We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in individual room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Ranked #8 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I cannot fault my recent stay at the Meininger Hotel, whilst attending a conference at LMU. The double room was very clean and modern, and even included a TV and free WIFI. The bathroom was spotless, the shower always hot, and towels and hairdryer were provided. Breakfast was included but even at 5.50 euros on top of your stay I would recommend it. Although the custard and ice cream cones were an interesting addition to the buffet one morning. For a euro per roll you could even take away your lunch.

Reception were very friendly and helpful, providing advice on travel around the city and further a field to go snowboarding. You can get travel tickets at reception, although I'd advise getting an Isarcard which is much better value as it provides unlimited use of public transport for 7 days. The tram is right outside, and the train station 5 minutes walk away which takes you on the s-bahn and u-bahn. You can walk into the centre of Munich in 20-30 minutes and theres a great beer hall across the street.

Just be aware it is a hostel so you can get rowdy groups but on the upside there's a pool table.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi,
thanks a lot for your great review!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel!
Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich!
Take care,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 777 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Randomly picked this hotel on the last minute before going to munich..

Location is nice. A few blocks away from munchen hbf and hackerbrucke station. The tram is available in front of the hotel

The reception staffs are pretty nice, friendly and helpful.

I stayed in a triple room with family. The room is on the 4th floor. Room is pretty spacious compared to what we had in amsterdam. Elevator is available although its so slow. The stairs is available next to the elevator. I somehow prefer using the stairs.

I guess the hotel has everything we need for a good value.

Thank you meininger

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Renaldy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
first of all I want to thank you for choosing Meininger and for this very nice comment!
I'm happy you had a great stay here and I will pass the compliments on to the staff!
We'll see you next time you're in Munich :)
Cheers,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

When I came back to the hotel in the evening, I realised that my luggage lock was forced and broken. Fortunately, thieves couldn´t open my luggage.
Besides, when I denounced my case in reception, nobody was interested in my problem. A receptionist told me that they´ll investigate it, but she didn´t. Her workmate didn´t know absolutely nothing the next morning.
In brief, be careful with your luggage in this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi,
first of all I want to thank you for taking the time and writing this review.
Honest feedback is very important for us to improve our service.
Therefore I want to apologize that the staff did't properly investigate the incident and hand over the necessary imformation to the next shift.
I will make sure the staff will keep an eye on that in the future.
I hope you had a good time in Munich anyways.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Got into town really late by bus and needed something clean and close. This was about 3 blocks from the train station, clean, had great wifi, a bar, good breakfast, nice rooms. I had a bunk in a Dorm but the bed was solid, linens were clean, typical lumpy pillow, nice bathrooms and place to lock up my stuff. The staff was friendly and spoke English when I did not know the German words.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiaPatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi!
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you were satisfied with your stay here.
Would be great to have you back here next time you visit Munich.
Cheers,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were 4 friends (2 couples) who stayed for 2 nights in a 4-people room. We had a double bed + a bunk bed. The room was nice, comfy, with a private mini-bathroom. It was on the 5th floor with windows on the street. The floor (nor the street) wasn't noisy so we had no trouble sleeping. We also had free WiFi in the rooms, so that was a great plus. They also have a big and secure luggage room - if you need to stay longer on your last day.
Only downside was maybe the very slooooow elevator - not practical when you have big luggages and many floors to go up.
The kitchen was very small (so not many people can eat at the same time) and pretty messy, but it has everything to prepare your lunch or dinner. One morning we did find it lock, which was not very practical for breakfast.
We took their breakfast one morning which is a little expansive for what you get, but if you don't have anything else and everything around is closed, it can be practical.
It's a little off center, but there's a tram and s-bahn station very near that can get you anywhere.
Overall, very good for the price, especially during the Holidays... and there's the Augustiner B

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Maude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi there,
thank you for your kind comment. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here.
We clean our guest kitchen twice every day (once in the morning and once in the afternoon) to keep the chaos under control, but sometimes it's still a bit messy. But I can asure you we're working on that.
The guest kitchen door is usually closed but you can always enter with your keycard. In case your key doesn't work on the kitchen door, we're happy to help you with it at the reception.
See you next time you're in Munich!
Safe travels,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved everything clean rooms, big living area, cool pub. The staff were really friendly. the only thing it did need to improve was more mug,cups, forks and spoons. Had to eat dinner with a knife that was all that was there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 365dayholidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi there,
thanks for your great review! We're happy you enjoyed staying at the Meininger in Munich.
Next time you're here and you're about to eat your dinner with a knife, because there are no forks in our guest kitchen, just let us know and we will provide you with everything you need.
We regularly take all the dirty dishes to our kitchen to clean them and therefore there were none in the guest kitchen at that time, but we're more than happy to give you clean ones if you let us know they're out ;)
See you next time you're in Munich!
Cheers, Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

stayed here with friends for a long weekend in december.
the hostel/hotel was staffed by friendly helpful receptionists. the rooms were pretty affordable and in immaculate condition. free wifi and clean sheets and towels were also provided.
the lobby also had a pool table and table football, and a bar attached. it was pretty quiet when we went, but i imagine there are times when the place would be really lively.
the accomodation was well located, but a looong walk from the centre of town, and you're much better off grabbing a nearby tram to town and back. once we figured this out, location wasn't an issue at all.
All in all, a fun and affordable place to stay. i would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharmVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thanks a lot for your review.
Yes, with the Tram and S-Bahn you're in the city center in no time, but if the weather is nice, the shot walk is also a great way to see a bit more of Munich and it only takes 20-30minutes to get to Marienplatz.
But anyways, we're happy you enjoyed your stay here and would love to welcome you back next time you're in Munich. :) Take care, Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#34 of 390 in Munich
914 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
11.1 mi away
Hotel Dependance Erb
Hotel Dependance Erb
#340 of 390 in Munich
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wombat's Munich
Wombat's Munich
#2 of 82 in Munich
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range: $39 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing