We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Goethe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
Ranked #286 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location near the Hauptbahnhof and is also close to the central attractions and Oktoberfest. It is very Turkish in character and decor. The staff are friendly and the breafast is continental with a limited hot selection. The rooms are well sized and clean - The only draw-back is no lift

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donjmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    66
    26
    23
See reviews for
50
33
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
285 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Reading the reviews about Hotel Goethe I have to say that you get what you pay for, and that it wasn't all that bad at all. We stayed in Munich two Saturday evenings, the first in the Old town which of course was very nice and central, the other at Hotel Goethe. We had to be at the train station at 7 am so we wanted something close and not too expensive. We paid around 80 euro for two people including breakfast, which is a good price in Munich (I believe). First of all, yes there's no elevator and we were on the fourth floor. If you can't handle carrying your luggage maybe you should pack less :-) OK, it was heavy walking up but you survive. The room itself was small, towards the backyard (thanks!) and a bit funny, with an old computer screen, keyboard and hard disk drive on the room??? One pair of slippers in a double room?? Never mind, we weren't there to be in the room, except for sleeping. When we arrived we also realised it was a Turkish hotel, with a lot of nice Turkish carpets on the floors in the reception, a lot of pictures of Turkish men etc on the walls etc. Fair enough, not what you expect from the name Goether but we weren't bothered, but curious to experience something new.

One funny thing though - but maybe not so strange considering the kind of neighbourhood with sex shops, near the main train station, etc etc - next morning at 6.15 when we walked down the stairs with our luggage for breakfast and leaving, we had to walk OVER two sleeping (western) men in their late twenties or so. Too drunk to find their room during the night we guessed. When we talked to the night portier he said he had two keys for the second floor that weren't picked up during the night. Maybe he should have taken a walk around the whole staircase at least once every night? For all kind of security reasons? He was very nice, however, and busy fixing the breakfast. And this was the HIGHLIGHT - wow, it was a fantastic breakfast! It was like a true smorgasbord, and my only regret is that since we were flying home that same morning, we had only ten minutes for breakfast ....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a room with two single beds and a daybed. Even though the hotel was quaint and the staff friendly, we found bed bugs in the daybed after the first night which should have been obvious to the cleaning staff as there was one squished on the wall and were visible under the pillow. They were very accommodating to move us to a different room but after thoroughly investigating the day bed in the new room found larvae and bugs between the mattresses of the daybed in the new room as well. Hopefully they will address the problem with a professional exterminator but I would not take the chance and ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New Leipzig, North Dakota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Terrible experience at this Hotel. Both nights we were there, someone was speaking Turkish very loudly in courtyard behind Hotel and later could hear them inside. Second night only got 2 hours of sleep. Breakfast served was Fair - had an eggshell in my eggs and lost my appetite. Would not recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Munich. From the USA

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone. I was very disatisfied and angry for having to pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in a triple room. Was generally quite disappointed with the hotel. Location is 5 mins from the train station so its easy to find but is surrounded by betting shops, late night cafes and sex shops which always seems to have groups of men outside. Didn't concern me as we were a group of 3 men staying but would not recommend for single women and groups of women as it could be quite intimidating. Having said this a lot of the hotels in Munich seem to be situated here.

No lifts in the hotel so be prepared for lots of trips up and down stairs. Room was poor, handles on bathroom door was loose which led to all 3 of us getting locked in at some point during our stay. Also shower terrible. Had no water at all in sink, shower or toilet for 24 hours then when it did come back on was cold for 2 days before we finally had some warm water the day before we left.

Redeeming feature was the breakfast. Very good continental breakfast with good selection. Overall I'm sure there are better places in Munich to stay for the same budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murf139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Location is good with respect to being quite near the central train station. However, quite near the hotel on the street was a topless bar, a place called like erotic something, and Sexyland. There also was a some sorta of betting place down the street. So I wasn't pleased with the location. I also didn't like with the hotel itself. It terms of cleanliness it was fine. But the bed was truly the hardest mattress I have ever slept on. Also the hotel walls are thin so it is not a quiet place to stay for rest. The hotel also has a staircase only so it is not luggage friendly. It seemed to me that all rooms required going up a set of stairs. Though I was only there for 1 night so I didn't orientate myself to the hotel itself. Maybe there are ground floor available.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee19California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Spent one night in Munich for the Champions league final. The hotel was friendly and helpful. The rooms basic but clean. The hotel owners were brilliant when we found we couldn't get to the ground on time. They pulled out all the stops and got us a lift. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamsgateOnions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#322 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#244 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#155 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atrium Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atrium Hotel
#136 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#142 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Property: Goethe Hotel
Address: Goethestr. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goethe Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing