We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hostel overall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wombat's Munich
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Amazing hostel overall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was the first time my brothers and I did a backpacking trip through Europe, and I am SO happy we stayed at Wombats in Munich. The hostel was very accommodating to our needs, and the rooms were clean and a great size...more than enough room for everyone (I stayed in a 6-bed mixed dorm). The bar/lounge area located downstairs was fun, and we met a lot of amazing people from around the world! Wombats is definitely in a perfect location. It is near the train station, Marienplatz, and many of the famous beer halls! The staff were super friendly and helpful. One of the best parts about my stay here was the FREE walking tour with Ozzy, of Oz Tours. His 4 hour walking tour taught me A LOT about Munich and it was probably the best tour I've ever been on! Overall, I will definitely be staying at a Wombats Hostel again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    402
    103
    29
    20
See reviews for
29
141
324
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wombat's wins awards for cleanliness, and it shows. The rooms are spotless, big, and bright. The staff was very informative, the bar had a fun atmosphere, and the common room was really cool, with hammocks, couches, and tv. I would definitely recommend Wombat's, and will stay at one of them in another city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harper L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Wombats hostel for 3 nights over New Years. As a group of 6 we had a dorm to ourselves (staff made this very easy for us to organise via email). Room was spacious and clean, hostel is super close to the main station and town, staff are friendly and helpful, free drinks vouchers were a nice welcome, breakfast is super cheap and tasty :) It is aimed at young people, but nice young people :) Great value for money!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A female friend and I stayed in a 6-person mixed dorm. The disinfectant smell pervading the hall and the room was a bit strong, but we got used to it. It would have been nice to have a charging station by each bed, as opposed to a power strip by the window. I understand their explanation for not having Wifi available in the room. It is a good chance to mingle downstairs, where there is wifi.
It was a bit misleading when the description says wifi, but it's only downstairs. It was actually out almost all day on Friday, and the service is spotty around the downstairs. The staff is incredibly helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjbach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at Munich. The hostel was better than I expected it to be, the interior is very modern and trendy, worth the value. The room is clean and spacious. In the room, there is locker that you can place your valuable items for safety. There is a laundry area for you to wash your clothes (wash and dry) for just Euro 5. There is wifi, however, it is only accessible at the reception area. If you're early for check-in, you can place in your beg at the reception area for free. The staff is friendly, therefore you can just approach them if you're in doubt.

The location is well placed, as it is just few minutes walk to Munich hbf. You can visit the Marien Platz, which is just 15 minutes from the hostel. The hostel will provide you the city map, which includes suggestions on where to go and also recommend which places that has the best bargain.

Overall, the place is worth the stay, however, it is not advisable for family to stay in the hostel, as there are quite a number of drunk teens at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ateeq0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocani, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was in Munich at the beginning of November and I was lucky to stay at Wombats Hostel. Staff over there is kind and very welcoming and the accommodation is good. If you walk it will be around 20 minutes walk from Marien Platz and if you use the subway it will be around 2 minutes.

Special: They have an amazing breakfast offer for 4 euro-all you can eat. I loved the latte machiato coffee!:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here from Friday-Monday. Hostel was clean and welcoming. Lots of diversity as you'd expect. The bar was really busy Friday and Saturday nights. Great place to stay if you're planning on going to Munich.

Staff were excellent. Free WiFi in the reception area.

One night my mate got a bit too drunk for his own good and nearly started a fight with one of the bar security men but the guy was really understanding about it. He could have easily chucked us out there and then but we got a hold of our mate and went back to the room for the night so he decided not to press the matter any further.

Room Tip: We were in 106 which was a 6 person room. Very good room to get as it overlooks the front road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungTGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#11 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Property: Wombat's Munich
Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing