limited outside free parking and we weren't comfortable leaving the car outside on the street down the road from the hotel. We did park in the paid parking garage under the hotel for 6 euro a night.

The hotel is newer and everything in the room worked as it was supposed to. The room we were in was pretty small and if we would have needed to stay longer it would have been an issue but as it was, the four of us were fine with the double bed and the foldout sofa bed.

Breakfast was one of the high points of our stay. The food was fresh, hot and the food bar was continually refreshed. It was a pretty standard layout with soft boiled eggs, pastries, oranges, breads, sliced meats and cheeses, etc.

We would stay again if we are passing through but not if we're sightseeing in the area and without a car.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear J P

thank you very much for your very positiv review and for taking your time to let us know about!

We are highly pleased that you have enjoyed our breakfast so much. We always do our best to keep the qualtiy very high for our guests. Furthermore, our kitchen staff really loves their job, threfore fresh baked croissants and pain au chocolat taste even better.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again!

With all best wishes
Your team of Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,126 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this property while attending a conference at the Munich Messe. The price was quite reasonable which contributed to the decision. The check-in process was quite quick. The person who checked me in was very friendly and the staff was generally helpful throughout my stay. The room was quite spacious and the WiFi worked well. The morning breakfast was OK but was all cold food with limited choices. The checkout process was also reasonably efficient. The biggest drawback was the location. This is not a hotel at which you want to stay if you do not have a car available. The closest train station is a 20-minute walk through to the other side of Feldkirchen village. The Messe was a one-hour walk. There was a shuttle in the morning to the Messe but it was in high demand making a seat hard to procure. The shuttle also did not run on the same frequency as the schedule suggested. It was a van that was also a taxi and, it seemed as soon as there was a fare, they scrapped their shuttle schedule to deliver their fare. In the worst case, I waited more than 40 minutes for a shuttle when it was supposed to run every 20 minutes. There was also no shuttle in the afternoon and it was a 15 euro taxi ride back to the hotel. If you have a car, this hotel is a pretty good choice if you have business at the Messe. I would not stay here again, however, without a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank your very much for your feedback! It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Staff very frendly and helpful.

Unfortunately the experience you have made with our Partner-Taxi, which provide a shuttle bus to the Fair Trade, was not very positive for you. We assure you that they try their best to keep the same frequency as the schedule suggested, but sometimes it's just doesn't work because of traffic jam on the motorway.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards from Bavaria
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

During the international exhibition BAUMA I stayed some nights in the HIE Munich Messe. The hotel is located only 5 km from the "Messe" area, east of munich, at the exit of Autobahn A94, opposite the town Feldkirchen. You can hear the autobahn, although its not very noisy. In the near area you will find a IBIS hotel, a Mercedes Dealer and some private companies, so no infrastructure at all. The central public area of the hotel is the reception and the breakfast area. Breakfast is HIE standard, good quality, limited in variety. Although the hotel was fully booked every day the situation at breakfast was always unexcitedly. At the reception people with lots of different nationalities work, i missed a bit the feeling of beeing in Bavaria. By the way, the same staff "runs" the small bar next to reception. The rooms are quite small, functional, unemotional, bathroom small but with good shower + separate toilet.

The hotel offers lots of parking (garage + outside), at the same time you def. need a car to get there. About 2 km from the hotel in one direction is a new supermarket with a good bakery, in the other direction in Feldkirchen you will find more infrastructure such as petrol stations, public transport and restaurants.

Restaurant TIP: Gasthof Bauer in the center of Feldkirchen town offers bavarian style atmosphere, very good food and very friendly service.

All in all, the hotel is ok for a overnight stay, you wanna choose it for exhibition activities, if you have a car and/or if you wanna stay outside the city center with easy access to the Autobahn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
A bavarian "Gruess Gott" dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel during Germany's biggest Tradefair BAUMA
and your friendly review!
Yes, our "international staff" contains people from Mexico, Spain, Italy, Hungaria, Romania, Russia, Togo and Thuringia: if you welcome the worldwide guests for international tradefairs we are mostly able to communicate with our guests in their language... and our guests likes that very much! But we got 2 from Bavaria -

Hope to welcome you again,
Your team of
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itu, SP
Level Contributor
205 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went in april, 2013. Rooms are smaller than IBIS, no bar, lunch or dinner, only breakfast.
No transportations around. Must carry taxi driver mobile.
It is middle of nowhere. Aske in reception about dinner and got "try IBIS" nearby.
By the way, food on IBIS is worse than airplanes
No locker nor wardobre on rooms or minibar
At least clean but for exorbitants 300 Euros

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduba101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write an resonse on your stay
during the biggest tradefair of Munich (and 300€ was a very cheap rate) for that days Munich and surrounding area was fully booked. Of course outside fairs we are much lower.
Please allow me some feedback: rooms are slightly larger than on our neighbor IBIS and we have a bar at the Lobby, open from 18:00-24:00. There is a Bus transportation to Feldkirchen, station is 300m away and we offered a shuttle transfer to fairgrounds.
In Feldkirchen (2km) there are 10 several Restaurants, some of them we (and our guests, please see the other feedbacks from guests) may recomend, but if you ask for a possibility in closes walking distance - yes only the IBIS.
We are Express, if you want to have restaurant on property and a in minibar we may recomend our 4 Holiday Inn Hotels, they would fit your expectations -

But we would be also be happy to welcome you again
Your team of Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, it was a great value. Place was clean, decent breakfast. Staff was friendly. However, Internet cost is steep, no restaurants nearby, must have a car to get around. Parking was reasonable but the garage is kind of dark and spooky (but ok).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive reply for the main important things in a hotel!
A Garage never looks nice... but we will think about better light & if winter is now definitely gone we will clean it once again.
Typical for Express is no Restaurant on property, but we may offer several delivery services and our staff may help you to find one of the many different restaurants - try it at your next stay?
Would be happy to welcome you once again
With kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#178 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
7.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Munchen Schwabing, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich City West
7.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
4.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
Address: Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6 | Feldkirchen, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Alpine views and easy access to the Munich Trade Fair at the Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel.Our modern, 5-storey hotel is conveniently located in the district of Feldkirchen, 12km east of Munich. Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel is a 35-minute drive from Munich Airport, with easy access to the A99 and A94 motorways and free parking. Surf the web with free wireless Internet in your inviting Guest room and wake up to a complimentary breakfast in the sunny Great Room.Feel free to use the PCs in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 45 people in our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms. Exhibitions at the International Munich trade fair ground are 5 minutes drive from the hotel and you can be meeting clients in central Munich in just 15 minutes thanks to speedy S-Bahn trains from nearby Feldkirchen station.There's plenty to see in Munich, from the City Hall's Glockenspiel in grand Marienplatz square to the enticing delicatessen stalls in the covered market.You can browse newspapers and meet friends for a drink in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's laid-back Lobby bar. It's a short stroll to Feldkirchen's restaurants, from Bavarian beer gardens to Italian bistros. Our friendly Front Desk staffs are happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Express Munich
Holiday Inn Munich
Holiday Inn Feldkirchen
Feldkirchen Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing