We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat's Munich
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Huge hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great hostel located right next to the train station and only a short walk (15-20 min) from all the beer houses and market areas you need. Stayed in a 6 person dorm that was clean and had a table and chairs in there which was a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and had all the info you need. Australians definitely know how to run hostels!

Highly recommended and will be going back there again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    402
    103
    29
    20
See reviews for
29
141
324
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was very impressed with the proximity of the hostel to the main station, and to the main square in town. Lots of food, shops and public transport nearby. The place itself is huge. The bar is happening, especially during happy hour. The rooms were decent: there is a locker for everyone and the room is pretty spacious. There was a funky smell for the 4 days I was there.
The front desk staff is awesome

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rong198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent hostel! Great location right near the train station and short walk to the main square and restaurants. Clean, secure, modern rooms. Excellent atmosphere with the big common area and bar, with pool table (and happy hour specials!). Easy to relax and make friends while enjoying the beautiful city. Very friendly and helpful staff. All around, it was an excellent experience and I would highly recommend staying here! Go Wombats!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is probably the best hostel i have ever stayed in. It is clean, well run has everything you need. The bed linen is clean and you make your own bed with the fresh linen. You get a complimentary drink at the bar, and cheap breakfast in the morning. The staff are really friendly and have a room to store your bags once you've checked out. The location is excellent and I would recommend the OZ walking tour. The only downfall (which wont matter to some people) is that the music from the bar sometimes carries up to the rooms, but that is all. If was going back to munich i would stay here over a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

best hostel chain i have stayed in, visited wombats berlin and now munich, easy 3 min walk to the main train station 15 min to the hb brewery,
rooms were always clean bathroom clean, free welcome drink on arrival bar area is a must go to cheap drinks great atmosphere happy hour 6-8 €2 a pint, pool table music, wombats is a must stay, only downside is that we wernt given any bed sheets when we arrived were just told the list of charges if we miss behave, whatever u do dont set off fire alarm €1500!! lol
All in all 100% recommend wombats

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 012adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A great location with a very short walk into the very centre of Munich or the main train station. I stayed in a mixed dorm. It was very clean and comfortable. The beds especially had a very comfortable pillow which was unexpected in my experience in hostel bunks. A nice relaxing open air garden/common area with good wifi downstairs. The staff were great. The bar was popular with decent prices and range. I'd stay there again no worries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hectorial85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The best thing about this hostel is the location. It is so close to the train station. We took a lot of daytrips out of Munich and arrived on the night train so we loved this part. Also, we ate some really good food there, so it was so nice that it was close. The rooms were nice and clean and HUGE and I think they all, or at least most, have ensuite bathrooms which I don't really like, but I know a lot of people do. I don't think our bathroom got cleaned everyday so it did get to be pretty gross--didn't like that so much.
Reception staff was really nice and helpful.
You have to pay for internet, but wifi is free. Only have wifi downstairs though. The bar was cool and the breakfast in the morning is cheap and delicious.
On site laundry.

Room Tip: Stayed in 10 bed dorm. In a lot of hostels, this means a tiny room with 5 bunks crammed into it. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Property: Wombat's Munich
Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing