We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A nice treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalienburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amalienburg to your Saves list
Amalienburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 396 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A nice treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights during a southern Germany tour and chose HA because it was away from downtown and gave easy access to further travels north. The room, a tad on the smallish side, was very clean and comfortable. We had been in 5*+ rooms previously on this trip, but despite that the HA still held it's own. There was contruction during our stay, but noise was only during work hours. The parking is at a premium, but once checked in you have access to underground parking with a clever multi lift system, presumably for busier season? (I'd love to see it work). The breakfast is excellent, very fresh, well stocked, and kept tidy...staff were very attentive & pleasant. The daytime manager spoke excellent english having worked in Banff, Canada for 10 months. All around great experience. Be aware that there is no elevator, and 3 floors up on a spiral staircase is taxing...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    29
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
51
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asgardstrand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a nice small family-driven hotel which we stayed at for 3 nights. Large clean and nice rooms, fine breakfast and super helpful staff. Overall good value for money. Only negative will be a bit traffic sound and some problems with the wireless network.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed there with friends in September, as we went to the Oktoberfest. The room was great, we all had our space an everything we needed. Breakfast was simply amazing. The best thing about the hotel apart from the rooms and breakfast is the friendly owner and staff - They went out of their way to make this a great experience for us. They gave us great tips about how to get around in Munich, it made our stay easy and we really enjoyed it. There is a tram station within walking distance of the hotel, so getting to the centre of Munich or the Oktoberfest is really no problem. Should i ever go back to Munich i will definetely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

At first I thought that this hotel would be too far removed from the center core of Munich, but it proved to be very easy to take the trams and subways around Munich. It was a very quick ride from the train station. The room was very nice and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. They were very helpful at the front desk when we wanted to go to the airport by public transportation rather than a taxi. Look into Munich's family pass system for the trams and subway. It was very helpful to us even though we were just a couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our plan for Munich was to see the Old Town and Munich. This hotel is very close to Dachau. The train station is a short walk away. There was construction going on right next to the hotel. We are usually early risers but if you are not then don't stay here. There are no restaurants close by to this hotel but an excellent beer garden a 20 minute away. The room was quite large and there was a kitchen. Most German hotels include breakfast in their price but this one did not. Some of the staff speak English but some do not speak it well enough to help with a question. Bathrooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncmom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amster.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After one of the quickest checkin I ever experienced, I was shown a huge and comfortable room on the second floor. Bathroom and beds were absolutely stunningly clean and perfect! I can only recommend sleeping here while being in the metropolitain area of Munich. Staff and service are very helpful and polite. The breakfast was also extremely nice with a huge variety of products! Thumbs up for this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel and was so happy to stay here (in July 2010). There is a train to Dachau not far from the hotel, the Nymphenburg Schloss is a half hour walk from here and there's a cute little street called Verdi Strasse that has a wonderful restaurant called Verdi Restaurant that is exquisite with great service and food! We preferred to take a cab (which they will call for you at the front desk) to Odeonplatz. They had a cute little breakfast area with fresh rolls and other bread as well as yogurt, etc. It was all and all wonderful!

Room Tip: Know that you have to pay for the mini-fridge if you take anything out, like anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugged2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#206 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#263 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#335 of 396 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Harry's Home Munchen
Harry's Home Munchen
#132 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
WESTSIDE Hotel
WESTSIDE Hotel
#224 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grunwald Garni
Hotel Grunwald Garni
#108 of 396 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalienburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalienburg

Property: Amalienburg
Address: Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#74 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalienburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalienburg is a superior hotel which combines a boutique hotel and a boarding house. It is located right at the Munich Botanical Garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. Family run and with a very personal and individual service, it can offer guests exactly what they require . The city center can be reached in just 15 minutes. The Hotel Amalienburg offers excellent transport links with the S-Bahn station Obermenzing from which it is only a few meters. The nearby tram can also be reached quickly and be used to access the central station or shopping areas conveniently. The spacious rooms are modern and technically up-to-date. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, Sky programs, partly air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen in the rooms. Almost all rooms have a balcony. After having enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast, go on a sightseeing tour through the city with fascinating sights. The Hotel Bistro offers snacks throughout the day and a wide selection of coffees and beverages . Other features: large gym with top amenities and flat screen TV; wellness area with sauna, steam bath, infrared cabin, relaxation area and waterfall shower; conference room with latest equipment for up to 20 people; free underground parking; laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Amalienburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalienburg Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing