We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel in the suburbs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grunwald Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Ranked #113 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the suburbs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from aubing station on the S4 line 15 minutes from the munich central station a day ticket for all inner circle transport costs €10.60 for 2 people.We had a room on the 2nd floor which was spotlessly clean the bed and pillows were very comfortable with a nice roomy shower.Checkin and out we're both easy and friendly.Internet access was free and quick.There is no fridge or tea and coffee facilities in room,and only one english tv station available after 9.00pm.We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but directly across the road there is a bakery where you can get coffee and cake which was good.We had an evening meal at local restaurant Gaststatte Burenwirt on 2 occasions and both were enjoyable and good value in a relaxed atmosphere there is an English menu available.We enjoyed our 4 night stay here during Oktoberfest but would stay closer to the city if it wasn't peak period.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
63
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grunwald in September, 2013. Very nice, clean, and modern small, family run hotel in a residential neighborhood, with the train station about 1/2 mile away. Rooms are very nice, and staff is very helpful. Free parking right in front, and free wifi. Great bakery just down the street for breakfast or a quick coffee. Very good local restaurant just down the street for dinner. Check out the owner's lighter collection in the lobby; very impressive!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel as it was close to my friends house. Located in neighborhood of family homes with excellent bakery across street. Not near city center. Everyone spoke English and were very helpful. Never had the 9 euro breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeeVirginIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel was incredible! Our 3 person room was huge and well-stocked, clean, and comfortable. I think the service was the best part, though. The front desk person was so helpful and friendly! The hotel was an easy walk to the nearest S-Bahn station and a 10 minute train ride into the city center. We had free parking, little bags of Haribo on our pillows, and free coffee in the morning, not to mention a vending machine dispensing beer for 2 euro! I loved staying here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, good value hotel in Munich.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My sister and I were very pleased with Hotel Gruenwald. It's a little way out of the city, but still quite conveniently located, only ten minutes' walk from an S-Bahn station, and then a pretty short train ride into central Munich (Marienplatz: 17 minutes). The nearby streets are very quiet at night.

The hotel itself had very nice rooms, TV with twenty or so channels, decent-sized bathroom, everything in tip-top shape. The hotel staff spoke great English and were very helpful. Noise from other rooms was not a problem. There was free wireless Internet that worked fine in the rooms.

I would happily recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dumpendebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

So there I was - last minute decision to go to Oktoberfest - one week before going. Where to stay - everything booked or excessively expensive. Hotel Grunwald popped up - decent price, close to SBahn, not too far from Munich Centre or the Fest - so booked, but somewhat concerned. Then I get there and WOW - what a great place. Clean, modern, great staff, very nice room. I couldn't believe my luck. Not one negative thing for me. And I will stay there again next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colo_Spgs_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Syayed here for a weekend break. Excellent value for money, very welcoming staff, clean comfortable rooms and very nice buffet breakfast which was presented beautifully. It is a little bit out of the city but trains are frequent and it's only 15 mins to the main station. Only problem was arriving very late meant a trip into city centre for a meal as the local places close their kitchens at 10pm. Would certainly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiganAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.5 mi away
BM Bavaria Motel Munchen-Freiham
2.5 mi away
das seidl Hotel & Tagung
das seidl Hotel & Tagung
#1 of 2 in Puchheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Prinzregent
Hotel Prinzregent
#21 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.4 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#20 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grunwald Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grunwald Garni

Property: Hotel Grunwald Garni
Address: Altostr. 38, 81245, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grunwald Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grunwald Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing