We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small nice hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalienburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amalienburg
Ranked #181 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Asgardstrand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small nice hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a nice small family-driven hotel which we stayed at for 3 nights. Large clean and nice rooms, fine breakfast and super helpful staff. Overall good value for money. Only negative will be a bit traffic sound and some problems with the wireless network.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    32
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
54
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed there with friends in September, as we went to the Oktoberfest. The room was great, we all had our space an everything we needed. Breakfast was simply amazing. The best thing about the hotel apart from the rooms and breakfast is the friendly owner and staff - They went out of their way to make this a great experience for us. They gave us great tips about how to get around in Munich, it made our stay easy and we really enjoyed it. There is a tram station within walking distance of the hotel, so getting to the centre of Munich or the Oktoberfest is really no problem. Should i ever go back to Munich i will definetely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

At first I thought that this hotel would be too far removed from the center core of Munich, but it proved to be very easy to take the trams and subways around Munich. It was a very quick ride from the train station. The room was very nice and spacious. The breakfast was excellent. They were very helpful at the front desk when we wanted to go to the airport by public transportation rather than a taxi. Look into Munich's family pass system for the trams and subway. It was very helpful to us even though we were just a couple.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our plan for Munich was to see the Old Town and Munich. This hotel is very close to Dachau. The train station is a short walk away. There was construction going on right next to the hotel. We are usually early risers but if you are not then don't stay here. There are no restaurants close by to this hotel but an excellent beer garden a 20 minute away. The room was quite large and there was a kitchen. Most German hotels include breakfast in their price but this one did not. Some of the staff speak English but some do not speak it well enough to help with a question. Bathrooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncmom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amster.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

After one of the quickest checkin I ever experienced, I was shown a huge and comfortable room on the second floor. Bathroom and beds were absolutely stunningly clean and perfect! I can only recommend sleeping here while being in the metropolitain area of Munich. Staff and service are very helpful and polite. The breakfast was also extremely nice with a huge variety of products! Thumbs up for this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel and was so happy to stay here (in July 2010). There is a train to Dachau not far from the hotel, the Nymphenburg Schloss is a half hour walk from here and there's a cute little street called Verdi Strasse that has a wonderful restaurant called Verdi Restaurant that is exquisite with great service and food! We preferred to take a cab (which they will call for you at the front desk) to Odeonplatz. They had a cute little breakfast area with fresh rolls and other bread as well as yogurt, etc. It was all and all wonderful!

Room Tip: Know that you have to pay for the mini-fridge if you take anything out, like anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugged2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumarkt in der Oberpfalz, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

A friend booked this hotel for us because the other one we wanted to stay in was full. What a surprise! We didn't expect it to be so nice but it was very nice and reasonably priced. We were also traveling with a dog and he was well accommodated too. The staff was great and very helpful. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a separate bedroom, a large kitchen area and a very large bathroom. It was a corner room with very easy access to the outside. The hotel is within minutes walking distance of the Tram which made getting to dowtown Munich easy. We could leave our car parked at the hotel and did not have to drive and there were no extra parking fees at the hotel. The Nymphenburg Castle was also only minutes from the hotel. I would certainly recommed this hotel to anyone that wanted to visit Munich and wasn't sure where to stay. The staff also spoke excellent English too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kymm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa am Schlosspark
Villa am Schlosspark
#219 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aida
Hotel Aida
#335 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
Prinz Myshkin Parkhotel
#249 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weichandhof
Hotel Weichandhof
#131 of 391 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Schleuse
Hotel Schleuse
#246 of 391 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harry’s Home Hotel Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalienburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalienburg

Property: Amalienburg
Address: Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#73 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalienburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalienburg is a superior hotel which combines a boutique hotel and a boarding house. It is located right at the Munich Botanical Garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. Family run and with a very personal and individual service, it can offer guests exactly what they require . The city center can be reached in just 15 minutes. The Hotel Amalienburg offers excellent transport links with the S-Bahn station Obermenzing from which it is only a few meters. The nearby tram can also be reached quickly and be used to access the central station or shopping areas conveniently. The spacious rooms are modern and technically up-to-date. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, Sky programs, partly air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen in the rooms. Almost all rooms have a balcony. After having enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast, go on a sightseeing tour through the city with fascinating sights. The Hotel Bistro offers snacks throughout the day and a wide selection of coffees and beverages . Other features: large gym with top amenities and flat screen TV; wellness area with sauna, steam bath, infrared cabin, relaxation area and waterfall shower; conference room with latest equipment for up to 20 people; free underground parking; laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Amalienburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalienburg Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing