We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, PERFECT location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wombat's Munich
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hostel, PERFECT location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great spot! Right next to the central station, only a 10 minute walk from the main square.

Very Clean room, was cleaned in the morning after the night before (we were all asleep and woke up to a clean floor and bathroom - GREAT!)

Good staff! Good bar, which is very cheap and they give you a drinks token on arrival which is sweet.

Showers are great, HIGHLY recommended :)

Room Tip: En Suite is definately recommended, not much extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    398
    100
    28
    20
See reviews for
29
137
321
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
522 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent location, big dorms, friendly and helpful staff, very good bar, with something special every night. What else do you need from a hostel? Breakfast? You have to pay, but it is buffet style with many choices.
TravelinAlan would stay here again.

Room Tip: The 6 share dorm was my choice. My quality of sleep would have been better if I didn't have a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, México
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

it was a great surprise after a day of chaos with my trains, to get there and hear them say they were specting me,and to get a free beer after that, they also get me the greatest advices about interesting things to do in the city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franciscoahv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was located quite close to the main train station, which was very handy since we were leaving via train and it was in walking distance to the main shopping streets and many restaurants. the room was quite spacious but only had one bathroom per 6 people which became very annoying when our room mates decided to have a 20 minute shower when I needed the toilet. We travelled in a group of three and was only given one card key, we had to hand over our drivers licences in order to get other cards. The breakfast was quite nice here, they had a toaster and a variety of other foods and condiments. We didn't spend too much time here as we were out exploring most of the day, If you plan to do the same this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlikestogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

As I am now living in Munich, Wombats was my first port of call. The staff could not have been more sincere, helpful and overall nice people. A special mention of Julia at reception who went above and beyond in making my stay in Wombats and Munich much better, I will most definitely stay in Wombats again and probably other properties in the same group, thanks for everything

Room Tip: For me cheapest is best....go for the ten bed dorm, its not one large room, it has sections of 2'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuriousTraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here as a part of a tour group with my partner. We were in a 6 bed dorm and they had put us in with 2 other couples which was so thoughtful. The room was huge and well looked after. They gave us sheets to make our own beds so we knew they were clean. Bathroom was super clean too, unfortunately the toilet was also in the bathroom so there was a queue at times.
The bar downstairs was quite busy but after 1030pm the noise couldnt be heard up in the rooms which was great.
Reception staff were so helpful, they just couldn't do enough for us!
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becandtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good location. Good rooms. Good service. Good cleanliness and comfort.
Very easy to find. Literally 2 mins frm hbf. Stayed in the female dorm for 4 nights. Loved it very much, spacious. Clean, with a bench in the center for easy sitting and packing. Lockers n rooms were operated with key card access. Loved everything about this place. Except breakfast at EUR4? Thought that could be better. Anyway, all is excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#12 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Property: Wombat's Munich
Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing