We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Ranked #8 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were 4 friends (2 couples) who stayed for 2 nights in a 4-people room. We had a double bed + a bunk bed. The room was nice, comfy, with a private mini-bathroom. It was on the 5th floor with windows on the street. The floor (nor the street) wasn't noisy so we had no trouble sleeping. We also had free WiFi in the rooms, so that was a great plus. They also have a big and secure luggage room - if you need to stay longer on your last day.
Only downside was maybe the very slooooow elevator - not practical when you have big luggages and many floors to go up.
The kitchen was very small (so not many people can eat at the same time) and pretty messy, but it has everything to prepare your lunch or dinner. One morning we did find it lock, which was not very practical for breakfast.
We took their breakfast one morning which is a little expansive for what you get, but if you don't have anything else and everything around is closed, it can be practical.
It's a little off center, but there's a tram and s-bahn station very near that can get you anywhere.
Overall, very good for the price, especially during the Holidays... and there's the Augustiner B

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi there,
thank you for your kind comment. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here.
We clean our guest kitchen twice every day (once in the morning and once in the afternoon) to keep the chaos under control, but sometimes it's still a bit messy. But I can asure you we're working on that.
The guest kitchen door is usually closed but you can always enter with your keycard. In case your key doesn't work on the kitchen door, we're happy to help you with it at the reception.
See you next time you're in Munich!
Safe travels,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    297
    180
    62
    42
See reviews for
97
93
121
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved everything clean rooms, big living area, cool pub. The staff were really friendly. the only thing it did need to improve was more mug,cups, forks and spoons. Had to eat dinner with a knife that was all that was there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365dayholidae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hi there,
thanks for your great review! We're happy you enjoyed staying at the Meininger in Munich.
Next time you're here and you're about to eat your dinner with a knife, because there are no forks in our guest kitchen, just let us know and we will provide you with everything you need.
We regularly take all the dirty dishes to our kitchen to clean them and therefore there were none in the guest kitchen at that time, but we're more than happy to give you clean ones if you let us know they're out ;)
See you next time you're in Munich!
Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

stayed here with friends for a long weekend in december.
the hostel/hotel was staffed by friendly helpful receptionists. the rooms were pretty affordable and in immaculate condition. free wifi and clean sheets and towels were also provided.
the lobby also had a pool table and table football, and a bar attached. it was pretty quiet when we went, but i imagine there are times when the place would be really lively.
the accomodation was well located, but a looong walk from the centre of town, and you're much better off grabbing a nearby tram to town and back. once we figured this out, location wasn't an issue at all.
All in all, a fun and affordable place to stay. i would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review.
Yes, with the Tram and S-Bahn you're in the city center in no time, but if the weather is nice, the shot walk is also a great way to see a bit more of Munich and it only takes 20-30minutes to get to Marienplatz.
But anyways, we're happy you enjoyed your stay here and would love to welcome you back next time you're in Munich. :) Take care, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel and were not allowed to check-in, but the staff was nice enough to let us self-deposit our baggage at their store. In the meantime they also advised us on the spots to visit and on the time to return to collect our rooms. The room was nice and neat, though the beds were a bit creaky. Overall, our stay experience was pleasant and we deem it fair for the price. Access to a supermarket and the S-bahn station is within walkable range. For dining, the local Augustiner brewery was a good reach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank See H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back next time you're visiting Munich. Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived early (2 hours) and were given our rooms straight away,The reception staff were most helpful and the rooms were very tidy and warm-good for a December stay. The breakfasts
are continental and were plentiful, and the lady running the breakfast room was very pleasant.
a very nice hotel with good links to the city

Room Tip: whatever you choose should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We're happy to hear you had a nice stay here. See you next time you're in Munich! Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived very early morning after a sleeper train from Paris and our room was not ready. The staff were so friendly and helpful they bent over backwards to find us a spare room as they could see we were desperate for at least a shower and to put our bags down. While they cleaned our room they gave us access to another room so we could shower and change.

All the staff were smiley and very helpful in directing us back to the metro.

The rooms are very clean and modern. We had a private room and it honestly felt like a decent modern hotel as opposed to a hostel. The en suite was lovely. some of the best facilities i've seen in a hostel.

It's situated very close to the metro and is easy to get into town and back.

Great staff, great location, great rooms!

Oh and there a classic beer hall just across the road!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for your lovely review! Visit us again next time you're in Munich or check out one of the other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe! Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

3 min walk from the Hackerbrücke S-Bahn station with excellent links to the rest of the city. Opposite a huge brewery which was amazing! Although near the trains and road there wasn't much noise. Had 2 twin (beds pushed together) rooms with ensuite, one on floor 5 and the other floor 2, both very clean and warm. I thought the beds were a little uncomfortable but perfect for the price of the room. Free wifi throughout the hostel was brilliant, and breakfast for extra cost! Definitely recommend and will return when next in Munich.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PurpleJuice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your great review! Hope to see you again in Munich or in another Meininger around Europe. Take care, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#39 of 383 in Munich
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#171 of 383 in Munich
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Munich
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing