We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, fair prices”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #229 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good hotel, rooms are renovated, clean and nice. Comfortable underground parking (paid separately €5/day). Hotel is far from downtown, but near Großhadern metro station (150m).
Basic services, very friendly personnel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinjaKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I set my expectations very low prior to the stay but I have to say it was somewhat better than I thought.

The location was out of town, some 20-3min metro ride away from the centre. The good thing is its a stone throw away from U-Bahn station.

The reception is adjoining the breakfast hall. Room is very basic and almost no frill. Bed quality is very poor. There is TV but no international channel. There were food debris on the sofa in my room. There is no air conditioning but room temperature still comfortable. The wall is extremely thin. The hotel accepts group of 6 in a room, which definitely and absolutely guarantee noise. Overall I wasn't able to have an uninterrupted night sleep. It did not serve the basic need of a hotel, to me.

Breakfast is however reasonable. The coffee and crossaint are nice, to say the least.

There is a restaurant sushi wok next to the hotel. Expect extremely unacceptably salty food and rude services if one decided to dine.

There is a petrol station convinient store near by. Stuff are highly over priced. Te supermarket near by - Rewe, is much more reasonable

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryMJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place may not have the best reviews but during Oktoberfest it does the job...it's a perfectly neat, clean, very well located and comfortable hotel..I can only recommend it for the time I was there and it does the job for sure...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Grover000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Due to a lack of hotels I had to stay at this hotel rather than my regular which is just around the courier which I won't mention for the fairness of the hotel. This is why I write stay here if you have to our if the price is absolutely unbeatable.

The hotel itself is clean with some what modern furniture. The front desk staff are friendly and bilingual. The rooms are also spacious. Whatever you read about the dogs being bad, unless you have some bacon in your pocket I wouldn't worry at all...they seemed completely unphased whenever I saw them. They were both more interested in birds or catching some zzzz's than to bother anyone.

What this hotel truly lacks is a slap in the face with a taste of 2012 standard hotel amenities.....ie a modern room wifi system. The wifi is so poor the only place decent enough to get reception is the lobby. Which is where I'm writing this room now..on a table ready for the breakfast buffet....no comfortable chairs to be found. This is unacceptable in today's hotel standard. I nor anyother peson do not want to sit in the breakfast room to write, watch or listen to our electronic business or personal electronic materials.

The rooms have no phone, and the walls are paper thin, so pack some ear plugs just in case your neighbor decides to have a late night Skype phone call until 1 am....

4/10....I give it 4 for cleanliness, front desk service, location, room condition. Get wifi and this would go to a 6 or 7.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank TheSudburian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is situated very close to one of Munich's hospitals and has direct access to the Munich underground (2min walk). The rooms are basic and clean, breakfast buffet is adequate. However, there are some issues, my room for example only had half a curtain (the other half appeared to be missing). Not a big deal, but not exactly first class either. There was also lots of soap and shower gel provided, but they seemed to have forgotten about the shampoo (this was the case in my colleagues' rooms as well, so not just a one-off). In the back there's a small park, which is nice during the day but because youths hung out there in the evening / night it was really annoying and a noise problem when we were there!
Reception is only open until 10pm, so if you are planning to arrive later make sure you let them know and also make sure you call if there is any delay, otherwise the receptionist is gone and you have to wait for them to come back after phoning the emergency phone number.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The main problem with this hotel are two dogs, most probably pets of whomever owns this place, a lazy and grumpy looking english bulldog and a quite large an intimidating boxer. The pair has a habbit of lingering around reception area and breakfast room. Although they do look quite mean they appear to be rather friendly. If you don't mind being sniffed by a large strange dog while you ask for information from the receptionist this shouldn't be a problem.

Rooms are a bit spartan, with just the basic IKEA furniture. They are reasonably clean, although not spotless.

Price of 77€ per night including breakfast is reasonable for Munich.

Breakfast is acceptable, however the immediate neighborhood has several much better choices for a quick snack, any time of the day.

If you stumbled upon this hotel, it probably means you have some business in this part of the city. Most probably related to Klinikum Großhadern Hospital or Faculty of Medicine at LMU. In that sense location of hotel is very good, right on U6 subwayline and couple of Bus lines. Still, there is a much better hotel just around the corner, for just a little bit more money.

There is no easy connection to Airport. The quickest route by publict transport takes around 1h.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanestane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 25, 2017

Dear Stanestane,

since you visited Munich, loads of things have changed! The former family business "Hotel am Klinikum" is now the "Empress Hotel". An unique boutique hotel with a motivated young team.

Why don't you stop by if you ever come back to munich? :-)

Best regards
Anna Niedl - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

The less said the better.

First impression: two huge dogs at the reception which was also the breakfast room.
The room: very basic, youth hostel style. The cold atmopshere alone makes you freeze. At 90€ per night not appropriate, not even in overpricey Munich.

The room lacked the crip I had asked for when making a reservation via phone. At the reception I was told that they had no crip but I could have an extra bed (for my 2 year old daughter) at an additional fee of 20€.

My complaint that this was a bit too much, considering I had asked for a crib which is free in almost every hotel I stayed in, I was called a fairytale-storyteller ("G'schichten sind des").

I never get into arguments with strangers. This was a first for me. I cancelled the reservation.

I was told that I wouldn't get a room with my ideas anywhere in Munich.

Fortunately, just 200m away around the block there was a new hotel with a friendly reception. The basic price for the night was a bit higher, but the standard considerably better, also the garage was for free.

Best thing was, that the other hotel had run out of cribs and provided an extra-bed without charging a single Euro.

So much about G'schichten.

PS: A co-worker of mine had actually dared staying overnight in the Hotel am Klinikum. He told me he had serious trouble to get toilet-paper the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoernla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 25, 2017

Dear hoernla,

what a horrible experience!

Since 2013 "Hotel am Klinikum" doesn't exist anymore. We are the "Empress Hotel" now: a unique boutique hotel with young and motivated staff.

Why don't you come visit us if you come back to Munich some day?

Best regards
Anna Niedl - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalmair Hotel
Thalmair Hotel
#196 of 385 in Munich
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neumayr
Neumayr
#267 of 385 in Munich
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Palladium Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santis
Hotel Santis
#236 of 385 in Munich
39 reviews
6.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: Wuermtalstr. 99, 81375 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Klinikum)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $74 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Empress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Welcome to the Empress Hotel*** Our young team has set itself the goal to provide you a wonderful time and a pleasant stay. The Empress Hotel has been transformed by the acquisition of the former family business "Hotel am Klinikum" in a small but nice boutique hotel. With a new character of coziness and young, fresh style, the individually decorated rooms invite to stay. Make yourself at home - we are looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing