We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grunwald Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Ranked #104 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on a road trip through Germany. The room (with two twin beds) was a good size (bigger than lots of European hotels) and had a nice bathroom. Everything was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We didn't have breakfast there, so I can't comment on that. The service was helpful, giving us tips on how to get into the city and what to see. They sold train tickets there, which was very helpful (we got the two person day pass, which I recommend). The hotel is not in the city center, but it's near a train station that is a direct line into the city (you just get on the train and ride it to the Marianplatz). And the location is wonderful- it feels like you are in a small Bavarian town, though you are only about fifteen minutes from the center of Munich. There isn't much to eat within walking distance (especially if you don't eat meat), so I would consider eating in the city. There is a good schnitzel place about five minutes away (at least, my friend says the schnitzel was good- I didn't have any and the vegetarian option was a plate of cheese). Also, they have very convenient parking and it's pretty easy to find (if you have directions).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HufflepuffJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
62
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we were happy with our choice. Everything we needed was next to us; bakery facing the hotel, Rewe market nearby and Aubing station few mins away. The walk from the station to the hotel is so nice and joyful with all the trees around.
The hotel is basic. Well prepared rooms and helpful staff. We didn't spend much of time in the hotel but we do recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nader H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A family run hotel refreshingly unlike so many corporate shells. I was there for a week and every member of staff made me feel welcome. Times were busy and immediately they apologised for giving me a small top floor room but it was comfortable and adequate. Breakfast was 9€ extra but well worth it. No restaurant but several nearby and everything you could wish for within 10 minutes. Out of town but it took me 35 minutes to reach the Messe on the other side of Munich in rush hour. Don't hesitate, book it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank FatCockneyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Awesome hotel, friendly, romantic and just far enough from the city. The train station provides an extremely easy commute. 14 foot tall ceilings in room and giant windows that provide great air. Breakfast is a must attend, delicious and not a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clark005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olfen, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the suburbs of Munich, a short distance by train to the city. Very comfortable quiet rooms that are spotlessly clean, good wifi. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English. Parking is not a problem and the Hotel is easy to find in the centre of a small village. There is a bakery across the street but we had the Hotel breakfast which was superb and the best I have had in a German Hotel, everything was fresh and they have a new coffee machine which compliments the great selection of food available. The breakfast room is a delight in itself. All in all a lovely stay and good value, I would stay there again on the next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: South side are sunnier but really all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from aubing station on the S4 line 15 minutes from the munich central station a day ticket for all inner circle transport costs €10.60 for 2 people.We had a room on the 2nd floor which was spotlessly clean the bed and pillows were very comfortable with a nice roomy shower.Checkin and out we're both easy and friendly.Internet access was free and quick.There is no fridge or tea and coffee facilities in room,and only one english tv station available after 9.00pm.We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but directly across the road there is a bakery where you can get coffee and cake which was good.We had an evening meal at local restaurant Gaststatte Burenwirt on 2 occasions and both were enjoyable and good value in a relaxed atmosphere there is an English menu available.We enjoyed our 4 night stay here during Oktoberfest but would stay closer to the city if it wasn't peak period.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grunwald in September, 2013. Very nice, clean, and modern small, family run hotel in a residential neighborhood, with the train station about 1/2 mile away. Rooms are very nice, and staff is very helpful. Free parking right in front, and free wifi. Great bakery just down the street for breakfast or a quick coffee. Very good local restaurant just down the street for dinner. Check out the owner's lighter collection in the lobby; very impressive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.5 mi away
BM Bavaria Motel Munchen-Freiham
3.4 mi away
Amalienburg
Amalienburg
#195 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
8.2 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Premium Domagkstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
das seidl Hotel & Tagung
das seidl Hotel & Tagung
#1 of 2 in Puchheim
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landgasthof Deutsche Eiche
Landgasthof Deutsche Eiche
#202 of 395 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
3.5 mi away
WESTSIDE Hotel
WESTSIDE Hotel
#207 of 395 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grunwald Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grunwald Garni

Property: Hotel Grunwald Garni
Address: Altostr. 38, 81245, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 395 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grunwald Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grunwald Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing