We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room poorly planned, good location, friendly staff, good breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
Ranked #172 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Room poorly planned, good location, friendly staff, good breakfast.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for two nights from Dec.30 2012 to Jan 1, 2013. We were originally given a smoking room, though we asked for a non-smoking one. The staff was very good and found us a non-smoking double. The room itself was large but very poorly laid out. Vast spaces without a couch or an extra chair. The bathrooms (one toilet, one for shower and sink) were, given the size of the room, miniscule and extremely poorly designed. In the shower-sink area, there were no hooks to hang things up such as towels. There were no shelves to place things like cosmetics, pills, shavers etc. The sink looked very modern but was not very practical. The shower head was fine and the hot water plentiful, but the room, on the whole, was a disaster. The toilet area had a sink but the water pressure was so low that it could not be really used except to rinse the hands. And again, there was no space to put hings. IN my report to the hotel, I suggested they hire a woman to redesign all of their spaces. The room was also very badly lighted: no lighting on the closet for the clothes, which made it very difficult to figure out what color one was wearing. For a hotel that claims to cater to a business community, I can't understand why they make it virtually impossible to read in a decent light.

The location is excellent--not scenic, but close to major transportation and a short walk to Muencher Freiheit. The staff is excellent--charming, helpful and professional. The breakfast very good: besides the normal fare of a good German hotel breakfast (a nice buffet with a large selection), the also offered freshly cooked eggs and bacon to order--perfectly done. the parking fees were, in my opinion, overpriced.

In short the theory was there, only implementing it needs more work. I'm not sure if we will return, but we're not opposed to the idea.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non-smoking room in advance if you wish one. Also try to get a room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSGMGR, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Fiu222,
thank you very much for your detailed review, however I am sorry to hear that our Hotel didn’t fully meet your expectations.
Minibal design is one component of the Fleming’s standards, however your observations and suggestions are indeed useful and reasonable and we will check what changes would be possible to make in the rooms so that the stay of our guest will be even more convenient.
Regarding the caused inconvenience because of the smoking /non-smoking room issue please accept my apologies, and I can assure you that it won’t happen the next time you honour us with your visit.
Thank you for your nice & positive review regarding our staff, location and breakfast – such words are always a great motivation to our team!
We are always trying to do our best to make all our Guests satisfied and we really hope to welcome you back soon!
Yours sincerely, Gregor Schertler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    138
    87
    26
    14
See reviews for
28
85
52
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mosbach, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for new years here for one night. We were upgraded into a huge suite which really was more than we asked for. The location is excellent though the street in front Leopoldstr. is very busy.
We liked the modern design of the rooms,all was tidy neat and not run down. Room service was top and we liked the food from the kitchen.
Parking in the hotel is horrible. The underground parking is from the 70's and big cars don't fit. However we didn't have to pay our 3 hour parking in the garage when we claimed the problem.
There is parking in the side streets free of charge.

A special tip, one of the best restaurants the "Tantris" is right behind the hotel, a 5 min walk. Its a renouned restaurant which has got Michelin status.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSGMGR, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Panarabica,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our service and you enjoyed your stay in our Fleming’s Hotel. We are really much looking forward welcoming you back in our Hotel!

Yours sincerely, Gregor Schertler – GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rooms are dowdy, small, and poorly laid out. The staff is unaccommodating especially if you book through a web-site. On a busy commercial 4 lane street on the far northern border of the Schwabing neighborhood. Pretty charmless location and not very pleasant to walk. Rooms and beds not very comfortable. You can definitely have a nicer hotel and better location for what they charge.

Room Tip: Recommend Hotel Ana, further downtown. Only a little more and a great location for walking around ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an average hotel where I stayed on a business trip. WLAN in my room (508) was non existent therefore impossible to work. The room was small but clean. The staff are friendly and try to help. There was a group of 18 in the restaurant and the chef seems to be overloaded, as I had to wait even to be asked what I would like to order. Bar staff are friendly and try to help. Wen asked about the WLAN non existence in my room the reception staff tried to help but did not really - no obvious effort and no offer of a change of room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Fleming's Hotel. The hotel is more of a 3 star hotel but its location is excellent in the middle of Leopoldstrasse. The beds and quilt covers are not very comfortable, and couples just get 2 single beds stuck together. The bathroom is not seperated from the bedroom and the sink is a disaster to use. The shower was fine except that it is located inside the bedroom. Worst thing for us was that we were not able to charge any of our phones or camera overnight because to turn off all lights in the room, you need to turn off the main switch which cuts off all electricity. No one offered to help with our luggage to our room either. The breakfast was pretty good though and included in the room rate and the wifi was free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

hotel is well located near to Muenchner Freiheit but quite noisy on the street side rooms as on corner of intersection of Leopoldstrasse. Rooms are tiny and quite dark and shower rooms also very small. Had a single room on a week long business trip but smallness of room feels restrictive and the fridge at the foot of the bed also noisy. No tea/coffee facilities.
Breakfast is Ok and although no hot buffet items eggs and bacon etc can be done if ordered and staff always ask.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and did try to sort out a problem quickly on a broken crtain in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaJack1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed 1st week of Oktoberfest on business - understandably the room rates are jacked up, but way over priced given the tiny room size with only a single bed and virtually no closet space for an extended stay. Shower was so tiny that every time you turned you ran the risk of hitting the water control handle and either froze or got scalded. Free WiFi was terribly slow to the point of not bothering with it. Several times housecleaning removed the washcloth and failed to provide a new one.
On the plus side, the place is clean, the front desk was friendly and they have a good breakfast. The 23 Tram is just accross the street and it's a pleasant walk to Munchner Freiheit.
OK if your stay is short and no other options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerMunchner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leopold
Hotel Leopold
#218 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#200 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#206 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Occam
Hotel Occam
#337 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel la maison
Hotel la maison
#262 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing

Property: Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
Address: Leopoldstr. 130 - 132, 80804 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings in the artists quarter! Explore the cozy metropolis from this ideal location. At Fleming's you are perfectly located close to the exhibition grounds, the Allianz Arena and the City Centre. Likewise, the Olympic Park and the English Garden are within easy reach. Here you will not only find the convenience and service you value at Fleming's. You are also in one of the most beautiful locations of the city and can enjoy a fresh beer from the tap while watching the lively hustle and bustle on Leopoldstraße from our inviting beergarden. Refined, wenge-varnished woods, combined with vivid green and warm creme tones - the rooms and suites in the typical Fleming's design are the ideal combination of trend and feel-good. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Even families are in the best hands at our Hotel in Munich. The installed connecting doors can be used to combine four of the rooms into a "family den" with two rooms. Juicy grill and seafood delicatessen or French brasserie classics - everyone will find their favorite meal, including the matching premium wines. Also recommended: Our delicatessen sampler - a handy bring-along When the sun is out, one can relax in grandiose style in our inner courtyard. For conferences, meetings, or presentations three air-conditioned event rooms comfortably provide space for up to 100 persons. Up to 10 persons can work undisturbed in the five conference suites. You can count on multi-medial conference technology at the highest level. In addition to free Internet access via WLAN, we also provide centrally controlled media technology for various pre-programmed technical scenarios, including a CAT 7 network port - for convenient handling of "plug&play" connectivity. We offer an overall service - from planning and realisation to the successful completion of your event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich
Flemings Hotel Munchen Schwabing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing