We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Goethe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
Ranked #286 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is a short walk from the Hauptbanhoff and city tram and subway in Munich and moderate walk to the Altstadt. The appearance was a major detraction from this hotel. We arrived to scaffolding and construction in both the front and courtyard of the hotel. Our only window facing the front street was covered with a tarp. We requested a different room due to poor ventilation and smell of cigarette smoke from people sitting nearby on the street. A staff members was short with us and we were told to return and ask during a different shift. The bathroom and bedroom were adequate size. The closet door and desk drawer were broken and the bed, while pushed together to form a double bed, spread apart into twin beds easily. The bed was not comfortable, hard with heavy blankets. There was a computer in the room, which we appreciated. The room had a flat screen TV, although, we didn't watch much TV - the quality appeared good. Breakfast was included with the price of the room and was good, typical with rolls, cheese, meat, eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, and a few other options. There appear to be many other hotel options on quieter streets in this area of town or even a little further west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    66
    26
    23
See reviews for
50
33
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel few times I stayed for our businnes summit during the years every year few time.
Super Locations ,Friendship staff ,excelent service..For every point you can walk , Or if you have short time for hurry you can ask a cab.. so quicly..Some time the doesnot ask anything about your extra order tea or coffe e.t.c...After when you are return just they tell you as remained...that
is the hospitality as Turkish..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIZILARMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros: Great location. Friendly staff that understands english. Free WiFi. Clean room. Good value. Great breakfast
Cons: Lots of outside noises. No air condition in room, very very hot during summer nights. No elevator.

We stayed in the first floor based on previous reviews. For next time I personally would prefer one of the upper floors even tho there is no elevator. I usually can sleep anywhere, but here the outside road noises and random people yelling woke us up every hour on both nights during our stay.
Overall I liked this hotel. Even after not sleeping that well the good basic breakfast covered all nightly problems we had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night without friends. Room ok and comfortable overall. However, the room was quite hot at night and the shower door was broken, although this was not a major problem.the nearby construction works did not help but again, weren't too bad. The breakfast was good and the stay was decent in terms of value for money. There was also no lift so walking up the stairs got quite tiring. Overall, it was ok but would choose somewhere else for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for staying, staff unfriendly, do not speak english, although it is near the central station, topless bar and sexy land are near by, no pork seved for breakfast, Tv only german channels, internet not working most of the times and if it did work very slow without a microphone to be able to listen if you want to watch your favourite programme, no elevater make it difficult to climb the stairs and the staff did not offer to help with taking the luggege upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is a relatively short walk (two blocks) from the central train station down Goethe street, which isn’t as inundated with sex shops, etc., as some of the other streets in the area.

To make things short, I can’t really recommend the hotel, for a couple of reasons:

1) the toilet smelled - well, unclean - for my entire stay - as if it hadn’t been cleaned for a while.

2) the shower was annoying - the shower head didn’t fit properly into the holder (too loose), causing it to spray anywhere but where it was supposed to spray.

3) the heat was turned off pretty early in the evening (at least when I got in on the second day at around 10PM, it was already off). The heater in the bathroom didn’t seem to work at all.

4) there was a continuous swell of cold air “falling” from the window. Since the bed was right against the window, I needed two blankets to get halfway comfortable at night.

5) there is no elevator…

6) the fire escape stairs are fitted to rear windows in the stairway. While this is in general quite ok, here it isn’t, as the windows are more than 1m off the floor! I.e.: older folks probably would have serious difficulties getting up the window sill to get out in case of a fire, and children wouldn’t be able to open the window at all (see picture)

7) the lady at reception publicly bawled out a cleaning lady for doing a bad job cleaning the rooms (see point 1 above?) - since reception and the breakfast room are one big area, everyone in the breakfast room was party to this.

8) the hairdryer was “rigged” by running two copper wires (insulated, mind you) from the nearest outlet (see picture), which means: no connection to earth and subsequently no protection from electric shock whatsoever, should the hair dryer fail or get wet!

The hotel is run by a Turkish family, and breakfast is very much like it is in smaller hotels in Istanbul (which I thoroughly enjoy) - the only highlight in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDBGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Travelled to Munich for Oktoberfest with my friends. Considering the price I've no complaints at all. Comfortable beds, clean room, decent shower. Friendly staff and buffet breakfast was good too. As mentioned on previous reviews there is no elevator, but the guy on front desk took my luggage to my room.
A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozyinBolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#322 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#243 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#153 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atrium Hotel
#142 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#143 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Property: Goethe Hotel
Address: Goethestr. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goethe Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing