We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    303
    183
    63
    43
See reviews for
99
93
123
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

when i stayed it was all brand new so clean, breakfast was terrible and theres a no alcohol rule in the room which meant the security guard came in and confiscated my duty free wild turkey and took the 1.25L bottle off me which I never got back.

we were all sitting in the room singing, laughing, having fun. drinking my wild turkey. they took it.

what a joke, won't return!

even the second night i turned up, another person had their suitcase on MY bed and had been given my bed as theirs.

the place is a joke

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SatoTatsuhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I booked a shared room at Meininger's for two nights. The rooms were great because they were split in half with two bathrooms. Less people to share a space with. You had to make your own bed which was annoying if you had the top bunk, but everything seemed very clean. They have sliding lockers under the beds which are only about the size of a drawer. Not as big as other hostels and not all of them locked.
The front desk is open 24/7 which is great for if you need directions or food after a night at the beer halls! It's located really close to Marienplatz which is basically the site-seeing center. It's also only a couple blocks from the Main train station so it's easy to come in and out of the city.
WiFi doesn't work well in the rooms (although does it work in any hostel outside the lobby?) but overall I'd come here again and recommend it to any sized party.

Room Tip: Saved money on the 8 person room and it really felt like 4 with the split bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a blast. The staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. Was able to connect to free WIFI straight away. Always handy. The room was nice and clean and was nice a bright. Bathroom was as expected for a hostel, clean and fit for purpose. All in all the room was big enough for 2 and was clean and tidy. The bed was also very comfortable.

Downstairs just off the reception desk was a hangout lounge and in the next room was a pool room with more couches that you could relax on. A couple of games of pool was a nice way to relax. Next to that room was the bar and we had a lot of fun here as the drinks flowed and the bar staff were really great.
What was really great is that Augustiner Bräu is across the road with the beer house next to it. Great food and beer. The main train station was 5 minutes away by tram or a quick 15 minute walk.
All in all I recommend this hostel, it was nicely priced, good accommodation and friendly staff with a lot going on and really good to hang out in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattClau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I visited this hotel after I had a good experience at the Meininger Hotel in Frankfurt. I stayed for a few days in July of 2013. I traveled with my brothers and my mother.

The only complaints came from my mother, who is used to a traditional hotel setting. She was not "in the mood" for a hostel setting. There also is no Air Condition.

Experience: As the majority of the guests, my brothers and I are in our teens and early 20's. This was perfect. Every night my brothers and I could find plenty of people to hang out with. The drinks are reasonably priced and it was a fun bar to start the night out at. The staff was super helpful.

Rooms: Rooms were very clean and in my opinion, a great value.

Overall Opinion: If you are traveling solo or with friends, I think this is a good choice. It is located less than a 15 minute walk from the main area and has some fun bars in the area. The hotel was clean and a great value for the rate. Staff was good, free wifi, and a clean/safe stay. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lower floors might have more noise from outside...don't expect air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a hotel as well as a hostel, be prepared for lots of noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was okay, but very noisy from the outside street, and the kids running up and down the halls. The room did get hot during the day. There was no AC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hostel was very nicely done, they were friendly enough and what was useful is that they have a luggage room downstairs for if you get there early. Breakfast was alright, what you expect from breakfast buffet. Not too far from the train station either, we did get a bit confused as it is a slightly longer walk than you initially think, but it is on the same road as the main bahnhof which is very useful. We also hired bikes from them which was made easy enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_TrAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#26 of 382 in Munich
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 382 in Munich
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel
Meininger City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing