We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly and attentive staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalienburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amalienburg
Ranked #191 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Friendly and attentive staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is superb, offfering plenty of variety for everyone.

This Hotel would get 100% recommendation if it was non-smoking. Smokers are allowed to smoke on the balconies and outsdie this does mean the fumes reach all areas of the Hotel rooms which is really unpleasant for non smokers! Germany seems a bit behind the times on this subject and is surpising for such a 'health' conscious nations.

Access into the city can be reached easily by the number 17 tram and the bus & train will get you realitively troublefree to the airport. remember to purchase a three day ticket for travelling around which is cheaper, especially if travelling with friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and basic. If the window is open, you will smell the smoke coming from guests who s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    30
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
52
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recommended for those who want to visit castle "Nymphenburg". Hotel is a few kilometers from this castle. Very clean place, high level service. We had balcony in room. Breakfast ir more than good, rich choice and tasty food. Personell is friendly. We have very positive memories, if we will have a chance, we will stay in this hotel again.
Inara and Jevgenijs, Riga, Latvia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceturtais v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was very nice: a very friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, a very good breakfast, and a garage included in the price.

A few other things to mention :
-the duvet was too hot, but one must say that we stayed during what were the hottest day of the year!
-the outside ground is still under construction, and even if this didn't alter at all our very positive consideration of the hotel, I think the hotel should mention it online or during the reservation process!
-even though we didn't suffer at all from the noise, one has to know that the hotel is on the road! Maybe another thing the hotel should mention!
-distance from historic centre: at first I thought that the distance from downtown would be annoying. In the end, you need 8 minutes to reach the train station, and 8-10 other minutes to be downtown. Really nothing tragic! On the other hand, you are 5 min away from Nymphenburg and the botanical garden which is a big plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stephanie and the staff are all extremely friendly and they make you feel right at home. Part of the hotel is newly built and you fell the entire premises is modern and tasteful. Very clean (all feels new) and professional. Free parking. Great breakfast (the bread is home-made and freshly toasted right before you!). Can't ask for better value than this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked the Hotel during our trip through France and Germany because of ist Website Images and the offered rates. Compared to other Hotels it was very adequate. We had a great new room with ac and a nice bed. Unfortunately the view from the Windows wasn't the most beautiful one due to some constructions outside of the Hotel and the neighbouring residences...

Nevertheless I liked the hotel service and the very new buffet and bar! Clean, beautiful and not too expensive.

Room Tip: book it here online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff is nice basically. But how dare you not inform us that your hotel is under construction before we arrive and check-in! I even thought that my eyes deceived me when I stood in front of your hotel. The environment of your room was also NOT clean. There was no electric kettle in the room and that one you gave to me form warehouse was covered with dust..............is that lucky?
Pictures speak more than words.

店員的服務態度尚可,但居然沒有在我們抵達飯店之前先告知飯店正在進行施工。當我站在飯店前時真的傻眼了。而且飯店的環境真的稱不上乾淨。冰箱不能用,沒有電熱水瓶,從倉庫拿出一個布滿灰塵的電熱水瓶時居然還跟我說我是個幸運的男孩。
直接看照片吧。

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shriek36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariotrux, Leiter Front Office at Amalienburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

we are very sorry to hearing such a review from you. We are very eager to inform every guest that we have several ongoing renovations outside of the hotel. Concerning the cleanliness of our rooms, we are very thankful for your comment and we know about the problems with this particular soap dispenser which we recently installed in just a hand full of our rooms. Unfortunately they are not fitting and are changing colors in a bad way so that we will replace them immediately!

We would have been very happy if you could have informed us right during your stay so that we could have given you a chance to checkin another deluxe room or clarified the issues right away.

At the moment all renovations are finished up to 98% and we are fine-tuning the last details.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences and hope that we could convince you of our new hotel one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The problem for me with everything here comes down to cost/location. The location is terrible, its a 500m walk from Obermenzing S-Bahn station. I understand the tram is a bit nearer. For me, when you travel that far out for a hotel at 83 Euro (excluding breakfast), I expect a little better. The room itself was ok, it was like a loft conversion, but the ceiling was high, so that was ok. The bathroom was ok. Everything clean. But all very average really. The breakfast was nice (7 Euro extra), staff were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neofytos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalienburg, Manager at Amalienburg, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and that you liked our rooms, the service and overall cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel.

Concerning your not so fortunate experiences with our hotel, we are sorry that we cannot fulfill all your expectations. Regarding the room-rate structure we strictly try to stay a little bit under the Munich's average room rate. At the moment we are also expanding our services and opening a sauna and wellness area as well as a totally new gym with modern equipment. Also parking, internet and bike rentals are for free for all our guests.

Many of our guests like the fact, that they can reach the hotel very easily by car and access the inner city within a very short time by tram or train (7 minute walk).

Many greetings from Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#212 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#248 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weichandhof
Hotel Weichandhof
#150 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Blutenburg
Hotel Blutenburg
#274 of 396 in Munich
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#336 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalienburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalienburg

Property: Amalienburg
Address: Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#74 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalienburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalienburg is a superior hotel which combines a boutique hotel and a boarding house. It is located right at the Munich Botanical Garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. Family run and with a very personal and individual service, it can offer guests exactly what they require . The city center can be reached in just 15 minutes. The Hotel Amalienburg offers excellent transport links with the S-Bahn station Obermenzing from which it is only a few meters. The nearby tram can also be reached quickly and be used to access the central station or shopping areas conveniently. The spacious rooms are modern and technically up-to-date. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, Sky programs, partly air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen in the rooms. Almost all rooms have a balcony. After having enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast, go on a sightseeing tour through the city with fascinating sights. The Hotel Bistro offers snacks throughout the day and a wide selection of coffees and beverages . Other features: large gym with top amenities and flat screen TV; wellness area with sauna, steam bath, infrared cabin, relaxation area and waterfall shower; conference room with latest equipment for up to 20 people; free underground parking; laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amalienburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalienburg Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing