We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Hotel la maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel la maison
Ranked #258 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Fantastic people - friendly, great service! Rooms cozy, fun and fashionable. Lobby a great place to gather - love the decour. Wonderful location as well. Perfect for business or leisure stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromoregon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
7
41
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I was extremely disappointed. The breakfasts were simply abysmal; you had to pay extra for them 14 or so euros and the content was minimal. No croissants, no yoghurt, scrambled egg that looked dried out and a toaster not plugged in for you to work yourself. No condiments and no spoons.

I arrived to discover the restaurant was closed due to refurbishment; annoying as I fancied just heading downstairs a few times during my trip but was forced to go out. The atmosphere in the bar was dead, nobody there for the entire four nights of my stay.

The purple and silver decor was naff as well. Best things about it were the friendly reception staff and the location. Luckily there were lots of nice restaurants, pubs, and cafe's near by. Onto the room, there was a distinct shortage of nice products, just some blue gunk that doubled up as shower gel and hand gel. Ps the air con in the room didn't work either! On the plus side, the room was extremely quiet and great for a good nights sleep! Overall I felt extremely cheated by the promise of this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShanksPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
141 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The good:
- good location on a quiet residential street, but quite close to lots of restaurants and cafes
- very friendly service
- clean rooms and comfy beds
- nicely decorated lobby and rooms
The bad:
- the hot water was not working on our second evening and still had not been fixed by the time we checked out the next morning
- It was quite warm and stuffy in our room upon check in, but we were quite pleased to find a small standing air conditioning unit in the corner of our room. We turned it on, confirmed that it was putting out cold air, and then left for dinner. When we returned to our room several hours later, we were surprised to find that it was still very warm and stuffy. Upon investigation we found that, while the unit was putting out cold air from the front, it was also putting out hot air from a hose in the back. And there was no ducts or holes in the wall to allow the hot air out, so it was just being circulated back into the room. We had a room on the back side of the hotel which didn't have any window which we could crack open to let the hose out, instead our only option was to open the door to the balcony, which of course didn't really help the whole room cooling process.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We flew in after a nightmare flight, losing luggage to be greeted by the most amazing hospitality and kindness. I lost my suit jacket on the flight and upon one of the staff members hearing this he gave me his brand new jacket off his back for an important meeting. They have gone above and beyond expectation and we are very grateful. add to this some really progressive decor and immaculate rooms. The whole whole experience couldnt have been better.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights at the end of our honeymoon in April 2008. We found the hotel to be tastefully decorated, up to date and very clean with helpful staff. It was very quiet at this time of year - that is until a private party was held in the foyer on our first evening. We had to walk through this party to get to and from our room, which made us feel slightly uncomfortable seeing as we weren't invited or dressed appropriately! We were able to borrow (free) dvds from the front desk to watch in our room. The selection was small and rather dated, but a nice idea.

Our room was an ok size for two and the bed was particularly comfortable - a big plus. There was clear glass between the bed area and the bathroom - straight through to the toilet - which was a little off- putting, but thankfully there was a black blind we could wind down to save our blushes. On the bedroom side, however. If you're sat on the toilet and your partner pulls up the blind, there's not much you can do about it. How I laughed when this happened to me (hmm). Our bathroom was mainly black with underfloor heating and a large shower. Black was nice, but it showed up the splash marks.

Breakfast was brought to our room; we had a choice between eating in our room or in the dining area downstairs. See the photo - breakfast was absolutely first class. A major disappointment, though, that it turned up AN HOUR after we'd asked for it the morning before. As we'd booked a tour and needed to leave by a certain time, we were unable to eat much of this feast and what we did eat we had to stuff down at such a pace that we really didn't enjoy it as we should. Still, we took some with us for lunch!

We may well stay here in the future and would recommend to certain others, but with so much choice in Munich it's more likely we will try elsewhere next time.

  • Liked — Bathroom and decor
  • Disliked — Late breakfast and party downstairs!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groggyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
286 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

A co-worker recommended the Hotel La Maison to me because I told her I wanted a place that was not touristy and more quiet. Well this is the perfect spot. It is in the University area of Schwabing but very central and convenient. The streets surrounding the hotel are charming. Plenty of places to eat and shop.

The hotel was not busy when I was there so it seemed extra quiet. The front desk manager was very helpful. he knew everything there was to know and was very polite and friendly.

My room was a reasonable size for one person. The bed was very comfortable. The place is minimalist but chic. My room had a great little balcony overlooking a park. a treat for me.

The breakfast is top notch. You can't ask for better.

So if you want to stay somewhere clean, quiet and upscale, this is the place in Munich. I found the place completely relaxing.

  • Liked — the quality of everything.
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wabitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Stayed there one night on a business trip. From the lobby to the rooms, everything has style and class. Especially nice: the wooden floor in the bedroom and the floor heater in the bathroom. My room in the 3rd floor was very quiet (on the backside of the hotel) with a small balcony. The room itself is not very spacious but with the modern furniture it was not too small. If you have lots of luggage, you might have a storage problem. Staff was extremely nice, very helpful and charming. And definite plus: the free wireless internet access!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dk7402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Occam
#339 of 383 in Munich
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#210 of 383 in Munich
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biederstein
Hotel Biederstein
#217 of 383 in Munich
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.4 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#204 of 383 in Munich
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la maison

Property: Hotel la maison
Address: Occamstr. 24, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la maison 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel la maison was made for individualists and cosmopolitans. It is situated in the trendy district of Schwabing, close to the beautiful English Garden, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. Come and get carried away with Munich's impressive architecture. With the inspiring cultural activities. The vitality of the people. The good food. We are passionate hosts and ambassadors of an exciting cosmopolitan city. We want you to get to know the most fascinating sides of Munich. Discover quaint beer gardens and fine dining. Small markets and dazzling shopping malls. Relaxation and adventure. Experience Munich's rich tradition and the pulse of a modern metropolis. Bienvenue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, HRS, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel la maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing