We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group tour to Munich. The hostel is not as close to the city centre as you would think but its easy to get there via public transport. Was staying in a 10 person room which was divided into a seperate 4 person room with a bathroom and another 6 person room with a bathroom. Both rooms were nice and bathrooms also. The bedding was a little crapy but as can be expected in a hostel. The common areas are really nice and the breakfast they provided was nice. Would recommend if travelling in a group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hey Damien,

Thanks for your review.
The room you stayed in is one of our classic group accomodation designed for that. Though it is great you enjoyed your group trip like this.
It would be good to see again. Maybe one privat trip next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 760 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday and Sunday night in an 8 person dorm room
Pros
--bedroom and toilets were very clean
--Big storage lockers for only 1 €
--Right across the street from a great beer hall
--Bar, nice lounge area with lots of power outlets
--strong wifi throughout building
--building is very clean/decorated so it attractes good people and families
--10 min wall from main train station

Cons
--Breakfast, while good, not included in price

Recommended if you are looking for a safe hostel and dont mind spending a little bit extra

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank ampia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi,

thank you very much for your kind review.
We're happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay here.
You can include breakfast to you booking for an extra charge of 5,90EUR.
We hope to welcome you again at our MEININGER Hotel next time you're in Munich.

Best wishes,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

so, first the background - i have been staying at these hostels/hotels on my trip round Europe. i found Brussels and Amsterdam Meininger's really good (even in the shared dorms), however Munich was very different and i was rather disappointed.
The "hotel" itself was a little shabby to be honest, it would be ok advertised as a hostel as this is really more what it is like, its obviously been running for a while and is getting rundown, the elevator is tiny - not even big enough for 3 people to squeeze in and it takes about 4-5 minutes to to any floor! i stayed in a shared 12 person dorm, when i got there and went to put the sheets on the bed i found the matress had mold on it, the bathroom was filthy (even though im sharing with 12 people i would expect it to be clean as they supposedly clean them once a day), the room was noisy and hot - the air-con didnt work and it cost me $6 euro to hire a towl (even though the other meiningers only cost 1 euro???). the second night i had settled it and was relatively happy in my room and had made a few friends...then came in to find someone had taken my bed - i questioned this with reception as there were no other free beds in the room and she told me that they had forgotten to let me know i would have to move rooms (this was at 8pm!! - what would have happened if i had come back at like 11pm or later!?) so i now had to pack up all my stuff and move in to a new 12 person room .. i found this unprofessional (as when i checked in we spoke about the fact i was staying 2 nights) and extremely annoying and i know it disrupted both rooms i was staying in.
Im now at the Meininger in Salsberg - much better...
Meininger i think you have let yourself down on the Munich "hotel" - ok for a night but wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hey Jordan,

Thank you for your detailed feedback.
Like you already noticed is Munich one of the older MEININGER Hotels. Thats why we started to renovate the public areas and are about to do some rooms as well.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding about the room change. This is not how it should be and we will discuss this with the team.
Enjoy your stay in Salzburg and the rest of you europe tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

positives.
- good sized ensuite rooms,
-opposite Munich brewery, bier keller,
- offers parking for +8e per days,
-really helpful staff,
- good breakfast included in room price,
- less good.
- a long walk from city centre- Really need to ask about busses,trams.

Room Tip: ask for ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi,

thank you very much for choosing MEININGER and for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.
To get to the city center it's quickest to take the S-Bahn from Hackerbrücke (5min walk from the hotel). But if you have a couple of spare minutes you can also walk there in 20-30min.
We would like to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels all around Europe.

Best wishes,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A good hostel, clean and ready with different provisions and friendly staff. I booked into a 6 person room and when one of these strangers turned out to be the loudest snorer I have ever encountered it resulted in a poor nights sleep.

I spoke to reception at 3am and they said they could do nothing for me even when I offered to upgrade to a private room. They upgraded me the next night, but I experienced a noisy night of banging and doors slamming.

A good choice for location and amenities, but only if you can handle the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmackay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi there,

thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
We were probably fully booked, which is why we couldn't offer you a room chance the first night.
We check the entire building for noise every 30minutes at night, to ensure a quiet night.
Unfortunately sometimes we don't hear everything.
But you can always let the receptionists know and we will take care of any problem you have.
Hope to see you again in one of the MEININGER Hotels around Europe.

Best wishes,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for a lads weekend. Only a 5 minute walk from the train station and a tram stop. We arrived and we're dealt with quickly with no problems at all. Not the red carpet treatment but for £15 per night, we did not expect it either! Went to our room which was basic but clean and tidy. Bunk beds and a single bed in the middle with a TV in the corner. Toilet and shower were very basic but perfect for what we needed of which I don't need to go into detail ;-)
€6 for breakfast which consisted of cereal, toast, selection of meat and rolls and juices. Brilliant for a hangover which you will have with the Brewery across the street! I liked the fact that you had the hostel & hotel. Lots of interesting people just there to have a good time. So overall a very pleasant place to stay, with effortless links into central Munich and all the joys which the city holds. Experience the Brewery across the street on your 1st night. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Russco83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Hi there,

thank you for your kind review!
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and the great Augustiner beer :)
Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich!

Cheers,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My stay there was a pleasant surprise. It was my first time in a hostel and i was a little bit negative about it, but Meininger Hotel is a perfect hostel. Pros: clean, location near to s-bahn Hackerbrucke, spacious and full of young people. i won't rate it as excellent because i think that it could have a little bit better prices and breakfast was extra. But on the other hand whatever you pay you get.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank sofianaxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Hi there,

thank you very much for your review and for staying with us.
We're glad to hear your experience at our MEININGER Hotel was pleasant.
Make sure to also visit other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe :)

Safe travels,

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#29 of 387 in Munich
900 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
0.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#98 of 387 in Munich
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#31 of 387 in Munich
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $64 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing