We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City Center
Ranked #96 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, nice staff”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rooms need an update but overall clean and good size. As mentioned in other reviews the lobby, bar and restaurant are very up to date. The restaurant is full service (Mediterranean cuisine) not normal in US for Courtyards. The bar was open after returning from a late dinner again not typical for all US Courtyards so nice surprise to have a nightcap and good conversation with other patrons. I was only there for a day but found the staff to be very pleasant. The location is convenient but the street it is on is not the nicest street in Munich but short walk to main shopping and eating areas. I never felt unsafe just not as nice as other areas. I would characterise it as more lived in and less touristy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    608
    222
    56
    22
See reviews for
276
400
77
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Front desk staff told us breakfast was included in the price - but when we checked out they said it was included for one person in the price we are paying. Have stayed in hotels all over the world and never heard of this. How can a couple expect to know this? Had to talk to the manager and give him a piece of our mind and he then waived the 25 Euros I think extra cost per day.
Internet is NOT free - it is available in the lobby area for an hour ONLY. If you use 5 minutes of it only - you are done for the day.
Location is in a shady area - though seemed safe- didn't expect a Marriott to be in a red light -like area. It is NOT in the City Center as the name claims.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quarry8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at he Courtyard for one night. Showed up without advanced booking, the receptionist gave me slightly better rate than that of the internet. The rooms have a late 90s feel, unlike the lobby and breakfast room which are modern. The overall standard of the hotel is maintained by good maintenance and cleaning, however the hotel will probably need renovation in the coming years.
One observation, food and beverages in breakfast aren't marked (neither English nor German) You'll have to figure which is which for the cold cuts, and if the red juice is cranberry or some other red German beverage !
I'd recommend this hotel for business travels who only need a clean room and a decent no frills breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Star1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The street may appear like this is not the best area to stay in, but it's safe and well located, close to the Munich Hauptbahnhof. You have grocery stores right next to you, literally. There are plentiful places for quick bites to eat or you are just a short distance from some great restaurants and public transportation to take you there.

The prices for the hotel are competitive. You can park your car on the street (we did twice), if you move it by morning time (I think 9am) or you can park overnight, which is 25 Euros, and that is a great hotel parking price.

The breakfast buffet offered in the morning is worth it. If it's not part of your hotel booking, then I would pay the extra for it, if it's an option that you are debating on, I would add it. Even if you are not a breakfast person, but just a simple bread and coffee, they have what you need. You can ask the staff for specialty coffees like cappuccinos or request an omlette if you are not a scrambled egg person, which is what they serve at the buffet. It was great getting our morning started by sitting here, getting some work done, enjoying coffees and breakfast and then heading out.

On top of the location, the hotel is clean and has great amenities for a Courtyard. It's a comfortable stay through and through. And, the staff is wonderful! They are so nice and friendly and very helpful. If you have any questions, they are more than willing to help.

You definitely get your money's worth, and I would recommend to stay here if you are looking for convenience, a great place to stay, and a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xebec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located close to the train station which makes it convenient to travel around, and to and from the airport, but it also about 10-15 minute walk to Marienplatz.
It's a nice hotel, nothing special, has free business center in the lobby and one hour of internet with code, a day.
Tea and coffee in the room too.
The area is a little shady, with lots of porn shops and strip clubs but it didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend away. The rooms are a decent size, the beds are really comfortable and the in room facilities were high quality. The staff were very friendly and helped us out with all our requests.

The location is great, very central and close to the main station. The area felt a bit strange when we first arrived, but we always felt safe. We didn't say for breakfast, but used the supermarket next door for fresh croissants etc. The bar was very reasonably priced for a hotel bar.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Cumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The boy and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of November and it was perfect for what we needed: a central location and a clean room. The Courtyard Marriott delivered. We had a quiet king-sized room in the center of the building. Comfy bed after a long day of sightseeing and the room was clean and made up by the time we returned. The heating rack in the bathroom was a great touch. A 5 minute walk to the main train center and a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz. The Christmas markets were in full swing which we really enjoyed. We dined at the hotel restaurant our second night (we were too tired and lazy to search for a restaurant in the city) and it was a great dining experience. I had the steak and the boy had a pasta dish, both of which were very good. It's a great locale if you need something to eat. If you are a fast paced American, take the service in, it won't be quick. Computers in the lobby were great to plan your day. Wifi without purchased also worked in the lobby. There is a great coffee shop a few doors down where we would grab a coffee and a pastry on the way out. The general area around the hotel may seem sketchy at night (extracurricular activities) but I never felt unsafe. We would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#34 of 383 in Munich
1,085 reviews
3.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#97 of 383 in Munich
2,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City Center

Property: Courtyard Munich City Center
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Munich City Center. Our hotel offers a prime location in the heart of downtown Munich, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose the Courtyard Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing