We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Ranked #94 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Ive stayed here several times since it opened. I've also stayed at various other hotels over the years, including the meridien just around the corner. There is no doubt that the area has become much more middle eastern than in the past with the further addition of more casinos and the long time "sex shops." there are also discount stores and local shops interspersed in this living neighborhood. There are families on the streets, older men sipping tea and smoking hookahs, and women walking together in friendship. My point is that we are NOT talking about 42nd street NYC pre-Giuliani. This neighborhood has had a similar feel since my first trip here as a teenager in the early 80s. I had wide eyes then, but after years of travel to Germany I realized the area is perfectly safe and benign in a relaxed european way. My only real complaint these days is that the area is not nearly as clean as Germany as a whole.

The hotel, very solid service, good dinner, oversized room, comfortable bed for courtyard, though no German duvet! Oh, and I had my ten year old daughter on my trip and we walked to the train station and to the old city many times over three days. It was good for her to mix and mingle with Turkish and Arabic speaking people in a neighborhood setting that was peaceful. At no point did we feel unwelcome or unsafe. I'll be back to this convenient and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Good hotel food excellent - the train station is directly outside the hotel only a few stops to the City Centre.Also the Airport bus stops outside the Hotel. We have stayed here twice before and are returning in a few weeks. Our Son lives in Munich and find this is an excellent hotel for a short comfortable break.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filmstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Booked at the very last minute this hotel was convenient, clean comfortable -- everything you expect from a Marriott. There was free wifi for hour and 3 computers for use in the lobby. We had a car and you could park in the garage for 24 Euros there was on street parking after 6 until 7 am for free, this was the case in February -- not sure during the busy tourist season. Very helpful with restaurant suggestions. Agree that the area offers some colorful places, but then again it is a big city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I found this hotel to clearly live up to expectations of a good Marriott hotel.
Clean, quiet (double windows), helpful staff and very convenient location.
You can even print your urgent pages in the lobby, use wifi for an hour free at the bar (while you taste a good Münich beer) and work out in the fitness center.
I recommend to any business traveller.

Room Tip: All should be good
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I had booked this at the very last minute and would not have been my first choice .From the moment I rang ahead to inform them of my late check in everything was 1st class. The hotel is about 2 mins from the Hbf but does lie in a salubrious area. The staff were excellent, the room was immaculate and I had the best nights sleep in ages .The breakfasts were fabulous both hot and cold buffet, a nice touch was the bottle of HP sauce next to the bacon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding - free if you're a Marriott member but pricey if you have to pay. Very clean. Close to lots of sights. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icanweldit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago, and it was good. This trip was horrible. Service was lacking. Breakfast was overpriced. We are Marriot Gold Elite and were treated like we were 3rd class citizens. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#43 of 385 in Munich
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
3.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#69 of 385 in Munich
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#100 of 385 in Munich
2,615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#80 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $140 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center. Our hotel in Munich, Germany offers a prime location in the heart of downtown, with newly renovated rooms and suites that encourage productivity and relaxation. Whether you're visiting the city for business or pleasure, you'll feel at home in your modern room, thoughtfully appointed with soundproof windows and marble bathrooms. Stay connected with high-speed Internet access, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. Feeling hungry? Our onsite hotel restaurant, Oléo Pazzo, offers a taste of the Mediterranean here in central Munich. Challenge yourself to a workout in our fitness center, open 24 hours a day for your convenience. If you're planning a meeting in the city center, we offer almost 2,000 square feet of elegant meeting space. And with downtown Munich at our hotel doorstep, you can explore a vast array of excellent activities and attractions with ease. For a hotel that works the way you do, choose Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing