We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City Center
Ranked #96 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Location of the hotel is contradictory in that it is close to all subways - middle of city for business & pleasure guests. The street begins with a little class and looses it's face rather fast - and u feel you are a bit in a sleezy neighborhood.
Thanks to the great staff and the good rooms you feel that you can relax and you do get use to the area pretty fast. Just be a little street wise.
We were given a great surprise in our room for my Husband's Birthday - very thoughtful of the staff - service was supa and that made all the difference.

Room Tip: High Floor = Less Noise - was our experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    591
    215
    54
    22
See reviews for
263
392
72
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a sold, middle of the road hotel. The facility itself is great--clean room, nice lobby, and decent bar/restaurant. I had a good room rate but it came with some concessions.

My complaints were that there was no complimentary in-room Wifi and breakfast was prohibitively expensive. I stayed a 4 hotels in Germany, from chains to botique hotels and I consistently got breakfast included (or at a reasonable rate) and in-room wifi.

Granted, I know that the Courtyard in the US is geared towards business travelers where no breakfast an no in room wifi might not be a problem, but I think they should consider some polices geared towards leisure travelers.

The area is definitely a bit shady but a few blocks walk in any direction and you are clear of it. Close to the Hauptbanhof and the Theresienwiese (fairgrounds). It is possible to walk to Marienplatz if you are up for an easy 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Ok so we stay here for one night with my friend we went to visit Germany this April 20014 it was a good hotel. Nice take care but one thing didn't like the location I felt like I was in red light district a lot of not seen people the hotel staff is really nice forgot the name of one girl the help us she was funny and nice very helpful we drove and we park in the garage is a little bit pricy but we where 6 people so it was fine the room where nice there good quality they are very clean nice bed restroom perfect it was so relax no noise or nothing I don't think there nothing wrong with this hotel only the location if hungry and want to get something quick to eat around the corner to your left there a Greek restaurant it was really good I forgot the name but is was excellent need to stay here if you need to crush not to walk at night is was like red light district

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is located just a few blocks from the train station and has a mini super market located right next to it. The desk staff is extremely helpful and nice. The bed is comfy and the breakfast is absolutely incredible. I will for sure plan on staying here again if I can make it back to Munich!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel early April, 2014. It was an easy 5 minute walk from the main train station and also just a 5-10 minute walk to Marienplatz so while it's location is in a somewhat run-down part of the city, it's very convenient and we did not feel unsafe. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. Our only complaint was that we had to pay extra for wifi, where it's typically included at other hotels. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening and found the staff friendly and the food was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is located convenient to the main train station and a few blocks from some good shopping areas. However, you need to go through some run-down areas to get to the train station.

The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating and can provide umbrellas when it rains and power adaptors for those of us that break theirs enroute.

Buffet breakfast is very good at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

While the room was nice this hotel is in a terrible area. Definitely not worth $300 a night. We walked back from a lovely dinner and realized we were staying in the red light district! We had to walk past scantily clad women in doorways. During the daytime the first 5 minutes of the walk to Marienplatz is somewhat scary, panhandlers, etc. The breakfast is awful and $30.00. Wifi is not included and is close to $20 per day. There are MANY better choices in Munich for much less money in much better locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parmabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benno_CYMunich, Front Office Supervisor at Courtyard Munich City Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Parmabound,
thank you for sharing your feedback. Our location near to the central station has as well advantages as disadvantages. There is a big cultural diversity in the city, since Munich has become an international hotspot. Nevertheless Munich was reported as the safest German city in 2012, so we can assure you that there is nothing to worry about.
Nevertheless we hope you've enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Kind regards from Munich!
Benno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#67 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City Center

Property: Courtyard Munich City Center
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Munich City Center. Our hotel offers a prime location in the heart of downtown Munich, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose the Courtyard Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing