We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gothic horror story”
Review of Daheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daheim Hotel
Ranked #368 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gothic horror story”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

when I paid 200 euros I thought it was for two nights but on seeing the hotel I realised that I may have bought the place. with all the strip bars and lap dancing clubs surrounding the hotel I wondered if rooms could be rented by the 1/2 hour.
the place is shabby at best. the laminated floors were cheap, nasty, badly fitted and bent as we walked upon them. the state of the decor was even worse. masking tape was everywhere, holes abundant and lighting, broken. our room had two broken lamps...100% of them, 1 broken plug socket, a t.v. out of the arc.........it was colour surprisingly, and we had a faulty shower.
we decided not to have the breakfast just in case it was up to the the same standard as the rest of the place. there should be a fractional rating as 1 is far too good.
whilst in Munich I did see several people sleeping rough and considered asking them to swap places with me.....they probably would have declined so I saved myself them embarrassment
do not under any circumstances book here.......get a tent!.

Room Tip: don't do it.............sleep rough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mason n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    59
    37
    50
See reviews for
43
45
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very easy access from train station. Small rooms and small elevator. Coffee shop in the lobby has good coffee and pastries. Standard German breakfast included with room. No hot food at all. Meat,cheese, rolls, fruit, tea and coffee. We went during the winter to visit the Christkindle Market. Super close walking distance to Marienplatz. Lots of local food, and shopping near this hotel. I would stay here again in a pinch but it would not be my first choice. No internet available at all even to purchase. That was very frustrating. Beds were actually comfortable and the heat work VERY well. Good water pressure in the super small shower. For the price it was fine. It was clean. A room for 4 is 4 single beds one small table two bedside tables one lamp and a TV. We did ask for a hair dryer and it was given to us to use for free. Towels are in good condition and clean of course.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before it is assigned. If they are not full you can get your pick of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobynW729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stay there for one night and the place wasn't that good, it not to clean and the didn't had wifi. I think we could it have stay in a hostel for that price in a better accommodation, but it was only for one night so we leave early next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corcovadoinfocenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beersheba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the central station-wich is very convinient. Although the hotel is located in the "red light" erea, we felt safe to walk through, at the evening. Because it's located on the main road, it's a bit noisy, but you can bare the noise.
The breakfast was good, considering it's a 2/3 star hotel, the staff's service was good.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had to stay here in a bind while visiting Munich. We were able to drop in late last minute and get a room. The man at the desk was nice and provided good service. The hotel seemed a bit sketchy and the room did not feel very clean. The shower was 3 feet from the bed with no partition. The mattress was caved in the middle and in need of replacement. The neighborhood is minutes from the central train station, but the neighborhood is a bit lacking in sights. Old Munich is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler98133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had a problem during the reservation on Booking.com, that is, I made a mistake in clicking on the room I wanted to book.

Hotel Daheim Staff was very kind: they understood my mistake, imet my needs and they resolved my problem in time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in September 2012. The hotel is situated in less, than 5 min walk from the Hbf, Central Railway station in Turkish quater. Surroundings are not looking safe, although for one night sleepover it was enough. Receptionist was very kind and didn't even asked for my ID during the check-in. Room was big enough, but everything is relatively old and once can see, that the renovations were held here long long ago. Water in the bathroom was leaking all the night long and the buzz from the ventilation system was too loud. In the bathroom there was a small bar of soap and a small shampoo, which is not enough to wash both the hair and the whole body. The bathroom doesn't have a door, just plastic folding screen, but I was so tired that felt asleep immediately. The beds are of very good quality, and the quality of sleeping I would rate 5 out of 5. The door of the room is painted in two or three different colours (all are derivatives of white colour), and there's a huge hole between the door and the floor, so you can hear everyone, who walks in the hall. Breakfast is held in a very small room, but everything is fresh, tasty and although the choice is not so wide, it is enough to eat nourishing. I would recommend this hotel for 1, maximum 2 nights (no more!!!!!), esp. when you're travelling through Munich and need a fast connection with the Germany Railways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreecher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#155 of 382 in Munich
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#166 of 382 in Munich
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#275 of 382 in Munich
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#242 of 382 in Munich
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#149 of 382 in Munich
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daheim Hotel

Property: Daheim Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 20, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Daheim Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daheim Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing