We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Jedermann Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bavaria Boutique Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Krone Hotel(Munich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveler rating
150
327
199
65
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
327
199
65
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomaugustiner brewerystag dobunk bedsfree wifitrain stationown bathroombeer housecommon roombeer hallsluggage roomminute walkcleaned every daylounge areadecent locationclean roomsgreat shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 790 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is ideally located near to the train station and is easy to find (10-15 min walk). Our room was big, clean and 3 big windows which cut out all the noise from traffic below. Staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. They have a good bar with cheap drinks and whilst we were there they had a happy hour where you rolled dice against the bar man to get money off. Overall, the place had a great vibe and we would definetly stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olicrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

when i stayed it was all brand new so clean, breakfast was terrible and theres a no alcohol rule in the room which meant the security guard came in and confiscated my duty free wild turkey and took the 1.25L bottle off me which I never got back.

we were all sitting in the room singing, laughing, having fun. drinking my wild turkey. they took it.

what a joke, won't return!

even the second night i turned up, another person had their suitcase on MY bed and had been given my bed as theirs.

the place is a joke

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SatoTatsuhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked a shared room at Meininger's for two nights. The rooms were great because they were split in half with two bathrooms. Less people to share a space with. You had to make your own bed which was annoying if you had the top bunk, but everything seemed very clean. They have sliding lockers under the beds which are only about the size of a drawer. Not as big as other hostels and not all of them locked.
The front desk is open 24/7 which is great for if you need directions or food after a night at the beer halls! It's located really close to Marienplatz which is basically the site-seeing center. It's also only a couple blocks from the Main train station so it's easy to come in and out of the city.
WiFi doesn't work well in the rooms (although does it work in any hostel outside the lobby?) but overall I'd come here again and recommend it to any sized party.

Room Tip: Saved money on the 8 person room and it really felt like 4 with the split bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a blast. The staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. Was able to connect to free WIFI straight away. Always handy. The room was nice and clean and was nice a bright. Bathroom was as expected for a hostel, clean and fit for purpose. All in all the room was big enough for 2 and was clean and tidy. The bed was also very comfortable.

Downstairs just off the reception desk was a hangout lounge and in the next room was a pool room with more couches that you could relax on. A couple of games of pool was a nice way to relax. Next to that room was the bar and we had a lot of fun here as the drinks flowed and the bar staff were really great.
What was really great is that Augustiner Bräu is across the road with the beer house next to it. Great food and beer. The main train station was 5 minutes away by tram or a quick 15 minute walk.
All in all I recommend this hostel, it was nicely priced, good accommodation and friendly staff with a lot going on and really good to hang out in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattClau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews