We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hostel”
Review of Wombat's Munich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wombat's Munich
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hostel”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Like all wombats hostels, this one was very good. Big rooms were good, had a park bench in the room which was different but cool. Bar area was wicked, one of the best i saw on my 10 months trip round europe, drinks were reasonably priced and good happy hour too. Nice area round reception to lie around, this was only due to the fact there was no wifi in the rooms which would be my only complaint about the hostel. I know why they do it so people can mingle easier but if you want to meet people its easy. Didnt try the breakfast, it cost a few euro but i got told it wasnt worth it. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattharper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    416
    105
    29
    21
See reviews for
30
146
337
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hostel is easily accessible, at 2 min by walk from the central station (münchen hbf) and at about 15 min by walk from the city center. The rooms have a good dimension and the lockers are ok to put backpack on. The hostel is clean, but a little bit noisy. There are many washing machines and driers, which is good.

Room Tip: Maybe a room who is not on the side of the courtyard which is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the second Wombats Hostel I've stayed at, and I'm very glad I booked both.

The Munich location is very easy to find because it is literally down the street from the train station. The area outside the hostel doesn't seem like the greatest, but I never once had a problem.

The common areas are really roomy but can still get crowded, so there's a lot of overflow into the Lobby. The bar opens at 6pm and it is a great place to meet fellow travellers - happy hour from 6-8 with half price beers is really a wicked deal.

The rooms have sturdy wooden bunks that offer a little more privacy. There are huge lockers and ensuite bathrooms. There are also extra bathrooms and showers on a few of the floors. Sheets are included with your price.

Breakfast is really decent, the best part being the panini press! There is not quite as much selection as the Vienna location, but it is still well worth the €3.80.

The staff at this location are really great as well! Super knowledgeable about everything near bye to do. They will even give you some directions to some less touristy beer halls.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisbrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at Wombats hostel with a group of friends. It was a great hostel with good facilities and one of the best hostel breakfasts I have had!
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the beds were really comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a road trip with friends. There were 5 of us (4 female, 1 male) and we were given a 6-person room which we shared with a guy who caused us no problems whatsoever. The welcome was great and really informative. Bedding and towels were provided. We got 2 lockers to put our valuables in (the key cards also open the room and are given out in exchange for ID, passport or driving licence as deposit) and that was fine. The bar was a good place to start the evening with a pint of beer costing a bargain €2!! Breakfast cost €3.80 which was also good value given the selection. The security of the hotel was good compared with some others I have stayed in. The only slight negative was the lack of cheap parking (we payed €18 to leave the car in a nearby underground car park overnight) but this is probably not a concern for most guests. I should also mention the free wifi in reception which was v useful. I would definitely stay again if looking for a hostel in Munich.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hostel was immaculate, great bar, friendly staff, clean sheets / duvet covers, private lockers, and internet access. This is a great place to meet other travelers. If you show up alone, you can leave with a bus-full of friends. Bistro Montana nearby has the best doner kebap!

Room Tip: The bar is loud at night if you sleep early so avoid the same floor as the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Was here for one night and its your normal big city hostel, very busy but no problems but like so many of these hostels the wifi is slow and not available in your actual room. 90% of the people here are Australian.its right next to the train station. Continental garbage breakfast. Free drink from the bar. Free lockers in your room. Helpful staff. Even the staff were Australian. Only one type of unknown beer at the bar. Need more plug sockets in the common area. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 93Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 382 in Munich
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#22 of 382 in Munich
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 382 in Munich
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wombat's Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wombat's Munich

Property: Wombat's Munich
Address: Senefelderstr. 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Of all the hostel-hotels popping up in Munich this pert little number does the best job in combining style with location. Past the glassed-in courtyard you'll find a friendly expat staff, pleasant if modular furnishings and private showers and toilets in every room.' (Lonely Planet)Welcome to our comfortable baby in Munich! We're just a stone's throw from the main train station which also serves as the major public transportation hub. It’s not much further to the old town (5 minute stroll or 2 stone throws) and we're within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest grounds (if you still CAN walk…better don’t throw stones). We have amply dimensioned dormitories and most doubles come with their own terrace. We're especially proud of our air-conditioned, glass-roofed courtyard with real trees, real hammocks, semi-real (Beware of the wormholes!) beach chairs and beanbags.If you travel by car, you can park it in our basement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wombat's Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wombat`s Munich Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing