We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my worst, but VERY close!”
Review of Daheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daheim Hotel
Ranked #364 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not my worst, but VERY close!”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

I was recently booked into this "hotel" (with next to no service, either on the phone, by the maid, or the rest of the staff, this place rates below a hostel) on a work trip and was thrilled when checkout day arrived. Neither the age of the hotel or size of the rooms bothered me (the building is probably from the 1860's to 80's. Cool!) and the rooms are small by American standards [fine]. What irritated me were the EMORMOUS dust bunnies under my bed, the yellowish-gray stain on my duvet, the stale smell of smoke (in this supposedly non-smoking hotel) that permeated every surface of my room and the downright rudeness of the staff when I asked if they might provide me with a cleaning spray to try to reduce this odor. My first night there I accidently sprinkled some baby powder on the floor. It was still there when I checked out 3 days later! All that being said, the location is central to a lot of great tourist sites and the main train/underground station. The neighborhood is a bit seedy, but I felt safe enough and there are a lot of late night bar/food/entertainment options nearby. Just bring your own bedding and be prepared if you are asthmatic or have allergies.

  • Disliked — dirty, poor service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank Wileycanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    59
    37
    49
See reviews for
42
45
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

I thought the other two reviews had nothing to do with whether or not this hotel would be a good fit for travelers, so we took a chance on it. Our room was quite small, but that was no problem. It was newly furnished, and our breakfast was quaint and tasty. The hotel is in a good area. My one complaint is a big one in my book, though... I don't think they washed the bedding, and I know they didn't sweep or vacuum before we arrived. The room didn't appear dirty, but a closer look showed these flaws. For a germaphobe like myself, it made my stay far less comfortable. Not a bad place, but not right for me.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

We booked this hotel based on the price compared to other hotels in the area. The old saying "you get what you pay for" definitely applies here. Upon walking into the lobby it felt cold and bare. The hallways and rooms felt as if we were in a hospital due to the white walls everywhere. A little splash of color could do wonders. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was decent which why I didn't rate it "terrible". There actually is an elevator in the hotel despite what the previous reviewer said.

The beds we slept on felt as if the springs had broken. Every movement met with a creaking sound. It is located in a seedy area, strip bars, etc, but we did not feel endangered while walking around at midnight. The train station and Marienplatz are all within walking distance. There are Turkish restaurants across the street that are open very late. There is also a laundromat two blocks away called "Washcenter". It's mentioned in the Rick Steve's book. We didn't expect anything great from the hotel, given the price, but if I had slept on a comfortable bed, I would've rated it four stars.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Daheim in Munich in March 2003, for the final year's high school trip, which was wery badly organised.
The hotel looked nice and the room in which I slept seemd clean.
But once my friends looked at their rooms, they found out that they were not as clean as mine. Some of them were put in a room at the highest floor where workers were carrying out their job in the bathroom, so they had pieces of plaster on the floor!
We did not have breakfast there, though we could, but we preferred to go somewhere else.
I thought it was allright when I found out that a big yellowish stain stood under my cover! I asked for it to be removed, so they did, but I was really unsatisfied.
This has been the worst of my worst trip ever: 5 days, a 12-hours train trip, a guide who disappeared and a rather high price payed to stay in a very nice city for three very short days (it took 2 days to get there from Rome).
As for the hotel, it's close to the main train station, in a central area. There is just a wooden stair with no elevator. The rooms were basic, and the bathroom had a shower with no gas heater, so if hot water ran out it was a real deal to have a wash!
I don't think I will go there again...

  • Liked — Nothing... the position perhaps
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Nothing in particular... but there are a lot of nice shops in the road where Hotel Daheim is!
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank james84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#159 of 383 in Munich
656 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#129 of 383 in Munich
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Litty's Hotel
Litty's Hotel
#238 of 383 in Munich
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#178 of 383 in Munich
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goethe Hotel
Goethe Hotel
#282 of 383 in Munich
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel S16
Hotel S16
#341 of 383 in Munich
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daheim Hotel

Property: Daheim Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 20, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Daheim Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Daheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daheim Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing