We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg
Ranked #192 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed May 25, 2012

It's the typical case of "you get what you pay for", but I should add that the rooms and the hotel are very clean.
Location is good, as there's a U-Bahn station on the corner, as well as tram and bus.
A pretty nice beergarden on the corner and a grocery store next to it. Everything you need.
Wi-fi could be cheaper, and the computer completely locked at the reception was a bit much - just wanted to offload pics from the camera into a flash drive. Why would you charge for that???
Breakfast was very good, but expensive. If you offer cooking facilities in the room and you have a grocery store next to the hotel, your breakfast fees should be at least competitive.
Two ladies at the front desk. One was very nice, the other was a Klingon. If you work at the front desk, JUST TRY TO BE NICE. It's part of your job.
We saw a pretty nasty spider on the hallway wall, in our last day. Pretty weird. Nothing the hotel could do I guess, but just had to mention it. Killed it myself.

Room Tip: if you want free wi-fi, get the luxury apartments. That's the only advantage, as they are equiva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Nymphenburg! We are happy to hear that you liked the location and the cleanness of the hotel. Should you choose to visit us again, we recommend our superior rooms - in these rooms you do not only have free Wi-Fi, you can also enjoy our late check-out.
We would be delighted to welcome you again in one of our hotels!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 178 reviews

An EasyToBook.com traveler
San Francisco, California
11
Reviewed May 20, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is not bad at all for a cheap trip. Its a bit scruffy but the hotel is clean. Also has a good breakfast area. We had cigarette burns in the carpet of our room but it was still very clean. The location is quite good. Has a good pub/beerhouse next door, a few shops and the hospital. The underground is just a walk away to get you to Munich. Overall a good place as a base if you just want a place to sleep and have breakfast.

We actually travelled back in 2009.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dom_b84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My mother & I were quite pleased with the Ghotel. We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is not in the city center, yet, it is in a quiet neighborhood with the U-Bahn (or S-Bahn?) a minute walk away. It's less than a 10 minute ride to the main train station. Our hotel room was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. There are a few restaurants in the area, including a McDonalds, numerous bakeries, and a wonderful traditional German restaurant on the corner of the hotel's street.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katelynclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed at the GHotel whilst in Munich for the Oktoberfest. Whilst slightly out of the city centre the hotel is 2 mins walk from the nearest underground station which is 3 stops (about 7 minutes) from the Cenral Station and 4 stops 10 mins from the town centre (Marienplatz). From landing at Munich airport you can be at the hotel within approx 1hr and a cost of less than 20 euros (for upto 5 people). The hotel is spotless, appears very recently refurbished and offers great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMrLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My partner and me stayed there for 3 nights this past weekend and I must say that I was highly impressed in all the aspects.

The check-in process was very fast and hassle free, the staff very attentive and helpful at all times. They were there when we needed them. Check out was as fast.

The room had a nice size and the kitchen facilities were great, nothing was missing. Even has a microwave, minibar and hot plates/rings. We pretty much enjoyed it because we could make our own coffee late at night when tired and not willing to go anywhere and stored our ham, cheese, yoghourts and "Griesse puddings" for those late snacks. There are 3 supermarkets within 2 blocks (Tegelmann? or something like that, Edeka and the one from Galerias Kaufhof) so you can get everything you need. There's also a typical restaurant in the corner and bakeries and similar places all around. Oh and there's a very nice ice cream & coffee shop, Sarcletti (you'll advise it from the Rotkreuzplatz corner anyway). Try the tartufo flavour!! :D

Back to the hotel description and the room (sorry, it's all very fresh so it's like a timeline), it was super clean. Had TV, radio; hair dryer, no problems with hot water, etc. Everything you can expect to work, it worked.
The bathroom was simple, clean and efficient; it was nice that the shower had doors, in the contrary to most "modern" hotels with open design where water splashes everywhere and the floor is a mess afterwards. A very simple yet very important thing to me.
The room wasn't noisy at all; didn't seem to be many guests in our part of the floor (the 2nd), and the only casual noise that could be heard was the tram as our room was facing the street, but it was very soft and short to be a problem.

We didn't use the gym; walking around Munich was enough work out for us :) The breakfast was really nice, it's buffet with a wide variety of cold cuts, breads, marmalades, boiled eggs, etc. We particularly enjoyed it, it was quite complete and tasty.

The location is excellent: the area is nice, quiet and local-looking; only 3 stops to Hauptbahnhof (U1) and the station is just around the corner.
You can also take the tram but takes about 15 minutes (or a bit more), anyway it's good idea if you want to see the surroundings. It's also a short trip to Nymphemburg castle from the hotel (tram 16 to Romanplatz then take the 17 to Amalienburg, just one stop).

The overall experience was very enjoyable, and it has a lot to do with the quality staying at this hotel and the closeness yet quietness from everywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jet242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel with a friend; we were in Munich for the Christmas Markets.
When you've found the right exit from the nearest U Bahn (look for the exit which says "B... Burger" or something similar!) it's a 2 min stroll to the hotel. Within 2 mins walk of the hotel there are a couple of supermarkets, a MacDonalds, a lovely Bavarian Tavern, a chemist, a cafe, a couple of bars... etc...
It is SO quick and easy to get about from this location, and such a bargain compared with properties nearer MarienPlatz. We found that you could walk from the central station to Marienplatz in about 10 minutes and you see more by walking some of the way.

The hotel was clean and once the window was shut it was quiet enough to sleep! We couldn't get any English channels on the TV but that didn't bother us as we were so tired each night from walking about!
The staff were varied in their level of customer service, but all were knowledgeable and spoke perfect English.

The kitchenette is a real bonus and saved us a lot of money as Munich is a fairly expensive tourist city - we had breakfast and late night snacks in our room quite happily.

The cinema is only two stops away and shows films in English without subtitles.

Tip: As Munich is a Catholic city, all the shops are closed on a Sunday.

We would highly recommend a tour of the city as you learn so much and it really helps you find your way around for the rest of your stay - we took a 3 hour walking tour.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.5 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
5.8 mi away
BM Bavaria Motel Munchen-Freiham
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nymphenburg
Hotel Nymphenburg
#201 of 389 in Munich
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen am Olympiapark
2.2 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg

Address: Leonrodstr. 11, 80634 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $75 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel Living Munchen Nymphenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing