We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay well away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Ranked #8 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay well away!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our experience with the Meninger 'Hotel' was far from ideal. We stayed one night here upon arrival to Munich before heading to Salzburg for 3 days and then returned for a further 2 nights. If it wasnt for the fact that the hostel took the full amount upon booking we would most definitely not have returned. This was the first of of many issues we had with the Meninger hostel. When I emailed the hostel regarding all payment being taken they said it was in the small print underneath, which was acceptable but quite deceiving. Our first night was spent in an 8 bed dorm where we slept for no more than 3 hours with the noise of the traffic outside and in the room. Before we left I requested a quiet room for our return that didnt face the road. I found the staff extremely rude and inconsiderate towards my request and they basically laughed in my face - extremely unprofessional.
However, it was when we returned for our further 2 nights that the issues really began. This time we had booked a 4 bed private dorm. On arrival we were informed rather bluntly by yet another unprofessional member of staff that we had been changed to 2 double rooms. As we were travelling as a party of 4 we had booked that room because it is the room we wanted. Something which I think the Meninger hostel couldnt comprehend! We were even more frustrated when we saw our rooms - they were literally in the 'dungeon' of the hostel. Our room could only have been compared to that of a prison cell and freezing cold.
Following dinner in the city that night, we returned to a scene from Greys Anatomy in the lobby. An ambulance had been called for a young girl who had become completely uncapacitated from alcohol. The hostel staff were absolutely disgraceful and just left the girl lying there and continued about their work as if this was completely normal.
All in all, our entire experience with the Meninger hostel was extremely unpleasant. Poor location, unprofessional staff and less than average rooms - stay away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieF986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    297
    180
    62
    42
See reviews for
97
93
121
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights.
At first we booked 8 beds at a 14 bed dorm room!
But then i wanted to cancel the one bed because one of us couldn't come but the guy who read the email understood that i wanted to cancel the whole reservation and he cancelled it!!
That was the night before we were supposed to go to munich!
Then followed an email chaos for me trying to explain that i wanted to reactivate the reservation but no one answered me until one hour before we had the meeting to depart for munich!
When we arrived at the hostel we ended up 4 people in one room 2 and 2 in separate rooms!
So the whole experience with this hostel was terrible!The funny things is that the same thing happened with some other guys sharing the room with us!
Moreover the kitchen was not cleaned by the stuff and it was so dirty that you could barely find a clean dish!Never at this hostel again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raf z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Asked for a room for 5 by emailing the hotel directly but I was told that they are fully booked. I then saw one available on booking.com and proceeded with the booking. Upon swift check in, we were given a nice and clean room with 3 bunk beds and an ensuite toilet and shower, comes with TV, towels and hair dryer. Definitely value for money as we paid less than 15 euros per person!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flytheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Meininger chain is a great bunch of hotels across Europe definately worth trying while you are travelling. Large youth hostels they are full of all types of travellers and great for meeting people. My boyfriend and I stayed at the one in Munich and were greated by super friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful! Our room was absolutely huge with a private bathroom. The lobby is always busy with something to do. Attached is a bar for relaxing and grabbing a drink as well as they offer breakfast in the morning. The hotel is walking distance to the train as well as to Marienplatz. Would definately recommend to all backpackers!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend stag do, stayed in rooms of 6 with bunk beds, beds were clean and comfortable but shower did kind of flood the room, hotel has free wi fi and food and drinks available on site, easy to walk home from night out in town as well

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, just ten minutes walk away from the main train station in Munich and about 15 minutes walk away from the city centre. If you don't fancy walking then the tram stop is right outside the hotel, it was quite cheap around 5euros for a day ticket. Also one of the oldest beer halls in Munich is situated right opposite the hotel with great food, drink and a amazing atmosphere.
Our room was clean, with great bathroom facilities and a large TV. Towels were not included with our room and we had to pay 1euro a day for them, also there are lockers available but make sure you take your own locks to lock them with.
The staff were very friendly and all spoke excellent english, however we did have a problem with loud music from the bar down stairs going on until 4 in the morning! We all struggled to sleep and when we complained to the reception, they turned the music down in the bar and then 10 minutes later turned it back up louder! However we were on the first floor and our friends on the second floor never heard any music and slept soundly.
Meininger is a nice hotel just make sure you get a room on the second floor or above!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessWith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Around the corner from the Hackerbrucke station, this Meninger is located ideally for any trips in and around Munich. The rooms are clean, airy, warm and functional. The shower in the room was powerful and hot and there is a small bar next to the reception. The breakfast is very basic but nevertheless nice and the staff were all extremely helpful and courteous. The Wi-fi was free and worked perfectly and the lobby was comfortable enough. The elevator is extremely small and can be a bit slow sometimes.
There is a great beerhall just over the road from the Meininger which is definately worth a visit. The food (especially the currywurst) is extremely nice and the beer even better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.5 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#39 of 383 in Munich
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Holiday Inn Munich-South
#171 of 383 in Munich
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Property: MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
Address: Landsberger Str. 20, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Munich
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing